Tailgatepro 1st Gear October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 I found this on website I was wonder does it really able to jump start? I had afew time jump start and the thick cable burn. Mostly outside selling those $50 and below cable mostly burn. below this type cable look light even worse to me. Anyone try before? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 I found this on website I was wonder does it really able to jump start? I had afew time jump start and the thick cable burn. Mostly outside selling those $50 and below cable mostly burn. below this type cable look light even worse to me. Anyone try before? People jump start directly at the battery terminals for a good reason. DON'T DO IT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 Look at your car cable size from starter motor to the battery. If your jump start cable is not as short or at least as thick, it will heat up and possibly burn bcoz it drops too much voltage during cranking and the jump start most likely won't work. Whatever that is connected to the ciggie plug is only limited to at most 10A. What they are trying to do is to pump a miniscule 10A into your dead battery, if it's still enough. The cranking current is at least 100A or more. Do you think pumping the 10A into a dead battery is enough ? It depends entirely on the state of the battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 i test this product before (not this brand, but i think the principle is the same). it actually "charged" ur battery from the battery pack. u plug in, wait abt a couple of min ( i cant remember liao)... then u can re-start ur car... whether this work? i not sure, but the product i test last time dont work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 i test this product before (not this brand, but i think the principle is the same). it actually "charged" ur battery from the battery pack. u plug in, wait abt a couple of min ( i cant remember liao)... then u can re-start ur car... whether this work? i not sure, but the product i test last time dont work. It will work if the battery is in good condition and was merely discharged. You wait for at least 10 mins for it to charge the battery. However, if the battery is already badly sulphated. No amount of charging will work. Even when the car is running, the alternator is not be able to charge this kind of battery. That's when it won't work and only a jump start with a good battery will work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 Problem is most of the time when the ignition coil is unsucessful in making the engine turnover, high chance the battery is already failing ie unable to retain charge properly. You can jumpstart the car but the alternator is unable to charge up the battery still and the issue presents itself again when we have to restart the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 Yeah, it depends on the condition of the battery. If it's already 2 yrs old or more, you can forget about jump starting. Usually, only a new battery will solve the problem. If the battery is relatively new and under 1 yr but was discharged by leaving lights on, a jump start is usually what it needs; followed by charging the battery back to full charge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 these standalone chargers dun work. bought b4 ... but never got to use ... so after a while, loose its charge and then threw it away. there are also some devices that gets you to plug one end of the cable into your car ciggy socket and then the other end into the other car's ciggy socket to "jumpstart" - also dun work !! one and only way is battery to battery jumping. just keep a set of 400amp jumper cables in your boot for emergency use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 I tried a smaller but work in similar way years ago, It works. But you will have to check what is the max amp it can charged. Same for jump start cable...have to get one that is suitable for your car batt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 I found this on website I was wonder does it really able to jump start? I had afew time jump start and the thick cable burn. Mostly outside selling those $50 and below cable mostly burn. below this type cable look light even worse to me. Anyone try before? No mention if you expect that device to jump start the car driver, the car owner, or the car engine. If to jump start the car driver, car owner. Yes, he/she will jump angrily with frustration over the device's failure to perform If to jump start the car engine. No way that tiny cable can supply adequate electric current to start the engine before you smell: what's burning? I believe you had jump start a few times and burn the light duty 'jump start' cable. (thick insulated cables are for light duty). Heavy duty jump start cables have thin insulation, so that the heat can be dissipated and not burn the cable). Most/all those sold off the shelves are light duty cables for assuring layman/laywoman, got jump start cable in the boot for emergency. Jump start cables should have conductor with cross sectional areas no smaller than the battery terminal cables themselves. The selling prices do not offer required performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 i test this product before (not this brand, but i think the principle is the same). it actually "charged" ur battery from the battery pack. u plug in, wait abt a couple of min ( i cant remember liao)... then u can re-start ur car... whether this work? i not sure, but the product i test last time dont work. You got the point. You are right. If can work, why the car manufacturers do not know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear October 30, 2011 Share October 30, 2011 During initial 3 jump start attempts, if receiver car cannot start, stop cramming. Any thick jumpstart cables will heat up during prolong cranking. Try letting the assistant car charge up the receiver battery for at least 10-15mins and retry starting car. I tried, and most,, of the times should work. If still can not, those with manual gearbox will be able to go for push start. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 I found this on website I was wonder does it really able to jump start? I had afew time jump start and the thick cable burn. Mostly outside selling those $50 and below cable mostly burn. below this type cable look light even worse to me. Anyone try before? I just posted a similar topic before coming across your thread. If you had bought this and want to try on a weak battery, I don't mind you testing it on my vehicle for the sake of those interested in it because my battery which is 2 year 11 month old needs replacement. It couldn't start but I managed to get it started using the one I got below. I'll be replacing my battery later today. Will appreciate if anyone can advise how much a 65Ah.490CCA battery would cost and recommend a reliable battery shop for such purchase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 No mention if you expect that device to jump start the car driver, the car owner, or the car engine. If to jump start the car driver, car owner. Yes, he/she will jump angrily with frustration over the device's failure to perform If to jump start the car engine. No way that tiny cable can supply adequate electric current to start the engine before you smell: what's burning? You are quite a joker Have a nice day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hulk 1st Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 I just posted a similar topic before coming across your thread. If you had bought this and want to try on a weak battery, I don't mind you testing it on my vehicle for the sake of those interested in it because my battery which is 2 year 11 month old needs replacement. It couldn't start but I managed to get it started using the one I got below. I'll be replacing my battery later today. Will appreciate if anyone can advise how much a 65Ah.490CCA battery would cost and recommend a reliable battery shop for such purchase. I bought $140 1 yrs plus ago. So now you can ah ga ah ga lor...must think price is only up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 I bought $140 1 yrs plus ago. So now you can ah ga ah ga lor...must think price is only up Thanks for the info. Have a nice day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 17, 2013 Share May 17, 2013 Saw this JumpStarter in Groupon.....any use??? http://www.groupon.sg/deals/shopping/group...mpaign=alldeals Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear May 17, 2013 Share May 17, 2013 (edited) Click here for professional adv on jump starters http://www.speedcharge.co.uk/booster-packs/ Edited May 17, 2013 by Yeobh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...