Unbelieveable..Trivelis @ Clementi three times oversubscribe

Chuapcd

If a couple is earning $10k per month and they are buying a $700k property, they will have to fork out about $2k+ every month if they take a 30 year loan from HDB.

The government is smart. Hang you there for a lengthy period so you be their slaves for a long time. Who say they are the servant and not the master?

Can someone tell me what is so special about this project? I only know it is 40 storey high and mins away from Clementi central.

maybe location...to me it seems far

but to them maybe its a good buy

This is a DBSS ain't it? As long as BTO flats dont hit such prices, i don't give a damn.

i think its BTO. didnt khaw stop DBSS alr?

Willing Sellers, Willing Buyers.

We have many new citizens who are cash rich.

I know of a couple, total combined income $15k. At the point of buying their HDB, wife "resigned" from job , in order to meet the $8k combined household income.

After they got their HDB, the wife "found" a job.

Will HDB bar them from owning the flat? Of course no!

Hdb actually quite lax but by right they dun accept salary at the pt of purchase but average salary of past 6 mths

Willing Sellers, Willing Buyers.

We have many new citizens who are cash rich.

I know of a couple, total combined income $15k. At the point of buying their HDB, wife "resigned" from job , in order to meet the $8k combined household income.

After they got their HDB, the wife "found" a job.

Will HDB bar them from owning the flat? Of course no!

now not possible liao. they will check your past months income. forgot need to be unemployed dunno how many months

12 months. If you resign to go for further studies, this will work. If you resign to sit at home, then you probably lose out much more.

Wow, 12 months. I had the impression it was shorter than that.

a couple may buy a $700k property doesnt mean they will stay there foreve and pay $700k plus interestr. as long as the property value increases, they can sell it after some years and still make a profit out of it. at least the investment offers returns unlike money kept in bank, even stock is no guarantee of profit.

That is the mentally of many people which is very dangerous, as property prices cannot rise forever. Good luck to those who buy at such high price and want to just make profit out of it.

Edited by Yewheng

Nothing wrong with them.. just that they think 700k for a hdb flat is still affordable...

'Affordable' in Singapore is a different perspective in Sunny Singapore. Even our dear Government like to throw the word around like its a beach ball.

A lot of people in Singapore are walking on thin ice.

'Affordable' in Singapore is a different perspective in Sunny Singapore. Even our dear Government like to throw the word around like its a beach ball.

A lot of people in Singapore are walking on thin ice.

perhaps both of us may be wrong

because

so many people think otherwise

as they continue to pay so much for a property that is in theory on loan only

If a couple is earning $10k per month and they are buying a $700k property, they will have to fork out about $2k+ every month if they take a 30 year loan from HDB.

The government is smart. Hang you there for a lengthy period so you be their slaves for a long time. Who say they are the servant and not the master?

To be fair, the govt nv force us to buy, its a matter of whether u wanna be their slave or not. There r many much cheaper affordable housing out there for sporean, but if u choose the 700k housing den thats ur biz if u end up being a slave.

It is very affordable if you currently own an hdb and fully paid up. When it is about to complete, you can sell it then pay for this unit right? Not sure if this is allowed or not though..... It make investment sense in that way to me though.

That's true to a certain extent. But the question most bros here are concerned with is the DBSS's value 5-10 years down the road. For own stay, I think for current flat owners who have paid up fully, it is a pretty good buy. They probably need to top up another 200-300k from sale of previous flat. For those looking as investment, it is a big "if". If I can predict in future prices go up or down, I won't be here typing these letters. [laugh]