SIA unveils long-haul budget carrier

Soya

On 11/1/2011 at 6:16 AM, Joseph22 said:

they are not doing a mark down on SIA price lah.

they are competiting with the likes of tiger Airway. so their price and service will be base smilar to that of tiger airway pricing.

does the passenger have to bring own cloth to wipe the seat, own toilet paper to bang sai, own cup to ask for plain water at $5 per cup?

On 11/1/2011 at 9:08 AM, KARTer said:

does the passenger have to bring own cloth to wipe the seat, own toilet paper to bang sai, own cup to ask for plain water at $5 per cup?

Don't think this will work for medium or long haul budget airline.

Passengers would expect at least allocated seating, free flow of plain water, complimentary juice, and meals.

For the rest like alcoholic drinks, snacks, soft drinks, personal entertainment devices, these can be on pay per use option.

On 11/1/2011 at 9:03 AM, Sosaria said:

Based on the reactions to the name "SCOOT" airlines, it's already a lot of free publicity, well...

I guess they wanted a name that's easily pronounced, even by non-English speaking people, and the domain name is also freely available.

What makes me uncomfortable to go to work there (...formerly from the industry) is that there's yet another ang moh chief executive... Haven't they learned their lesson?? Putting up an ang moh chief exec is the first step to eventual failure, as past experience has shown.

Isn't there many other suitable, home-grown candidates from SIA?

This one I heard not praratrooper but home grown one :mellow:

On 11/1/2011 at 10:47 AM, Cerano said:

i thought got silkair liaos?

Wah lao eh! SilkAir is actually not cheap either and it is actually a full-service airline, not a budget airline. Just that it's a subsidiary of SIA that plys the regional routes.

And if kena accident payout is also much lower as happened in MI185....

On 11/1/2011 at 10:51 AM, WTF said:

Wah lao eh! SilkAir is actually not cheap either and it is actually a full-service airline, not a budget airline. Just that it's a subsidiary of SIA that plys the regional routes.

And if kena accident payout is also much lower as happened in MI185....

but silkair is cheaper than full service i thought? and they dont have screens for the ones i took...

On 11/1/2011 at 12:15 PM, Cerano said:

but silkair is cheaper than full service i thought? and they dont have screens for the ones i took...

Most of the places SilkAir ply are not ply by SIA except eg KL etc. It's a wholly own regional airline by SIA.

And yes, I don't rem seeing any personal TV screens can't rem if got the general ones. I think SilkAir is mainly flying the A319s or similar.

If you compare SilkAir's price to budget airlines, it's definitely not cheap. [:p]

On 11/1/2011 at 12:29 PM, WTF said:

Most of the places SilkAir ply are not ply by SIA except eg KL etc. It's a wholly own regional airline by SIA.

And yes, I don't rem seeing any personal TV screens can't rem if got the general ones. I think SilkAir is mainly flying the A319s or similar.

If you compare SilkAir's price to budget airlines, it's definitely not cheap. [:p]

To be fair, the seat not as cramp like budget carrier.

On 11/1/2011 at 12:34 PM, GoodCar said:

To be fair, the seat not as cramp like budget carrier.

For the price that their charging, they better are! And they also have the same baggage allowance as other full-service airlines.

But their service not as good as their parent company... -_-

On 11/1/2011 at 12:37 PM, WTF said:

For the price that their charging, they better are! And they also have the same baggage allowance as other full-service airlines.

But their service not as good as their parent company... -_-

I rather fly SilkAir than budget carrier for convenient n comfort

On 11/1/2011 at 12:42 PM, GoodCar said:

I rather fly SilkAir than budget carrier for convenient n comfort

That's of course....but some routes not everyday have flights and some places full-service airlines don't fly there direct.... [:(]

Edited by WTF

On 11/1/2011 at 12:44 PM, WTF said:

That's of course....but some routes not everyday have flights and some places full-service airlines don't fly there direct.... [:(]

Unless no choice than fly budget lor.........heard this pinoy new budget carrier SeAir , the stewardess skirt damn short [:p]

Edited by GoodCar

The problem with many passengers will be that they are familiar with SIA's standard of service - although not perfect but better than most airlines. These passengers expect to receive SIA service but want to pay budget price.