South Korea: Seoul - Free and easy 2 nights stay in Seoul

Yaloryalor

i did that on 2 occasions with Expedia, some time was bad planning and some time was errors. They refund in full and i made another booking.

Just like what we did in Amazon, their customer service is quite good, of course i dun abuse it on purpose. and i only use Expedia  :D

Good customer service is to be applauded.

But I don't think we can say expedia's customer service is this case is bad. I might be wrong but there's a different price for refundable and non-refundable.

If non-refundable also can refund then who will pay for refundable?

Thanks for the info. Will take note.

I will book my hotels in Taiwan in Dec 2017 after your trip to Taiwan. I wana read abt your Taiwan FR cos I will be going similar places as u in Taiwan. I will be going in Mar 2018.

Lala is going to lala land or kiddy places, not for couple leh   [sweatdrop]

Taiwan usually can book direct as a lot of small hotels and ming su not listed in hotel booking website, I think is the chinese and english thing.

I going with the in-laws. Their whole family.

So going to elderly frenly places in Taiwan. They ask me to plan and arrange. They just pay and follow.

Haha yeah. I will try to provide information. But totally opposite demographics  [laugh]

I going with the in-laws. Their whole family.

So going to elderly frenly places in Taiwan. They ask me to plan and arrange. They just pay and follow.

Oh ok. Sure. haha i will make a FR. But I'm going to be taking trains down to miaoli and taichung, rather than rely too much on cabs/PHV.

Called up Hotel.com yesterday evening. The same CSO, Joshua, picked up my call. I told him we have spoken, then he checked and said, Oh ITS you, yah the hotel has agreed to cancel. And he went on to made the switch of hotels. Received the hotel confirmation email from him and paid the difference with my CC.

So now I got to stay at the correct hotel, Ibis Ambassador.

This morning Ibis Styles Ambassador sent me a confirmation cancellation email and say miss me wor. [laugh]

post-2654-0-01188800-1502417497_thumb.jpg

Called up Hotel.com yesterday evening. The same CSO, Joshua, picked up my call. I told him we have spoken, then he checked and said, Oh ITS you, yah the hotel has agreed to cancel. And he went on to made the switch of hotels. Received the hotel confirmation email from him and paid the difference with my CC.

So now I got to stay at the correct hotel, Ibis Ambassador.

This morning Ibis Styles Ambassador sent me a confirmation cancellation email and say miss me wor. [laugh]

attachicon.gifScreenshot Ibis Styles Ambassador Hotel reply 003.jpg

see lah, make people busy   [laugh]  [laugh]

I am paying more to Ibis leh. Also I am downgrading from a 4 star hotel(Ibis Styles Ambassador) to a 3 star hotel(Ibis Ambassador).

Doesnt make sense right? Downgrade and pay more. :XD:

haha difficult customer. 

@Adrianli when is your trip

Oct11 on MY airlines. Stopover at KL.

Come back Oct22. Same, stopover at KL.

Stopover is 1hr only, hope no screw up and able to catch the next flight. [dead]

Oct11 on MY airlines. Stopover at KL.

Come back Oct22. Same, stopover at KL.

Stopover is 1hr only, hope no screw up and able to catch the next flight. [dead]

woah 11 days. Oh u going Jeju also right.

Wifey and I have planned out our route for Jeju and Busan. Have booked car with Lotte car rental for Jeju.

Now left with planning where to visit in Seoul. I wana go to DMZ, JSA but she not very keen. 

Our trip will be 2 nights in Jeju, 2 nights in Busan and 6 nights in Seoul.

Wifey and I have planned out our route for Jeju and Busan. Have booked car with Lotte car rental for Jeju.

Now left with planning where to visit in Seoul. I wana go to DMZ, JSA but she not very keen. 

Our trip will be 2 nights in Jeju, 2 nights in Busan and 6 nights in Seoul.

you can book for yourself and go the DMZ/JSA haha. 

Hmmm Korean War museum is good (but i didn't step inside! haha only went the outdoor display near the playground).

I didn't go Namsan tower, bukchon hanok village, gyeongbokgung palace cos it was just too cold for the kids.

Not a bad place for a walk either. Cheongyecheon stream

http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/ATR/SI_EN_3_1_1_1.jsp?cid=897540

you can go day trips as well. There are the little prince village, that elevated bike on rails place etc.

hahaha all i never go. 

you can book for yourself and go the DMZ/JSA haha. 

Hmmm Korean War museum is good (but i didn't step inside! haha only went the outdoor display near the playground).

I didn't go Namsan tower, bukchon hanok village, gyeongbokgung palace cos it was just too cold for the kids.

Not a bad place for a walk either. Cheongyecheon stream

http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/ATR/SI_EN_3_1_1_1.jsp?cid=897540

you can go day trips as well. There are the little prince village, that elevated bike on rails place etc.

hahaha all i never go. 

The problem is wifey is very sticky to me overseas. She afraid to wonder off alone in a foreign country, always need me to be around. She lost her sense of direction easily so she afraid of getting lost. She also do not know how to read maps/gps.

So she want me to accompany her everywhere. Her main purpose of Seoul is shopping, shopping and shopping. The only place I wana go in Seoul is DMZ/JSA. The rest are just secondary. Will be eating too, of cos. But to stay true to my new IF plan, I have booked all the hotel rooms with no breakfast. :D

Will consider the places you mentioned. Thanks. [thumbsup]

ok lah. i summarise some points from my seoul itinerary.

10th March (Fri) 

Cheongyecheon stream (near Gwanghwamun) 
- Spring Sculpture 

Mugyodong Bugeokukjib (Fish soup) is nearby 

38, Eulji-ro 1-gil, Jung-gu 
Local name 무교동 북어국집 
Local address 04522중구 을지로1길 38 

Deoksugung Palace  
- City Hall subway(Seoul Subway Line 1, 2), Exit 2  
- can also walk from cheongyecheon plaza 
- open 9am onwards *Closed on Monday* 
- changing of guard ceremony at Daehanmun Gate @1100, 1400, 1530  

Lotte Mart at Seoul Station 
- Exit 1. CLOSED ON 2ND and 4th Sundays 
- Tax refund at 30,000 won 

Myeongdong Shopping Street  

Myeongdong restaurants 

Migabon (porridge) & Sinseon Seolleongtang (Ox bone soup) 

• Address:  2F, 2-23, Myeongdong 2(i)-ga ,Junggu, Seoul (서울특별시 중구 명동2가 2-23, 2F) 
    Hours: 8:00~22:00 

• Get off at subway line 4 Myeongdong station, exit 6. Walk straight until you see Woori Bank on your right. Turn right and walk past the intersection. 

• Directions: From Myeong-dong Station (subway line 4) Exit 8, Make a left and continue for 300 meters. Turn right onto Myeongdong-gil when you see the ABC Mart. The restaurant will be on your right. 

• Migabon will be on your right, right on top of Sinseon Seolleongtang, on the second floor. Opposite Seoul Royal Hotel 

Yoogane Chicken Galbi (유가네 닭갈비 
Myeongdong Exit 8, turn left and walk straight (there are 2 branches along the same road, one on left, one on Right) 
- The signage will be in Korean “유가네”. The most prominent feature of their signage is for it’s red, orange and yellow logo 
- for Dak Galbi 

Myeongdong Gyoja 명동교자 

Kang Ho Dong Baekjeong Korean BBQ (강호동 백정) 
3-3 Myeongdong 2(i)-ga, near Myeongdong Gyoja 

Bukchon Hanok Village (북촌한옥마을) 

- Anguk Station (Seoul Subway Line 3), Exit 1 or 2. Go straight for about 300m 

National Museum of Korea (국립중앙박물관with the Children's Museum 
- 137, Seobinggo-roYongsan-gu, Seoul 서울특별시 용산구 서빙고로 137 (용산동6가) 
- Open 9am 
- Guided Tours  
English - 10:00-11:00 / 11:00-12:00 / 14:00-15:00 (Tue-Fri)  
              11:00-12:00 / 14:00-15:00 (Sat, Sun) 
Ichon Station (Seoul Subway Line 4 & Gyeongui-Jungang Line), Exit 2.  
-The subway is connected to the museum  via an underpass called Bakmulgwan Nadeul-gil or Moving Museum.  

Yongsan Family Park 

Naksan Park (낙산공원) & Ihwa Mural Village (이화 벽화마을) 

Hyehwa Station (Seoul Subway Line 4), Exit 2. Walk along Daehangno/Daehak-Ro for about 500m, turn left at Ihwajang-gil and walk up for another 400m.  

The War Memorial of Korea (전쟁기념관) 

- Open at 9am. CLOSED ON MONDAYS 
1) Samgakji Station (Seoul Subway Line 6), Exit 1, 11 or 12. 
2) Namyeong Station (Seoul Subway Line 1), Exit 1 

Gyeongbokgung Palace (경복궁) 

• Gyeongbokgung Station (Seoul Subway Line 3) and Exit 5 

• 3000 won per adult 

Tosokchon Samgyetang 
5, Jahamun-ro 5-gil, Jongno-gu 
Local name 토속촌삼계탕 
Local address 03041종로구 자하문로5길 5 

Namdaemun Market and Namdaemun Gate 

Hoehyon Station (Line 4) Exits 5 and 6 
- Can get map from information center near exit 5 (walk straight, take 1st right turn, walk 100-150m) 
- got 3 major toy stores side by side (Mama, Porky and another one) 

Go to Lotte Mart again before Departure 

Optional activities 

Sindangdong Tteokbokki Town (신당동떡볶이골목) 

SindangStation (Seoul Subway Line 2 or 6), Exit 8. 
Go straight until you reach Jungbu Fire Station and turn left. 
- make sure you look for Exit 7, and once you are on the main road, make an about-turn and walk straight till you see the big sign that says Ddokbokki Town (in Korean though). It is not too far from Exit 7 and if you find yourself walking for more than 15 minutes, you would most likely have passed it 
Mabongnim Halmeoni Tteokbokki (마복림할머니떡볶이) 

Tax Refund 

3 different companies handling their Tax refund, namely Global tax Free (Orange logo), Global Blue (Blue Logo) and KT tourist. Each company only accept their own tax refund receipts 
- Step 1: Get tax refund receipt from store/at dept store 
- step 2: fill up particulars. Put tax refund items only in 1 particular luggage 
- step 3: check in airport, tell staff which luggage has the tax refund items (they will not take in the bag yet) 
- step 4: head to tax refund counter before you clear immigration. They will stamp the receipts 
- step 5: re-queue at the custom declaration counter right beside to check in your luggage (refer to picture) 
- step 6: After immigration, go to respective counters to get refund (Global tax and Global Blue) 
- Step 7: Go to self service KT Tourist kiosk for the same 
(In some cases, not all your receipts are approved at one go. Receipts with higher value of refund might take more time for approval and the screen will prompt “please approach tax officer for verification“. So here’s the benefit of doing it post immigration as compared to the kiosk before immigration (point 5). The self service kiosk post immigration has a custom counter right beside the kiosk and you can approach the staff on duty if such a notice came up and/or ask them to approve it immediately) 

Food to try 

Paris Baguette Ice Cream 

Kyochon Fried chicken - honey 

Softree honey chip ice cream 
Softree (소프트리 홍대): 367-38 Seogyo-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea 

Sulbing – Injeolmi and Mango 

ok lah. @Adrianli

I'm quite detailed about travel itinerary. Since i have time at work to research. 
This is some details u can use if u are going these places.

Do take note that lotte mart is closed one sunday a month (can't remember 1st or last sunday)

ok lah. i summarise some points from my seoul itinerary.

ok lah. @Adrianli

I'm quite detailed about travel itinerary. Since i have time at work to research. 

This is some details u can use if u are going these places.

Do take note that lotte mart is closed one sunday a month (can't remember 1st or last sunday)

kamsahamnida. [thumbsup]

The problem is wifey is very sticky to me overseas. She afraid to wonder off alone in a foreign country, always need me to be around. She lost her sense of direction easily so she afraid of getting lost. She also do not know how to read maps/gps.

So she want me to accompany her everywhere. Her main purpose of Seoul is shopping, shopping and shopping. The only place I wana go in Seoul is DMZ/JSA. The rest are just secondary. Will be eating too, of cos. But to stay true to my new IF plan, I have booked all the hotel rooms with no breakfast. :D

Will consider the places you mentioned. Thanks. [thumbsup]

find her a shopping partner, and find yourself an escort  [sly]   ask @jamesc to recommend you   [laugh]

She arranging to meetup with her former korean colleague who was stationed in SG for two years. So I hope got my own free time one of the days. [:p]

Oh ya. If u wondering, the korean colleague not chio one. Short hair machiam tomboy. Her sideline is operating Airbnb rooms in Seoul. But me no like Airbnb. She is single thou, mid 30's.

She arranging to meetup with her former korean colleague who was stationed in SG for two years. So I hope got my own free time one of the days. [:p]

Oh ya. If u wondering, the korean colleague not chio one. Short hair machiam tomboy. Her sideline is operating Airbnb rooms in Seoul. But me no like Airbnb. She is single thou, mid 30's.

If you intend to go DMZ/JSA, bring 1 non jean long pants.  Your wife needs legging to cover her leg.

DMZ/JSA is a almost 1 day tour that ends around 4pm.  She has enough time to shop after that.

My wife also LL follow me to DMZ/JSA.