Why mata SUV tailgating??

KARTer

That kind of escort is dpm and above. Just move aside and let them pass. They tio speed camera also bo saman.

You block their way....well I dunno what will happen but maybe some people visit you and ask drink kopi for small talk.

Concur that.

Was in CTE along lane 1 once heading towards AMK when I saw a SUV tail-gating a French-made car in the middle lane coming from behind fast.

Can't remember the displayed words at the rear windscreen of this SUV but something like Police\Keep Clear\Thank you.

And of course in the C*****n's driver seat was our ex-DPM.

Edited by Vulcann

Date / time: 27 Oct Thur 9pm

Where: ECP in front of MBS towards west coast

I was coming down the Sheares bridge in lane 2, speed: about 80kmh

A dark 5-series overtook me in lane 1, tailgated by a white volvo SUV number plate SGX something.... the two cars were just 1m apart both going at about 100kmh

As the suv passed me, it moved closer to my door mirror!! and by then 1 noticed the blue blinking lights from its rear windscreen plus digital signboard behind this screen flashing "POLICE -- CLEARANCE -- THANK YOU" repeatedly.... then the SUV continued with its left wheels riding over the line (ie into land 2) but the car body was still riding in lane 1, tailgating the beemer......

I was curious:- was the suv escorting the beemer in front? but if yes, shouldnt the escort veh go in front of the 'host'???

I got more curious, so i sped up and went side by side with the beemer and peeped inside; the front passeger who looked like a thug stared back hard at me.... i took note of the number plate: nothing special, an ordinary SJB something.............

Then i went ahead and moved into lane 1 in front of the two cars but kept a decent gap..... at this point the SUV started flashing hi beam behind the beemer.... as if to ask me F off??!!

I moved back to lane 2, slowed down and let them pass..... the two continued at 100kmh like a train with only 1m between their bumpers...

Anyone knows why the SUV tailgated, is this a common pattern between 'host' and police escort, or between two mata chias??

Maybe they are practising something?? :o[confused]

this is standard sec com protocol, has been the practice since independence of sg...

Edited by Carbine-

....cant believe a democratic country like Singapore can have such "open" blatant behaviour on our road. Really feel like Johor Sultan is in town. .....

Nothing to do with democracy. It's about security. Many countries national security escort are worse than we have here eg. USA.

I dont think they are driving ur normal BMW n Volvo. Their front n rear bumper should have been reinforced with thick steel bar.

Have u not watched America's Police Chase videos??? The police cars there will use their front bumper to ram u off the road!!! Or go in front of u n e-brake!!!

U try ur stunt to e-brake in front of them, I think ur sedan car will become hatchback. And their car only paint scratches. [laugh]

what if u drive a hummer? :D

Nothing to do with democracy. It's about security. Many countries national security escort are worse than we have here eg. USA.

Johor Sultan got class ----- his rear escort car is a rolls royce last time but painted in fire engine red!!! (now maybe upgraded to Bentley Continental GT!!).......... my eyes nearly popped out when i saw it :o

Edited by KARTer

white SUV? i think US trust their own BLACK SUV more... [drivingcar]

Edited by TYL

one person outing...so many people involve....good for job creation...we need more people like them...

good idea: one big shoot go from shopping to makan, lets give him 2 outriders in front, one volvo SUV behind... and at the next 3 traffic lights ahead, standby scooter cha bor police to stop all traffic to let him drive thru smoothly.... easily another 10 jobs created .....0.01 unemployment rate :D

Edited by KARTer

Johor Sultan got class ----- his rear escort car is a rolls royce last time but painted in fire engine red!!! (now maybe upgraded to Bentley Continental GT!!).......... my eyes nearly popped out when i saw it :o

if Seccom use bentley as escort car, many will roll eyes and bitch about wasting tax money... nothing GOV do are right, too cheap, too expensive, too stingy, too wasteful, too strict, too lenient.... I guess it is hard to satisfy everyone.

This is one of their formation or tactics for VVIP escort limited escortors.

Best is to have M/C roadsweeper at front, and escort cars at front and rear. But only the VVVVIP will be accorded such protection and status.

So with only one escort vehicle the most ideal is the saddle between lanes 1&2 all the way. But they could not do it here due to traffic.

its kind of high tension during escorts, cant afford to allow any mishaps ..

if Seccom use bentley as escort car, many will roll eyes and bitch about wasting tax money... nothing GOV do are right, too cheap, too expensive, too stingy, too wasteful, too strict, too lenient.... I guess it is hard to satisfy everyone.

LTA no need to please everyone's whim and fancy, just needs to do one fundamental thing right:-

affordable, user-friendly, and realiable train service, as all provider of public train service must do.

They are not TP.They are Seccom from Toa Payoh base.TP don't do VVIP escort. TP open road only.

now, i used to think bikes definitely = TP. but on closer observation, it's not the case.

this is a pic of PM's arrival at chinatown lightup (from flickr). of the 3 bikers, only the 2 wearing TP uniform are real TP. the 3rd with the luminous vest is from seccom. his duty is security rather than escort. for former SM/MM, and DPMs with only one biker, chances are it's only one civilian with luminous vest.

4299440350_8eb3ebc45d_b.jpg

Date / time: 27 Oct Thur 9pm

Where: ECP in front of MBS towards west coast

I was coming down the Sheares bridge in lane 2, speed: about 80kmh

A dark 5-series overtook me in lane 1, tailgated by a white volvo SUV number plate SGX something.... the two cars were just 1m apart both going at about 100kmh

As the suv passed me, it moved closer to my door mirror!! and by then 1 noticed the blue blinking lights from its rear windscreen plus digital signboard behind this screen flashing "POLICE -- CLEARANCE -- THANK YOU" repeatedly.... then the SUV continued with its left wheels riding over the line (ie into land 2) but the car body was still riding in lane 1, tailgating the beemer......

I was curious:- was the suv escorting the beemer in front? but if yes, shouldnt the escort veh go in front of the 'host'???

I got more curious, so i sped up and went side by side with the beemer and peeped inside; the front passeger who looked like a thug stared back hard at me.... i took note of the number plate: nothing special, an ordinary SJB something.............

Then i went ahead and moved into lane 1 in front of the two cars but kept a decent gap..... at this point the SUV started flashing hi beam behind the beemer.... as if to ask me F off??!!

I moved back to lane 2, slowed down and let them pass..... the two continued at 100kmh like a train with only 1m between their bumpers...

Anyone knows why the SUV tailgated, is this a common pattern between 'host' and police escort, or between two mata chias??

Maybe they are practising something?? :o[confused]

They are professionals.

You look like the curious type...but don't try driving that way yourself.