Rush for iPhone 4s because of SIRI?

LoverofCar

My take is this

1) Android appeals to those who are more tech-savvy. It may be more customizable and all, but you need passion to go through those things.

2) Iphone on the other hand, is very user friendly and everything is very straightforward. It's very intuitive too.

Most mass market consumers like Apple because of (2). It's pretty, it looks refine , it's easy to use and it has tonnes of apps. Android just doesn't give the same "feeling" even though it doesn't lack any features that iphone already has.

ya aunties at pasar n uncles at kopitiam only know iphone.

after buying 3gs for my wife n help her set it up, i bought android for myself.

cant even use favourite song as ringtone n so itune reliant, smart phone my feet.

Vlingo has been out in android market for so long liao now then come out with siri... zzz

Edited by WWbarb

i switch from ios to android and i dont find android any harder to use.

1) still can swipe, expand, shrink screen, whatever u can do w iphone, SGS2 also can

2) BIGGER SCREEN

3) can use MP3 as ringtone (lets not talk about rooted iphone)

4) ease of file transfer (w/o itune)

5) can surf flash websites.

4 and 5 are the 2 big reasons why i decided not to go back iOS.

Edited by Babyt

i switch from ios to android and i dont find android any harder to use.

still can swipe, expand, shrink screen, whatever u can do w iphone, SGS2 also can and BIGGER SCREEN, ease of file transfer (w/o itune) and can surf flash websites. the latter 2 reasons are the big reasons why i decided not to go back iOS.

Now that stubborn steve is gone, maybe they will add flash into ios in the future? If they keep losing market shares because of that, I think they will reconsider

dunno y u all dont like iphone but just look at the queue. in fact today i just queued and got 3 4s

dunno why u said that...have u owned an android before?

Fiddling with Android using a demo phone is different from owning one and spend weeks on it.

i own both ip and SGS2.

dont find SGS 2 that much better actually.

going to try out IP4s later

i own both ip and SGS2.

dont find SGS 2 that much better actually.

going to try out IP4s later

the bigger screen real estate on SGS2 is already a plus point :D Now i can't stand any smart phones with screen smaller than the SGS2.. [laugh]

well, we gonna have another looooooong debate here like:

1. road hoggers vs tailgaters

2. OPC vs normal cars

3. conti Vs jeepun

But the clarity on the iPhone is top notch compared to S2

The pixel density of ip4 is about 30% more than SGS2.. But human eyes won't be able to make out any difference unless you're using a magnifying glass to look at the screen..

I guess a lot is based on how we do or want to do things. I love my Incredible S. I can't do without the widgets, and to be honest I find setting up an iOS device a real pain and counter intuitive in contrast to Android (only two more setups to go [:p] )

From a productivity standpoint combining tablet and phone use though, I'm also hooked on my recently re-obtained iPad simply because the sparse almost utilitarian iOS (with notifications and auto push/fetch turned off as my phone does that job) is brilliant. I have no itch to want to change things, make it prettier, or get distracted simply because it can't be done... Well not in any way that interests me anyway [laugh]

WP is getting there, at least in terms of quality, esp now that Redmond has opened up their APIs and some of my "essential apps" are on the platform. Even before Mango, I found it to be the best of best of the lot in terms of ease of set-up, user friendliness, and intuitiveness. Sure it was lacking, but the reasons people loved the first iPhone was there, and I think they outdid Cupertino with their zen like feel. Unless one of the Android companies gives me something with serious geek cred, chances are I'll take the plunge and go WP next year!

Still long I suppose. It's very annoying that windowns phone still do not support java.. and the zune is not a good software. I want to transfer photo from PC to windows phone need do some setting on computer before it can. Even so, when zune is opened, I cannot transfer file to windows phone anymore. And there is a lot that windows phone still lack far behind android and iPhone. The only selling point will be the user friendless and essential things like sms,email, internet.. all make it very easy to use and fast ( just 1 click ).

Edited by Yewheng

he has long history of love-hate relationship with iproducts [laugh] [laugh]

ya aunties at pasar n uncles at kopitiam only know iphone.

after buying 3gs for my wife n help her set it up, i bought android for myself.

cant even use favourite song as ringtone n so itune reliant, smart phone my feet.

Vlingo has been out in android market for so long liao now then come out with siri... zzz

precisely, how many aunties and uncles in the whole world??

i recently switch my wife to android, can see that she is not very happy cos she can't seem to use it as fast/simple as iphone [:(]

dunno y u all dont like iphone but just look at the queue. in fact today i just queued and got 3 4s

Basically I feel that the phone is over-rated.

Too many people owning the same phone makes it a rather cheap mass produced phone feeling.

And Apple has made so many restrictions to the phone, first you can't even use bluetooth to transmit data (photos) between phones or the pc. All my phones so far, I can just bluetooth it without having the need to connect any cables. Therefore, the phone is already partially crippled. Likewise I can't send stuffs to the phone via bluetooth.

Battery - other smartphone makers allow the battery to be taken out and replaced, surprising why Apple does not allow it. You got to pay a premium for it that costs less than $20 if you DIY.

Apps - Apple is controlling what can and cannot be installed unless jailbreak. If buggy apps crashes or causes instability to my phone, it's my problem. Just like installing s/w to Windows OS, infected with virus or BSOD is our problem and we fix it ourselves. If I spend a few hundred on the phone, by right I should have full control of it.

Appointments - Have to go into the calendar to check daily. Unlike other smartphones, the appointments for the day can be displayed at the home screen and one glance, I can know when I have to do what.

Ring-tone customisation - Unless jailbreak, no no again. Almost everyone using the same ringtone, when the phone rings, you see so many people digging for the phones to see who's phone is ringing.

External storage - No options planned for additional storage requirements via microSD card.

Privacy - Have to sync with Itunes occasionally. You never know what is being transmitted out from your phone to Apple's servers. Some researches even managed to retrieve positioning data from the phone. Remember Apple can disable the lost Iphone4 prototype cia GPS even without a SIM card plugged in? Another words with the idea of planned obsolence, they can also remotely disable your phone and make you feel your phone is dead and get another Iphone.

Comparing oranges to oranges, all smartphones have the same basic capabilities, be it calling, sms, email, apps, gps, music, touchscreen (for certain models).

How does the Iphone stands out? My outdated decommissioned E71 has Garmin XT installed and with periodic map updates, it is almost as good as having a Garmin standalone GPS in the car and I'm using it for navigation and occasionally as a car cam.

End of the day, the interior of the phone is still the PCB, circuitary and programming to perform as it should.

Unless the whole interior circuit is gold plated, then I feel the phone is worth consider getting and queuing overnight.

Edited by Bystander50

precisely, how many aunties and uncles in the whole world??

i recently switch my wife to android, can see that she is not very happy cos she can't seem to use it as fast/simple as iphone [:(]

change wife? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Too many people owning the same phone makes it a rather cheap mass produced phone feeling.

And Apple has made so many restrictions to the phone, first you can't even use bluetooth to transmit data (photos) between phones or the pc. All my phones so far, I can just bluetooth it without having the need to connect any cables. Therefore, the phone is already partially crippled. Likewise I can't send stuffs to the phone via bluetooth.

Battery - other smartphone makers allow the battery to be taken out and replaced, surprising why Apple does not allow it. You got to pay a premium for it that costs less than $20 if you DIY.

Apps - Apple is controlling what can and cannot be installed unless jailbreak. If buggy apps crashes or causes instability to my phone, it's my problem. Just like installing s/w to Windows OS, infected with virus or BSOD is our problem and we fix it ourselves. If I spend a few hundred on the phone, by right I should have full control of it.

Appointments - Have to go into the calendar to check daily. Unlike other smartphones, the appointments for the day can be displayed at the home screen and one glance, I can know when I have to do what.

Ring-tone customisation - Unless jailbreak, no no again. Almost everyone using the same ringtone, when the phone rings, you see so many people digging for the phones to see who's phone is ringing.

External storage - No options planned for additional storage requirements via microSD card.

Privacy - Have to sync with Itunes occasionally. You never know what is being transmitted out from your phone to Apple's servers. Some researches even managed to retrieve positioning data from the phone. Remember Apple can disable the lost Iphone4 prototype cia GPS even without a SIM card plugged in? Another words with the idea of planned obsolence, they can also remotely disable your phone and make you feel your phone is dead and get another Iphone.

Comparing oranges to oranges, all smartphones have the same basic capabilities, be it calling, sms, email, apps, gps, music, touchscreen (for certain models).

How does the Iphone stands out? My outdated decommissioned E71 has Garmin XT installed and with periodic map updates, it is almost as good as having a Garmin standalone GPS in the car and I'm using it for navigation and occasionally as a car cam.

End of the day, the interior of the phone is still the PCB, circuitary and programming to perform as it should.

Unless the whole interior circuit is gold plated, then I feel the phone is worth consider getting and queuing overnight.

to be fair, while everyone say iphone is control under itunes, but the good thing is for less tech savvy people, you know all you need is THERE.

sorry, i never JB my last iphone and personal ringtone can still be done.

As for storage, it is a headache trying to figure out where are the files store (internal or external, etc) honestly, you have more worries if you are again less tech savvy and cannot organise you stuff in the phone.

my take on why people like iphone?.... it's a fashion icon, an image and ego booster.. when you hold one on hand, u r up there.. the feel shiok mentality.. that's why i always admire apple's marketing team. they are the best around... [thumbsup]

i've have no less than 10 ip4 user surrounding me in the office within a perimeter of 50m and i've never seen them use whatever "new" feature it sells. many of them use it for phone call, sms, facebook, and play game only...

Now that stubborn steve is gone, maybe they will add flash into ios in the future? If they keep losing market shares because of that, I think they will reconsider

if apple starts to use flash, it literally "admitted" losing the war.... but hey, an old man ever said "over my dead body" but he is still around wor.. so, backbone is cheap lar.... [laugh]