South Korea: Seoul - Free and easy 2 nights stay in Seoul

Yaloryalor

China bans package tours to S. Korea in ‘retaliation’ against THAAD installation

58b99970c36188125a8b46cb.jpg

Starting this month, Chinese citizens wishing to travel to South Korea will not be able to book trips through travel agencies, according to media reports. Thought to be a response to Korea’s planned deployment of a US missile defense system, the measure could inflict severe financial damage.

Multiple media outlets have reported that the China National Tourism Administration (CNTA) held an official meeting with Beijing tour operators on Thursday to inform them of the new directive.

Operators have been told to clear all the pre-purchased tours on sale by March 15, or face fines, and even potential closure, the Financial Times reports citing a source privy to CNTA instructions.

Wang Ki-young, a director at South Korea’s culture ministry, which was forced to convene an emergency meeting, told the newspaper the ban will initially target travel agencies located in Beijing before being rolled out across the country.

China’s Sanctions Over THAAD Can Sink Korea’s Economy

China has expressed its displeasure at South Korea over its intent to install a U.S.-backed missile defense system by telling Chinese travel agencies not to organize group tours to Korea and suspending conglomerate Lotte Group’s supermarket operations in China.

ON-CA585_THAAD_D_20170305230018.jpg A South Korean protester wears a black mask reading “No THAAD” during a rally against the planned deployment of the US-built Terminal High Altitude Area Defense (THAAD) anti-ballistic missile system, outside the Defence Ministry in Seoul on February 28, 2017. (Photo credit JUNG YEON-JE/AFP/Getty Images) Getty Images

China’s travel ban can shave at least 20% off Korea’s GDP growth this year, says Credit Suisse. The bank currently forecasts Korea to grow at 2.5%.

The reasoning is very simple. Chinese tourists, who come as part of tour groups, contribute $7.3 billion in tourism revenue to Korea’s economy, or 0.5% of its total GDP. Individual tourists from China, contribute another $11.3 billion, or 0.8% of its total GDP.

So if China just cancels travel groups alone this year, 0.5% of Korea’s GDP is gone, or 20% of overall GDP growth estimated by Credit Suisse.

And things could get worse. China has asked for a boycott of Lotte Group’s products, but China’s displeasure has so far only been directed at cosmetics, duty-free shops and Korean casinos. Will China launch sanctions against Korean smartphones and car makers too?

Korean won will go down

Korean products will be cheaper.

Hotels will drop price and no China tourists.

I will go more often to help the Korean economy.  [thumbsup]

Whoever going Korea now is very lucky.

The Chinese gov has stopped their people

going as tourists. No more crowds of badly

behaved, ill mannered, boorish, uncouth,

loud mouth China tourists. [thumbsup]

Was there 2 weeks ago, only few of them there.

Most visitors at places of interest are quite evenly mix.

Except at Nami island where there are larger group of tourist, one from Philippines, one from Indonesia and one from China.

At Jeju, I saw more Koreans

Was there 2 weeks ago, only few of them there.

Most visitors at places of interest are quite evenly mix.

Except at Nami island where there are larger group of tourist, one from Philippines, one from Indonesia and one from China.

At Jeju, I saw more Koreans

I don't mind no china tourists.

I rather see more Korean tourists.  [thumbsup]

korea and japan ... 8/10 shops got assistant speak mandarin

no need phd to guess why

places like myeongdong or any shopping arcades that targeted tourist ... sure got someone speak mandarin

Oh, I didn't know that Japan too.  Thanks for informing me.  I am so scare that I may face communication problem when I go Japan wahahahaha

Whoever going Korea now is very lucky.

The Chinese gov has stopped their people

going as tourists. No more crowds of badly

behaved, ill mannered, boorish, uncouth,

loud mouth China tourists.  [thumbsup]

Good leh.  We won't be mistaken for Chinese PRC too. 

Oh, I didn't know that Japan too.  Thanks for informing me.  I am so scare that I may face communication problem when I go Japan wahahahaha

in my very limited jap... .. always start with hayaku... and end with yamateeee  :XD:

on a serious note...  its much better now already.. most can speak english... so no worries even on self drive trips...   [sunny]

I don't mind no china tourists.

I rather see more Korean tourists.  [thumbsup]

but hor... many china tourists go there to transform to koreans...  

then how?  [:p]

in my very limited jap... .. always start with hayaku... and end with yamateeee  :XD:

on a serious note...  its much better now already.. most can speak english... so no worries even on self drive trips...   [sunny]

but hor... many china tourists go there to transform to koreans...  

then how?  [:p]

If transform until like this

then I accept them as Korean.

af7727eb5282fea33427faf08e61d018.jpg

If transform until like this

then I accept them as Korean.

af7727eb5282fea33427faf08e61d018.jpg

yoona? so darn diff to tell them apart...    or im just not into k-pop? 

After this happen... 

poydtreechada3.jpg

anything is possible...   [:p]

yoona? so darn diff to tell them apart...    or im just not into k-pop? 

After this happen... 

poydtreechada3.jpg

anything is possible...   [:p]

Very nice.

I don't mean to insult her

but was she a man before?

The most "disliked" thing to do by a Korean person

is to learn to speak English. They rather learn Mandarin than English.

Not anymore I think. With THAAD, looks like the number of PRC visitors is going to fall sharply. At least according to the global times 

I intend to go there more to support their tourism industry.

Eat their food, sleep in their hotel and buy their products. 

Anyone now in Korea?

All the PRC tourists went home already?

Still got lah.

Anyway as @vid says. I've hardly seen any good looking Korean girls. Those that appear striking seem to have cosmetic surgery done before..

Still got lah.

Anyway as @vid says. I've hardly seen any good looking Korean girls. Those that appear striking seem to have cosmetic surgery done before..

Maybe they didn't

get the message

faster tell them.  [thumbsup]

Maybe they didn't

get the message

faster tell them. [thumbsup]

My hotel is along a street with a love motel though lol.