Tigerwoods Turbocharged October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 This monring I heard the news from MHA that our ISA is to provide something that is lacking in our laws - which will only react to situation and not preempt it. This draws me to the Movie : Minority Report where Tom Cruise goes to arrest Would-be Criminals before they commit them. Comments please. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 for Kiasu / Kiasi gov Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 minority report is good stuff. so where can we find the '3 prophets'? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2077s 1st Gear October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 This monring I heard the news from MHA that our ISA is to provide something that is lacking in our laws - which will only react to situation and not preempt it. This draws me to the Movie : Minority Report where Tom Cruise goes to arrest Would-be Criminals before they commit them. Comments please. You are not even drawing any parallels other than taking one phrase summarized by the news and generalising its relevance with a movie plot. By the way, the ISA act is not to pre-empt anything, it is a blunt tool to use when the existing laws are either bogged with too much red-tape to do something effective in a sufficiently timely manner, or when offenders uses a loophole to get away with their acts. With the ISA act, the offender will have to think twice, because however smart they may be to skirt around common laws, the govt. can technically overide when they utilise the ISA act to round you up nevertheless. If we have a rogue govt, we may have much to worry. If you are an offender, you also have much to worry. But for commoners, we are basically just debating on a hypothetical rights issue. Its effects could possibly be only seen in crisis times when things need to be done immediately. Its kindda like having a master key. The risk of losing control over whom utilises it may be big, but in times of need, you will appreciate its ease of access. In peace times, when political parties could debate openly in parliament to decide the nation's policies, such an act serves nothing more than a legal constitution. But in trying times when uprising or anti-govt. movements threaten to topple a govt., this tool will certainly come in handy for the govt. A double-edged sword slices both ways. Don't handle it well, everyone will get cut. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleknown Clutched October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 You are not even drawing any parallels other than taking one phrase summarized by the news and generalising its relevance with a movie plot. .. A double-edged sword slices both ways. Don't handle it well, everyone will get cut. Wow... Such a balanced viewpoint as good as just a gp essay.. So what is your stand on our ISA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 minority report is good stuff. so where can we find the '3 prophets'? Our version only got one prophet.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2077s 1st Gear October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 Wow... Such a balanced viewpoint as good as just a gp essay.. So what is your stand on our ISA? A blunt chopper can never be as detailed and specific like a little scapel knife. You can't slice away cancer cells with a chopper can you? So it is the law ministry's job to constantly sharpen their chopper and eventually turn it into a scapel knife to deal with the problem. I definitely think the ISA act can be improved and finetuned further. It should aim towards lessening the grip a rogue govt. would have about wielding this chopper, but at the same time, allow an effective govt. to wield it or even display it to deter rogue individuals from inflicting disruptive damages. Given the recent attention to the matter, perhaps it is time to review and finetune some of the guidelines of which the ISA act is based on. I definitely do not think abolishing this act altogether simply to keep up with our "neighbour" serves any purpose. I mean..... why should we follow? We should invent our own version that works. If we were followers, we would never be here today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 A blunt chopper can never be as detailed and specific like a little scapel knife. You can't slice away cancer cells with a chopper can you? So it is the law ministry's job to constantly sharpen their chopper and eventually turn it into a scapel knife to deal with the problem. I definitely think the ISA act can be improved and finetuned further. It should aim towards lessening the grip a rogue govt. would have about wielding this chopper, but at the same time, allow an effective govt. to wield it or even display it to deter rogue individuals from inflicting disruptive damages. Given the recent attention to the matter, perhaps it is time to review and finetune some of the guidelines of which the ISA act is based on. I definitely do not think abolishing this act altogether simply to keep up with our "neighbour" serves any purpose. I mean..... why should we follow? We should invent our own version that works. If we were followers, we would never be here today. yah. isa is useful as long as not abused and any law can be abused anyway. important for isa to be relevant if finetuned and shown there is no abuse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 minority report is good stuff. so where can we find the '3 prophets'? the 3 in the tribunal lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged October 20, 2011 Author Share October 20, 2011 minority report is good stuff. so where can we find the '3 prophets'? Lao Pek Ah Long ga Lao goh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged October 20, 2011 Author Share October 20, 2011 You are not even drawing any parallels other than taking one phrase summarized by the news and generalising its relevance with a movie plot. By the way, the ISA act is not to pre-empt anything, it is a blunt tool to use when the existing laws are either bogged with too much red-tape to do something effective in a sufficiently timely manner, or when offenders uses a loophole to get away with their acts. With the ISA act, the offender will have to think twice, because however smart they may be to skirt around common laws, the govt. can technically overide when they utilise the ISA act to round you up nevertheless. If we have a rogue govt, we may have much to worry. If you are an offender, you also have much to worry. But for commoners, we are basically just debating on a hypothetical rights issue. Its effects could possibly be only seen in crisis times when things need to be done immediately. Its kindda like having a master key. The risk of losing control over whom utilises it may be big, but in times of need, you will appreciate its ease of access. In peace times, when political parties could debate openly in parliament to decide the nation's policies, such an act serves nothing more than a legal constitution. But in trying times when uprising or anti-govt. movements threaten to topple a govt., this tool will certainly come in handy for the govt. A double-edged sword slices both ways. Don't handle it well, everyone will get cut. MHA says that if 1 NSman go internet and engage in Hardcore Jihadist materials and even started to correspond to some Hardcore Terrorist, in the eyes of the law, since he did not commit any crime he cannot be arrested but ISA can do that. Isn't this pre-empt ? or rather to Prevent some that MIGHT happen - like he MAY make Home made Bomb. Though I like the reasoning made by MHA, but its something that you cannot use and detain that person with indefinite periods of time like 30 yrs. This is like comparing it with Minority Report the Movie but more cheem. Because Minority report catches the Criminal just before he commits the crime. ISA arrests the person way before that.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear October 20, 2011 Share October 20, 2011 I think Mas Selamat allowed us to understand what ISA is about. If he is so dangerous, would he be detained in a facility with such slack security? I have seen HDB flats more barricaded than the ISD detention centre... you know, where every single window has locked metal grilles. As it is used today, it is a weapon of intimidation: Don't even *think* about doing certain things. We will lock you up just for "thinking" about it. What things? It can range from killing people (JI) to irritating the government by fighting for rights for foreign workers (Marxist Conspiracy). And worse still, what if in a freak election, a bad government seizes power with only 35% of the vote, invokes the ISA, locks up all the opposition MPs and any other potential candidate, immediately announce a snap poll so they can just win every single seat by walkover? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged October 20, 2011 Author Share October 20, 2011 I think Mas Selamat allowed us to understand what ISA is about. If he is so dangerous, would he be detained in a facility with such slack security? I have seen HDB flats more barricaded than the ISD detention centre... you know, where every single window has locked metal grilles. As it is used today, it is a weapon of intimidation: Don't even *think* about doing certain things. We will lock you up just for "thinking" about it. What things? It can range from killing people (JI) to irritating the government by fighting for rights for foreign workers (Marxist Conspiracy). And worse still, what if in a freak election, a bad government seizes power with only 35% of the vote, invokes the ISA, locks up all the opposition MPs and any other potential candidate, immediately announce a snap poll so they can just win every single seat by walkover? Actually MSK should be charge in court instead of detention. He has a nice portfolio to go prison till old man. Dono why they put him under ISD. To squeeze Info from him ? Obviously they have little success... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...