Meadelx200 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 My daughter P3 Maths exam question. Which of the following has the least pairs of perpendicular lines ? The drawing shows : A - 1 intersecting pair B - 0 pair C- 1 intersecting pair & 1 non-intersecting pair D- 2 interesecting pairs My daughter answer is 'A' and so is mine. The Correct answer is 'B'. Any comment on the phrase 'least pairs of perpendicular lines ? Aren't we expecting at least 1 pair instead of No perpendicular line at all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 No matter how, 0 < 1 is always true. So B. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 This is not maths test......more likely English test. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightsky 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 0 is correct. Least = lowest number 0 is less than 1 what. For eg, A scored 0, B scored 10, C scored 100. Obviously A scored the least and not B, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VenomMX 4th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 This is not maths test......more likely English test. Ya man.. Tests your understanding of the word "least" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Picture speaks a thousand words, since u mentioned there's a drawing. Take a photo with hp and upload lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meadelx200 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Author Share November 3, 2011 Ya man.. Tests your understanding of the word "least" But I thought the question is asking for at least 1 Perpendicular line instead of No Perpendicular line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 My daughter P3 Maths exam question. Which of the following has the least pairs of perpendicular lines ? The drawing shows : A - 1 intersecting pair B - 0 pair C- 1 intersecting pair & 1 non-intersecting pair D- 2 interesecting pairs My daughter answer is 'A' and so is mine. The Correct answer is 'B'. Any comment on the phrase 'least pairs of perpendicular lines ? Aren't we expecting at least 1 pair instead of No perpendicular line at all. Answer is B Even if the answer is not B, it can't be A too because A is basically the same as C as when there is no intersection, there is no chance of being perpendicular..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 (edited) But I thought the question is asking for at least 1 Perpendicular line instead of No Perpendicular line. Hallo... Read question properly....... has the least pairs not has at least one pair Edited November 3, 2011 by Tjkbeluga Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
West_end Neutral Newbie November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Am with you. If the answer is 'zero pair'... then perhaps the question should have been phrased as: Which of the following has the least number of pairs of p lines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightsky 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Hallo... Read question properly....... has the least pairs not has at least one pair Yah lor. Obviously wrong liao still want to fight? 愿赌服输!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Yah lor. Obviously wrong liao still want to fight? 愿赌服输!! oei oei you implying he is tikam tikam get the answer huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lon3fly3r Clutched November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 math question dont think too much on the english part. in math, A and C are the same, exam question most likely cannot have 2 correct ans. so 0 is the least lor. My sec sch math teacher always say dun tink so much, look at numbers and do =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 Put it this way. Which box contains the least pair of shoes? 1) one pair of shoe 2) empty box 3) one pair of shoe, plus one left sided shoe. 4) one pair of shoe, plus two left sided shoe. What is the answer? A pair of shoes mean left + right to form one set for a normal human being to wear on his left and right feet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightsky 1st Gear November 3, 2011 Share November 3, 2011 oei oei you implying he is tikam tikam get the answer huh? Every test is a probabilistic event mah. Sometimes I go for exam also machiam going casino [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...