Whats Wrong With Proton Cars?

Satria_neo

if u are an all out hardcore track junkie, den the normal version is the better option, its too long for me to explain, but if u can source on youtube what Tengku Djan explained on the mod limits on both versions, u will understand! even he, recommends the first verson for track-oriented mods.

OIC. Ok, in that case I will keep my engine then.

i dunno how goo/bad is proton... many Malaysian friend complained abt proton's quality, but yet, I can see 20yrs old + proton saga speeding on the NSHW at 150km/hr... i

When i ask these malaysian friends, why do they think that proton is so lousy... they quoted me many incident and example... how the power window failed them within 1 yrs time, how the aircon kaput in 2 yrs time... how the engine sounds after 4 yrs time... and many more.

i ask them... so they think Japs/korean/conti rides doesnt have all the problems they mentioned? My vios MAF sensor kaput in 2 weeks time, my elantra power window failed on the 5th yr... my father altis's rear absorber gone on the 2nd yr... my friend Avante alternator stop working by 2nd yr.. my customer Benz E-power steering gave her problem on the 2nd yr.. etc...

So? I always believe that cars breakdown and parts get worn from time to time... whats most important is, availability of the parts and someone know how to fix them and cost of maintainance/repair is affordable... If im in malaysia, Proton is confirm my choice....

I agreed that as car ages, there will be lots of minor problems.

I do have minor problems with my neo as well. The power windows is not working properly. Up direction does not work. Its most likely a wiring problem but I am too lazy to fix it (since its not affecting me). Then the radio shuts off itself as well after sometime. I hardly listen to radio so it again does not affect me. If I am allowed to remove the radio (someone will make tons of noise if I do) I would have rip out the radio and all speakers long ago. Then replace the rear seats with just light weight 2 bucket seats....lol.....

Seriously, I am just wondering why so many people are so skeptical about Proton cars? Whats so bad about them?

Cause their cars are in fact quite popular in places like Philippines where people use them for rally races. The cars have no problem competing with the likes of Evo and WRX in their home rallies.

Cusco is using Satria Neo to race in Japan Its using stock engine with only upgraded suspension, roll cage and reinforced chassis (extra welding).

Then the S2000 Satria has won several races in APRC (beating more power Evo and WRX) and doing pretty decent in IRC as well (not top but can achieve top 20 easily competing with even conti makes).

Yes, I know its bad in terms of NVH. Its assembly is not fastastic as well (joints do not align properly etc). Despite all these, it performs pretty well for a non-Conti or Jap car.

I don't have any taste for Proton cars but like the Satria Neo alot about knowing about Cusco using them in rally and their S2000. I like it very much after that and bought one.

No doubt its lacking in terms of the latest technology. But then, this also makes it very reliable because as long as I can start the car, it will move. Pretty much like cars of the 90s.

I dare to say that the Neo beats many of the Jap cars like Vios (maybe cannot beat the black satki Vios), Altis in terms of handling and even acceleration any time of the day.

Its a value for money issue. When I bought my Demio, the Neo was also under consideration. To be exact it was the Demio vs Neo vs Sirion. I liked the first two the best, but the Sirion was so much cheaper (and it looks like Yoshi [:p] ) that it was under serious consideration.

In the end I got the Demio over the Neo for the following reasons:

1) The materials used as well as fit and finish were much better

2) The NVH was much better

3) It drove better

4) I preferred the Demio's shade of orange

For 3 I had best clarify. I didn't like its powerband and it was compounded by its tall gear ratios. Thats why although the 1.5 neo has a marginally higher power to weight ratio in contrast to my 1.3 Demio, it takes over 13.5 seconds for the century sprint while my Demio does it almost 2 secs faster. If it was priced close to the Sirion, I may have been able to overlook the said reasons and gotten it. Unfortunately it was the same price.

The Neo is a great car on long open roads (esp the smooth quite sections of the NSH) where it can attain higher speeds and rev to its hearts content (BTW isn't its top speed 185kmh? How did you get up to 200?). However considering that I don't normally go over 140kmh on the NSH (and the Demio is planted with no steering shake and no floatiness at 160kmh), getting up to city speeds from a standstill is more effortless in the Demio, the better NVH on our crap SG expressway roads in the Demio, and the nicer to touch materials in the Demio, it didn't make any sense to get the Neo just for its higher attainable top speed. If I was buying used where the Neo is much cheaper, then it would be a different ballgame.

I agreed that as car ages, there will be lots of minor problems.

I do have minor problems with my neo as well. The power windows is not working properly. Up direction does not work. Its most likely a wiring problem but I am too lazy to fix it (since its not affecting me). Then the radio shuts off itself as well after sometime. I hardly listen to radio so it again does not affect me. If I am allowed to remove the radio (someone will make tons of noise if I do) I would have rip out the radio and all speakers long ago. Then replace the rear seats with just light weight 2 bucket seats....lol.....

I guess not only proton cars, any cars also might have such problems, like power windows not working or even reverse sensor spoilt etc.

cause it's our neighbour made?

a love hate affair, yes.. satria is neat but for that kind of tag for a neighbour made.

many would go for others, just top a little.

myself also drive a proton..

i would say it's a nice car, decent FC and ride. the only downside is the perception, too much plastic, lousy design.

quite cheap to maintain if you know how.

mine runs on a renault engine

sometime when people ask about my car.. i will softly voice out and say it's a proton made..

it's just the perception lah..

i used to drive that too, drove it for slightly more than 5yrs, and it serves me well, if not becos of family size got bigger, i would not have trade it away. :)

just slap some R3 parts (muffler/spring/strut), it was such fun to drive it.

OK, if you compare ride comfort and even build quality, I agreed Korean cars are better. No doubt. But in terms of handling I don't think so.

Cause I tested the Forte and Avante before. Seriously, they are not engaging at all. Its just like a Pt A to B car, thats all.

Also tried Sunny moving ~170KM/H up NSHW, handling is very poor. Car feels like floating. Cannot feel the road at all.

Then my Neo blast at ~200KM/H no problems. It just hugs the road and can feel literally every bump. Its sure not that comfortable but it gives great assurance and no problem with steering.

are you sure you are stating the fact?

i dont have any doubt on proton car but i have doubt on the handling part.

to me, BB proton car is the same like BB korean and BB japanese cars. but to say till the car like some sort of sport car handling is really untrue to me.

when you are all accustomed to your car handling, you will have the numb feeling of floating of the car at high speed.

many many year ago, i drove mazda 323 and do cornering like no tomorrow and think it is a very great car with superb handling. i drove up to 160km/h in NSH as well and dont feel anything.

when i changed to E200 for quite some times, i drove again the 323, i then feel unsecure and the car give me a floating feeling when drove up to even 140km/h.

you gonna to drive a much better car to give a more objective opinion for this case.

I guess not only proton cars, any cars also might have such problems, like power windows not working or even reverse sensor spoilt etc.

every cars also got. my impression is that can get a cheaper parts from up north so it make sense for maintenance cost. but i believe it is one of the easy target for car theft there.

when you are all accustomed to your car handling, you will have the numb feeling of floating of the car at high speed.

many many year ago, i drove mazda 323 and do cornering like no tomorrow and think it is a very great car with superb handling. i drove up to 160km/h in NSH as well and dont feel anything.

when i changed to E200 for quite some times, i drove again the 323, i then feel unsecure and the car give me a floating feeling when drove up to even 140km/h.

you gonna to drive a much better car to give a more objective opinion for this case.

yup that is true, but i have gone otherwise, first car was an eg6 with j's suspension, handling was superb! current drive is a Neo with tein superstreet suspension and it is great too, power lacking no doubt but where i would attack a sharp corner at 60-70kn/h in my eg6, i would be able to do so at 80-90km/h with my Neo with greater confidence.

Its a value for money issue. When I bought my Demio, the Neo was also under consideration. To be exact it was the Demio vs Neo vs Sirion. I liked the first two the best, but the Sirion was so much cheaper (and it looks like Yoshi [:p] ) that it was under serious consideration.

In the end I got the Demio over the Neo for the following reasons:

1) The materials used as well as fit and finish were much better

2) The NVH was much better

3) It drove better

4) I preferred the Demio's shade of orange

For 3 I had best clarify. I didn't like its powerband and it was compounded by its tall gear ratios. Thats why although the 1.5 neo has a marginally higher power to weight ratio in contrast to my 1.3 Demio, it takes over 13.5 seconds for the century sprint while my Demio does it almost 2 secs faster. If it was priced close to the Sirion, I may have been able to overlook the said reasons and gotten it. Unfortunately it was the same price.

The Neo is a great car on long open roads (esp the smooth quite sections of the NSH) where it can attain higher speeds and rev to its hearts content (BTW isn't its top speed 185kmh? How did you get up to 200?). However considering that I don't normally go over 140kmh on the NSH (and the Demio is planted with no steering shake and no floatiness at 160kmh), getting up to city speeds from a standstill is more effortless in the Demio, the better NVH on our crap SG expressway roads in the Demio, and the nicer to touch materials in the Demio, it didn't make any sense to get the Neo just for its higher attainable top speed. If I was buying used where the Neo is much cheaper, then it would be a different ballgame.

maybe tuned engine bah? i had exteme mods on my NEO back in 2009, completely LTA unfriendly, with Haltech standalone, managed to hit 220km/h at 6.5 rpm gear 5 although once the needle hits 220km/h i slowed down due to my heart pumping as fast as the pistons in my block!

i like proton cars. I like satria neo in particular. but if i were to pay with my own money i'd rather get jap cars coz of better resale. It's all about value for money.

Not everyone needs a car that handles well. Some put comfort and build quality as the priority. I am one of those. Most people in Singapore just want a pt A to B car which is comfortable and well built. Just ask around. Many people who aren't car fanatics think that handling is just how easily you can turn the steering wheel. lol.

I hardly go to m'sia and even if I go there max I go is 180-190km/h which I hardly ever do also anyway. Anything below that my korean car can handle it without any problems at all.

Anyway it all boils down to what you want. Like why get a BMW M3 sedan instead of a 7 series where the 7 series can even be cheaper. Both are sedans. If everybody just choose based on handling and speed then no one will ever get the 7 series already.

A real driver forcus on brakes & handling.. comfort for zar bor drivers only...

u juz wan point A to point B.. u r sure a boring man...

No surprise u will not go NSH.. juz stay inside the cage dun come out.. earth is too dangerous for u..

Hmm, that I do agreed. I am just one of those who prefers performance above anything else.

Actually, build quality matters to me quite alot as well. However, its just in a different sense. I am particular about welding, chassis metal reinforcement etc (all these which affects durability and handling). Not particular about cosmetic ones though.

I have face chassis cracking on the BMW E36 back then (its a bloody common problem with rear subframe mount cracking....sucks).

At least I don't think I will face that with the neo. Welding looks good.

Haha! Same! Comfort & luxury can go out the window for all I care! Used to own a Proton Waja, loved it for it's purposeful handling, steering & gearshift were both wonderfully weighted and positive to the touch. The old Satria Gti was abit of a legend in these parts, while the neo has good looks to boot, and from what I understand here, great handling characteristics as well. For what it's worth, I think they make excellent cars...

I guess its more towards labeling it as an inferior goods, cos its from across the Causeway! Cos all these while, their cars are like copycats to established make like Mitsubitshi. Only recent Proton model like Exora, WIRA, latest Saga are more self-designed, and using their own made CamPro engine, which a few Malaysian friends told me its very reliable.

I once owned a 7th year old Saga (1st generation model). It had starting problems (sometimes not due to the battery), power window break-down, water leaking at boot, and once it had smoke coming out of the engine while queuing at JB Customs! But its engine was superb! Acceleration was great, and engine smooth. That was the only good part of it. Finally scrapped it in 2000. After that car, I too had an impression that Proton cars are good for their engines ONLY, and nothing else.

I guess its more towards labeling it as an inferior goods, cos its from across the Causeway! Cos all these while, their cars are like copycats to established make like Mitsubitshi. Only recent Proton model like Exora, WIRA, latest Saga are more self-designed, and using their own made CamPro engine, which a few Malaysian friends told me its very reliable.

I once owned a 7th year old Saga (1st generation model). It had starting problems (sometimes not due to the battery), power window break-down, water leaking at boot, and once it had smoke coming out of the engine while queuing at JB Customs! But its engine was superb! Acceleration was great, and engine smooth. That was the only good part of it. Finally scrapped it in 2000. After that car, I too had an impression that Proton cars are good for their engines ONLY, and nothing else.

LOL!! The wira is a copy of the mitsubishi lancer. Some of the engines in the protons are from mitsubishi....

A real driver forcus on brakes & handling.. comfort for zar bor drivers only...

u juz wan point A to point B.. u r sure a boring man...

No surprise u will not go NSH.. juz stay inside the cage dun come out.. earth is too dangerous for u..

not true leh...even girls are into it nowadays...they are drifting, drag racing and endurance racing nowadays!knew one chi girl from KL that participates in the SNF every year in her pink integra, so I believe girls are doing their best to catch up with the guys now!

[thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup]