Passport got only 5 month validity can go malaysia?

Eric76

hi all, as above wanna go visit a friend in JB this weekend but found out forgot to renew passport, now only 5 month left, a lot country need min 6 month validity, any issue for JB maybe not so strict? urgent and many tks

You may be aware that your passport would had expired, should you be delayed/detained for a 6 months penalty. That makes you an illegal immigrant for longer jail term. Do be advised not to take such risk.

Looks like you need to have minimum 6 months even though it is not very clear in the following link. I never travelled to Malaysia with less than 6 months as most of the countries have this rule, I try to get new one before 6 months. If it is urgent, just call Malaysian high commission!

http://www.kln.gov.my/web/sgp_singapore/re...ement_foreigner

If you are frequent traveller to MY then I think still ok.

Before my last PP renewal I still go in with less than 3 months validity...SG side kept reminding but I only renew when left 1 month as that time wana go Taiwan...JB side no problem going in. Now with MACs even better...just flash and go! [laugh]

Answer : Definately NO !! NO !!

The custom can retain you overnight in Pontain (Lots of bugs and quite unhygenic place & need to do squatting anf filming by them unless you don't mind expose yourself naked in front of them as per reported in Papers) and charge you in court as 06 (Six) months' validity was an International requirmenets !!

Edited by Jefkking

5 months?????

I ever go Jbee with passport left about 5 days. [laugh]

Serious i still have the expired passport with me. [nod]

Maybe they see my passport so many Malaysian immigration stamps so dont bother.

I did go in regularly once a week during that 2-3 years period.

Edited by Hiphiphoray

Same case happen to wife, first you need an extension for your PP. During returning leg, Singapore custom will ask you go to a building to validate your particulars. So many people staring as your car been escorted there.... waiting time depends on crowd... we waited for an hour plus [bigcry]

u mean sg custom don't allow ur wife to enter? how can tt happen na, 6 month are for country u want to enter, but sg is ur home also can not meh? expiring is not expired...

anyway called my friend and seems ok to go as he did before, tk all for the info

i think just follow the 6 months international rule better la... sooner or later you still need to renew right....just renew earlier and save all trouble.... if you get caught and if they closed one eye then its a privilege extended to you they dont owe you. if they kuai-lan and play by the book you also lanlan....dont come back KPKB can leow.

To play safe, just ensure your passport has at least 6 months validity. So that the custom officer cannot find fault with you.

Worked in ICA years back, We will allow you to pass singapore side, but will advise you that that it depends on Malaysia side whether they allow or make you U-turn. It depends solely on the officer working at that particular shift. If KL type, good luck. But dun KPKB when they refuse entry, like time, petrol and money. IT"S YOUR PROBLEM. [cool]

Inagine if you are taking a plane, and fly from sg to KL and when reached KL the custom officer refuse your entry, then you waste money and time flying there liao! :D

at least 6 mth min...

but for malaysia, just get reay RM20 or best RM50... they wll let you pass... for both in & out... even left few day or exp passport.

Wordlwide requirement 06 months validity bro.

Dun even try to bribe the guyz up north - may land you in deeper sxxt [rifle]

Bro,

Go to Immgration office, get a 1 time temporary visit permit for $20, while you renew your passport. That will ensure you get in and out of Malaysia without any problems. Can collect the permit on the spot.