Discriminatory practices have no place in S'pore: Tan Chuan-

Greatbirdlegend

As if I kena retrenched not enough, now MOM send a letter telling me to comply with their survey.

If I do not cooperate, they will slam the Statistics Act down on me.

What a great way to treat your citizen !

On 11/1/2011 at 5:15 AM, Neost said:

The bottom line is you need to work hard, very hard in the initial years.... 6 days week is normal, 7 days week occassionally but everyday working late is definitely.

some young think it is stupid to work so hard, any OT they curse and swear in the FB [rolleyes]

On 11/1/2011 at 6:00 AM, Shull said:

In my case, the MNC i'm in now, we're the main revenue generator for the whole organisation. Europe and US are both staring at recession. Also, the office here is operated very much like a local SME. Plus, part of the profit goes back to Europe. So i don't see much difference between the way my company operate as compared to local SME.

Just hope they are also tightening their belts.

It wouldn't be fair if you are tightening your belts here while the revenue and profits are from here, but your European and US counterparts are still spending like no tomorrow and partying away. But, if this happens, not a surprise also.

On 11/1/2011 at 6:07 AM, Jasonjst said:

Sad to know this !

Quote one reader from yahoo:

Government policies have facilitated and promoted the influx of foreigers into Singapore so much so that local Singaporean are now being discriminated when applying for jobs. Singapore is probably the only country in the world where local citizen are facing this sort of discrimination. Return my two and half years of NS time to me.

If no changes by Gov't just tell him he's conned into protecting own country w/o returns lor.

Edited by Csnewbie

On 11/1/2011 at 5:17 AM, Westkid said:

Agree.Partly cos we don't grow these SMEs big enough to give us space to progress.

Partly cos PAP is paranoid.Opposition need finance to challenge.It's a manipulation regardless of costs.

We need trust between parties if we really want to progress further.Mature please.

Know what? If your business gets profitable, some government body will start another one across the street (NTUC or something)! No wonder many of us couldnt be bothered to start our own things.

On 11/1/2011 at 5:30 AM, Ahtong said:

I don't mind if it is hand fed to me by a local chio bu with big (.)(.) [laugh]

nah... here u r, big big boobs, min "J" cup size. dun say never intro lah... [laugh] [laugh]

post-11638-1320127905_thumb.jpg

On 11/1/2011 at 6:05 AM, Tigershark1976 said:

u didnt mentioned something..... the boss is ur father rite?? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh][:p]

If the boss is my father, do I need to slouge so hard in my initial years???

Just bare in mind, nothing will be served to us in sliver platter. I know of many business owners who took over from their father. Their lives aren't easy too. They have to work hard as well. The only difference is that they do have a mentor (who is the father) to guide, share and encourage them when things are down. Whilst for people like us who do not have a father who had walked the path, we just need to look for someone and fortunate enough to find one, who is willing to share and help us. Always remember, 吃亏就是赚到。

On 11/1/2011 at 6:11 AM, Turboducky said:

Know what? If your business gets profitable, some government body will start another one across the street (NTUC or something)! No wonder many of us couldnt be bothered to start our own things.

This is very true. The GLCs are running out of ideas to generate incomes. Just the other day, while driving pass SMRT Bishan depot, I saw this giant banner advertising that SMRT can service your car.... I was telling my wife look lah, this is how creative and business savy our GLCs mgt can be.... SMRT, instead of focuing on its own core biz, is trying to take away biz from local car service workshop. And they are many such examples around. Given their top class facilities, their top class people, top class connection, their super rich coffer, is this the only thing that they are capable of????

[bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

On 11/1/2011 at 4:02 AM, Greatbirdlegend said:

my office is in a remote ulu location and i've more than 90% singaporeans in my department.

yes it's true some singaporeans are terrible and i've gone through more than my fair share.

but that has never stopped me from hiring singaporeans.

you cannot discredit a whole group just because of a few black sheeps.

that just means that you have a bad manager.

i apply this equally to foreigners.

but my stance is always singaporeans first.

facebooklikebutton.png

Yours was a happy occurence and good for you.

Always great to hear our local boys striking it out despite facing stiff competition out there.

Alternative scenario for some:

On 11/1/2011 at 5:15 AM, Neost said:

My personally experience having to work in both before. I started off quote similarly... Engineering cause I am a trained mechancial engineer... Chose the better benefits and pay option. But quited after 2 years cause I don't see any future. You will forever be employee. Maybe a highly paid employee. Then I join a local SME... 2 big things happened.... Big cuts in pay and benefits and big increase in job scope. I bao sua bai hai. Basically other than my boss personal affairs, I was involved in almost every aspect of business. Sales, operation, liaise with govt authorities, employing workers both local and foreign etc. I stay for a long while until one day my boss asked me into his office suddenly. I have got a bad feeling all this while because as a one-leg kicking employee, I some how knew what was coming...He did not talk to me for a while after asking me to sit down but started sighing after going through the finance report prepared by yours truly.

Then he looked me in the eye and said sorry but the company was not making money and as such had no choice but to let me go. Disregarding the shocked look in my face, he continued and requested that I hand over all my duties to Xiao Zhang, my assistant.

He then gave me a envelope and shaked my hand thanking me for all the years of service striving for the company.

While still in a daze wallking out of his office, I was called out by him to remember returning to HR the company pager I was given a decade back.

[:(] [:(]

On 11/1/2011 at 6:11 AM, Turboducky said:

Either that or a lot of copycats come in

50th post and still no sign of BADDER? [:p]

BADDER must be biding his time taking down notes, and then in one shot, debunk all the "ignorance" using his "wisdom" in this thread.

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Edited by CKP

On 11/1/2011 at 3:54 AM, Jman888 said:

as long as you have <2% unemployment rate, people get to choose [:(]

this 2% are mostly Sgeans I guess. The other 98% comprises of FTs are fully employed.

On 11/1/2011 at 7:57 AM, Tigerwoods said:

this 2% are mostly Sgeans I guess. The other 98% comprises of FTs are fully employed.

the 2% is WILLINGLY unemployed [laugh] [laugh]

ever see people can be jobless and go holidaying, live on parents' money [rolleyes]

On 11/1/2011 at 3:45 AM, Greatbirdlegend said:

if they are sincere then good - shows that they are starting to listen and get their heads out of their arses.

if they are still going to wayang good also - give them more ropes and let's see in the next GE.

either way just read this with a bucket of salt and observe what they do. [laugh]

Talking about wayang (an act perfected by you-know-who in sgp political history), we do know miw n business communities rub shoulders like abangs.....

For all we know, the current 'tightening' of FT/FW rules is something put up by both parties in that:

Step one: To 'please' the peopl, miw does a show to appear as tightening these rules. With this show#1 they can now tell the people they care.

Step two: Let the businesmen complain (with some publicity thru SPH etc) that the tighten rules are hitting business/industry badly, so much so they may have to relocate their operations outside sgp.

Step three: miw comes on stage an do a dramatisation of "we care, but what if factories move out of sgp? we really care for the people, but.... look sad, concerned for the people, etc etc

Step four: let a few relocations take place...

Finale: miw reverts to old 'open-door' policies, businessmen smiles again... miw concluded: business is important, above all else.

Question: the challange is for miw to find the balance, and not swing to either extremes in the management/ control of influx of FT/FW.

On 11/1/2011 at 8:13 AM, KARTer said:

Talking about wayang (an act perfected by you-know-who in sgp political history), we do know miw n business communities rub shoulders like abangs.....

For all we know, the current 'tightening' of FT/FW rules is something put up by both parties in that:

Step one: To 'please' the peopl, miw does a show to appear as tightening these rules. With this show#1 they can now tell the people they care.

Step two: Let the businesmen complain (with some publicity thru SPH etc) that the tighten rules are hitting business/industry badly, so much so they may have to relocate their operations outside sgp.

Step three: miw comes on stage an do a dramatisation of "we care, but what if factories move out of sgp? we really care for the people, but.... look sad, concerned for the people, etc etc

Step four: let a few relocations take place...

Finale: miw reverts to old 'open-door' policies, businessmen smiles again... miw concluded: business is important, above all else.

Killer shot: Apologise a few times and look sorry just 2 days before GE 2016. VIOLA!!! Back in power again...

Question: the challange is for miw to find the balance, and not swing to either extremes in the management/ control of influx of FT/FW.

Edited by Vulcann