Why mata SUV tailgating??

KARTer

Date / time: 27 Oct Thur 9pm

Where: ECP in front of MBS towards west coast

I was coming down the Sheares bridge in lane 2, speed: about 80kmh

A dark 5-series overtook me in lane 1, tailgated by a white volvo SUV number plate SGX something.... the two cars were just 1m apart both going at about 100kmh

As the suv passed me, it moved closer to my door mirror!! and by then 1 noticed the blue blinking lights from its rear windscreen plus digital signboard behind this screen flashing "POLICE -- CLEARANCE -- THANK YOU" repeatedly.... then the SUV continued with its left wheels riding over the line (ie into land 2) but the car body was still riding in lane 1, tailgating the beemer......

I was curious:- was the suv escorting the beemer in front? but if yes, shouldnt the escort veh go in front of the 'host'???

I got more curious, so i sped up and went side by side with the beemer and peeped inside; the front passeger who looked like a thug stared back hard at me.... i took note of the number plate: nothing special, an ordinary SJB something.............

Then i went ahead and moved into lane 1 in front of the two cars but kept a decent gap..... at this point the SUV started flashing hi beam behind the beemer.... as if to ask me F off??!!

I moved back to lane 2, slowed down and let them pass..... the two continued at 100kmh like a train with only 1m between their bumpers...

Anyone knows why the SUV tailgated, is this a common pattern between 'host' and police escort, or between two mata chias??

Maybe they are practising something?? :o[confused]

Edited by KARTer

It is to prevent other cars from cutting in between the two. The SUV escort can lose sight of the escorted car if that happens.

Date / time: 27 Oct Thur 9pm

Where: ECP in front of MBS towards west coast

I was coming down the Sheares bridge in lane 2, speed: about 80kmh

A dark 5-series overtook me in lane 1, tailgated by a white volvo SUV number plate SGX something.... the two cars were just 1m apart both going at about 100kmh

As the suv passed me, it moved closer to my door mirror!! and by then 1 noticed the blue blinking lights from its rear windscreen plus digital signboard behind this screen flashing "POLICE -- CLEARANCE -- THANK YOU" repeatedly.... then the SUV continued with its left wheels riding over the line (ie into land 2) but the car body was still riding in lane 1, tailgating the beemer......

I was curious:- was the suv escorting the beemer in front? but if yes, shouldnt the escort veh go in front of the 'host'???

I got more curious, so i sped up and overtook both of them and went side by side with the beemer and peeped inside; the front passeger who looked like a thug stared back hard at me.... i took note of the number plate: nothing specially, an ordinary SJB something.............

Then i went ahead and moved into lane 1 in front of the two cars but kept a decent gap..... at this point the SUV started flashing hi beam behind the beemer.... as if to ask me F off??!!

I moved back to lane 2, slowed down and let them pass..... the two continue at 100kmh like a train with only 1m between their bumpers...

Anyone knows why the SUV tailgated, is this a common pattern between 'host' and police escort, or between two mata chias??

Maybe they are practising something?? :o[confused]

It is to prevent other cars from cutting in between the two. The SUV escort can lose sight of the escorted car if that happens.

Actually, with its blinking "POLICE" lights, who dares to cut in between them??...... could it be that the beemer was just another car who die die insisted to stick to 100kmh in lane 1 'blocking' the mata SUV which wasnt not in a hurry but decided to tailage just for fun??

Edited by KARTer

That kind of escort is dpm and above. Just move aside and let them pass. They tio speed camera also bo saman.

You block their way....well I dunno what will happen but maybe some people visit you and ask drink kopi for small talk.

The white volvo has been talked about umpteen times. I'm surprised ppl got the courage(or the lack of brains) to move in closer for a peek. I won't be surprised if the occupants pull out M16s and start shooting.

Actually, with its blinking "POLICE" lights, who dares to cut in between them??...... could it be that the beemer was just another car who die die insisted to stick to 100kmh in lane 1 'blocking' the mata SUV which wasnt not in a hurry but decided to tailage just for fun??

u dare not, doesn't mean pple who have intention to kill or do harm won't dare too

Always see 1 such pair near my house, which is near MINDEF.. no prize for guessing who is in the ESCORTED car.. [laugh] [laugh]

i saw 2 TP bikes cut a swath through thick traffic to make way for a white volvo SUV to clear..possibly a XC90..the traffic lights was red and the TP make sure the all traffic at the cross junction stopped..later all 3 vehicles went in a road leading to a church

Have seen variants like the XC60 as well. the TPs act as the sweeper

V common when they go up north to celebrate hariraya and when they convoy back along SLE

I ever encountered such a scenario at at Mandai and upz BKE..

The car infront is a laopok chia volvo driven by an angmoh.. changing lanes crazily..

The white escort just followed behind and waved - akin to apologize to other roadusers for the dangerous stunt on the road.

talk about it, last time i encounter 2 white 7 series singapore single digit number plate drive like madman at jb holiday plaza there, drive freaking fast...almost hit me by the side when overtake...-_-, what are those car?

talk about it, last time i encounter 2 white 7 series singapore single digit number plate drive like madman at jb holiday plaza there, drive freaking fast...almost hit me by the side when overtake... -_- , what are those car?

those are bullies' cars....

i am pretty sure they are official car? but no police car with them...weird, do government drive white 7 series? plus they use hazard light...i am quite sure maybe VIP or something