Stomp:Parking Attendant Issues Fine With Owner Beside

Vulcann

From Stomp:

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...ssues_fine.html

Parking attendant issues fine -- when owner is standing right beside car

parking_attendant_issues_fine-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Lynn was shocked when a parking attendant issued her a fine as she was standing right beside her car chatting with a friend.

She says:

"I was standing with my car the entire time while this attendant insisted on ticketing my car.

"She also took pictures of my car and me, which I don't think is right so I returned the favour by taking her picture .

"The two attendants walked off without giving me the ticket they supposedly issued. They returned only 5 to 10 minutes later to hand me the ticket.

"Are these people on commission? If so, that gives them more incentive to abuse their power, even to the point of issuing tickets while car owners are standing next to their car chatting with a friend.

"A warning to all car owners that they have to put coupons on their car even if they are standing next to their cars waiting for 5 minutes."

I always thought if you are inside the car, even if in a parking lot, the attendants will not issue summon. Now this case is standing beside the car, so dunno what is the usual practice. But agree that they are definitely on commission after the issuing of summons was outsourced.

come on lah ... the parking attendants already show up right beside you already and you still yayah papaya remain in the spot where you are not supposed to park ... or still behave like the attendant is invisible ... even i wud be pissed !!

one word : RESPECT

Hmm... I thought if you were inside the car, even with engine off, it's considered waiting, not parking. Hence they cannot issue fine, because there is no category of offence to park the fine under.

I know, because once in MSCP, I was napping in the car, waiting... parking attendant came by, I woke up, but the attendant left my car alone and went to check on others.

But in this particular case, the driver is outside the car, so can be considered parking [laugh]

Definition of parking per Road Traffic Act:

"park" means to bring a motor vehicle or a trailer to a stationary position and cause it to wait for any purpose other than that of immediately taking up or setting down persons, goods or luggage;

Source: http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_version/cgi...actno=REVED-276

As long as vehicle is stationary, it is considered parked, regardless of whether you are inside or outside the car.

Serve her right...at least act abit lah and tell the attendant nicely...usually they will not issue..I always do that...once I went to ATM draw money and parked my car next to the bank......the attendant was there and I just tell him I will draw money and leave immediately...he said no problem and I thank him before I drove off.....

by right cannot fine la.

that time i in CBD coupon carpark while waiting then i sleep in the car. also never kena fine. the attendant just knock my window ask me if im ok.

Guys , its not a parking lot. she tried to mislead and confuse.

Nothing of a parking lot being mentioned.

She deserved the ticket.

Illegal parking, waiting along main road

Attendant came also didn't drive away.

As for MSCP car park, it's a different issue, as it do not cause inconvenience or danger to other road users or flow of traffic.

Edited by 5936

I got a feeling this stomper did not say the full story. For all you know, she might be parking along the zig zah yellow lines, and still ya-ya waiting there, thinking the attendant will not book her. [laugh]

just like the woman who wrote in to Today to complain about the ICA officer who held her back for 90 mins - due she took her son's passport instead of her own accidentally and tried to leave SG using it !! then she also cited the ICA officers were rude.

just like this parking offender ... already wrong already still want to argue and say other ppl no good !!??

On 10/11/2011 at 2:18 PM, Ysc3 said:

just like the woman who wrote in to Today to complain about the ICA officer who held her back for 90 mins - due she took her son's passport instead of her own accidentally and tried to leave SG using it !! then she also cited the ICA officers were rude.

just like this parking offender ... already wrong already still want to argue and say other ppl no good !!??

its the typical sinkie trait to accuse others of wrongdoing even if the fault lies in ownself..and not to apologize when done wrong..and never to thank people for service rendered

i was waiting for a friend in my car and was approach by a parking warden.

Warden -> "Sir, pls put your parking coupon."

I was like -> "HUH? but i am waiting in the car. "

Warden -> "Sir, you are in a car park lot. Pls put ur coupon, OR I HAVE TO SUMMON YOU."

LL tear 50cent coupon. come to think of it, he is right. I was parking in a lot.

[laugh] obviously, she didn't know what she did was wrong... so, if to go by her guideline, I 'place' my car on a double yellow line, standing beside my car chitchat with minah, tp also cannot summon me hor... [laugh]

Ridiculous. Park means park. U inside, outside, beside, on top or underneath the car...it is still parked. N even when she saw the attendant n still refuse to move, of cos will kena. Stupid.

For those whoe think u can sit inside, relax n wait with the engine running, not only atrendant can fine u. Even nea also can fine u.