2 router

Hamburger

On 10/25/2011 at 12:33 PM, Baphomet said:

woah woah woah....sorry ar...u lost me there! :wacko:

Seriously if im gonna loose so much speed...I think i will consider upgrading to fibre optics (Suggested by bro J22) ... only thing is din noe they allow me to upgrade or not..

what about the wifi receiver? is it critical?

They would love to since you are upgrading and paying more :D

On 10/25/2011 at 12:32 PM, Yewheng said:

Np. Actually currently for your internet plan with 16Mbps any router will do, unless you house is very big or has many wall or obstruction. Than you will need a better router. The above is just a guide to let you understand some basic information you should look out for.

my main problem is i want to change my PC location..

currently its right next to the TV(as modem needs to be connected there due location of cable outlet) which I find very lousy location...I want to put it further back..but to do that I need a long wiring which will be very messy...so thats why the thought of having wireless router to eliminate the wires....

Then...as bro Happily1986 mentioned...Im gonna loose alot of my speed....now hesitate liao..don't know if its worth it or not....

either i take the lost of speed...or I get contractor do up wiring...or I sign up fibreoptics(as outlet is at the new loaction whereby I want to shift my PC)... I know I know..i very jiat lat... :D

Seriously if im gonna loose so much speed...I think i will consider upgrading to fibre optics (Suggested by bro J22) ... only thing is din noe they allow me to upgrade or not..

On 10/25/2011 at 12:39 PM, Baphomet said:

my main problem is i want to change my PC location..

currently its right next to the TV(as modem needs to be connected there due location of cable outlet) which I find very lousy location...I want to put it further back..but to do that I need a long wiring which will be very messy...so thats why the thought of having wireless router to eliminate the wires....

Then...as bro Happily1986 mentioned...Im gonna loose alot of my speed....now hesitate liao..don't know if its worth it or not....

either i take the lost of speed...or I get contractor do up wiring...or I sign up fibreoptics(as outlet is at the new loaction whereby I want to shift my PC)... I know I know..i very jiat lat... :D

I don't think you will lose too much speed as yours already 16Mbps. Unless your internet plan is those 300Mbps than you need to consider those option.

Just for info. My internet plan is 30Mbps and I currently using the above router I pasted and Surfing to me very smooth, no difference in speed be it using lan or wifi and the wireless router is at living room and i surf internet in my room and usually more than 75% signal. So yours should not be a problem of lost of signal unless your house is really very big or has a lot of wall or obstruction.

Edited by Yewheng

On 10/25/2011 at 12:37 PM, Jman888 said:

They would love to since you are upgrading and paying more :D

Ok...starhub confirmed can upgrade..but think need to buy new modem...

erm..one month extra 20 bucks...

but get 3 times faster speed..hmn....all my problem solved...although will still get a wireless router just for the ipad, phones and my kid future laptop..

Edited by Baphomet

On 10/25/2011 at 12:40 PM, Yewheng said:

I don't think you will lose too much speed as yours already 16Mbps. Unless your internet plan is those 300Mbps than you need to consider those option.

Just for info. My internet plan is 30Mbps and I currently using the above router I pasted and Surfing to me very smooth, no difference in speed be it using lan or wifi and the wireless router is at living room and i surf internet in my room and usually more than 75% signal. So yours should not be a problem of lost of signal unless your house is really very big or has a lot of wall or obstruction.

Hmn....ok. you have 30Mbps mah...more allowance to loose..I only 16Mbps leh... [:(]

Well if radio comms is so ideal, then during Signals Ex, wont be so headache liao :wacko:

If you are going over the fibre, i seriously advise you to lay ethernet cabling throughout your house or use powerplug if laying cables is too much of a hassle.

On 10/25/2011 at 1:04 PM, Baphomet said:

Hmn....ok. you have 30Mbps mah...more allowance to loose..I only 16Mbps leh... [:(]

No worries.. it's the same. How much speed can u lose? Assuming your download speed is at 1.6Mbp/s (theoretical speed ) . Usually it will not reach that download speed.

And by both using Lan or wifi speed should hover around 1.3Mbp/s on good day (depending on traffic condition )

So no much difference. The signal lost is those that max capability.

Meaning assuming the router has specification of up to 150Mbps and by the time the signal reach my room left about 75% it will translate of having 3/4 of 150Mbps = 112.5Mbps . So for my case is more than enough. So it's not the calculation base on your internet service provider speed, it is base on the wifi specification. Unless your internet speed is those 300Mbps or even 100Mbps, perhaps even little drop in wifi signal may be affected. But yours only 16Mbps. So no worries about it.

Edited by Yewheng

On 10/25/2011 at 1:12 PM, Happily1986 said:

Well if radio comms is so ideal, then during Signals Ex, wont be so headache liao :wacko:

If you are going over the fibre, i seriously advise you to lay ethernet cabling throughout your house or use powerplug if laying cables is too much of a hassle.

y need to lay ethernet cabling ar? If i use fibre, I can connect it directly to my computer as its at the location I want mah.. The PC is the main "customer" the rest aka ipad/phones etc..not impt..so slower speed also nvm.. [:p]

On 10/25/2011 at 1:17 PM, Yewheng said:

No worries.. it's the same. How much speed can u lose? Assuming your download speed is at 1.6Mbp/s (theoretical speed ) . Usually it will not reach that download speed.

And by both using Lan or wifi speed should hover around 1.3Mbp/s on good day (depending on traffic condition )

Meaning assuming the router has specification of up to 150Mbps and by the time the signal reach my room left about 75% it will translate of having 3/4 of 150Mbps = 112.5Mbps . So for my case is more than enough. So it's not the calculation base on your internet service provider speed, it is base on the wifi specification. Unless your internet speed is those 300Mbps or even 100Mbps, perhaps even little drop in wifi signal may be affected. But yours only 16Mbps. So no worries about it.

oic!! if thats the case.. i can maintain my current plan and save some money! anyway..

The wireless router will be placed in the living room...the PC will also be in the living room..infact its like ard 4 metres away only..

I will try the wireless router first..see if the speed ok before i decide on fibre. Thanks!

Edited by Baphomet

On 10/25/2011 at 1:24 PM, Baphomet said:

oic!! if thats the case.. i can maintain my current plan and save some money! anyway..I will try the wireless router first..see if the speed ok before i decide on fibre. Thanks!

I am a light internet user. So current speed is fine for me. It all depends on what you want? If you are heavy internet user, than upgrading to fiber optic will be good.

  On 10/25/2011 at 1:17 PM, Yewheng said:

Agreed with your points.

We should not mix LAN throughput with the WAN throughput. Most of the home users are accessing Internet from respective PC, iphone or TV box. The real bottleneck is actually at the Internet bandwidth or WAN download speed. For general household, I think a 300Mbps wireless N router should be sufficient.

Technology is evolving everyday, 300Mbps is not the final speed one can achieve. There will be other more powerful network devices come to the market in short period of time. Just pick up the latest device whenever you need to replace the old equipment.

On 10/25/2011 at 1:02 PM, Baphomet said:

Ok...starhub confirmed can upgrade..but think need to buy new modem...

erm..one month extra 20 bucks...

but get 3 times faster speed..hmn....all my problem solved...although will still get a wireless router just for the ipad, phones and my kid future laptop..

Err... If you sign their fiber optic line, they better give you free modem/wifi router -_-

It's FOC lah :D

On 10/25/2011 at 1:45 PM, Jman888 said:

Err... If you sign their fiber optic line, they better give you free modem/wifi router -_-

still under contract? lol

On 10/25/2011 at 1:48 PM, Mllcg said:

still under contract? lol

As long as you upgrade, they have to provide the right equipment FOC, I think mine was still under contract when I upgrade.

If not free, then dun sign lor, their loss! -_-

Edited by Jman888

On 10/25/2011 at 1:45 PM, Jman888 said:

Darn...that CSO told me need buy....

On 10/25/2011 at 1:21 PM, Baphomet said:

y need to lay ethernet cabling ar? If i use fibre, I can connect it directly to my computer as its at the location I want mah.. The PC is the main "customer" the rest aka ipad/phones etc..not impt..so slower speed also nvm.. [:p]

is your termination point within 15 metres of your door?

On 10/25/2011 at 1:59 PM, Yewheng said:

Yours upgrade under promotion? Like free laptop ?

dun noe..haven really look into it yet..just called to ask if I can upgrade cause currently i still under contract..in fact 2 diff contract..1 for broadband and one for the tv.. will confirm with them again.. just now that guy like dun noe anything one just keep asking me to give contact so that the sales team can contact me..