I don't understand Mandarin

Windwaver

On 10/14/2011 at 8:34 AM, KARternew said:

true, true..... these are our dialect's equivalent to OMG, etc etc.... :D :D

but fortunately the really young generation (those in their pri school now) probably will not have exposure to such terms and therefore wont use them, i hope............ the english equivalents are very few, am I right? . :D what would an angmoh say for the same effects, except the F & S words? they hardly use names of private organs....

You'll be surprised, I recently saw a group kids in school uniform, probably Pri 2 or 3 at most, playing near my estate and one of them told the other "don't be such a CB"! Really don't know what to say. I thought learning the meaning of such words at Pri 6 to Sec 1 during my time was bad enough [laugh]

On 10/14/2011 at 9:00 AM, Windwaver said:

Don't name your son Ken if your surname is Tan, sounds like potato [laugh]

Do you know a lot of our surnames are taken after dynasties and states of ancient China? ^_^ My ancestors used to be court officials [laugh]

maybe my ancestor was an executer... :o

On 10/14/2011 at 1:05 PM, Bicolor said:

You'll be surprised, I recently saw a group kids in school uniform, probably Pri 2 or 3 at most, playing near my estate and one of them told the other "don't be such a CB"! Really don't know what to say. I thought learning the meaning of such words at Pri 6 to Sec 1 during my time was bad enough [laugh]

since these p2/3 kids are unlikely to have seen any real organs, they may have thought it was a rare tropical fruit they are naming :o or they like chicken pies??

seriously, this shows nowadays children are fast learners, for the wrong thing unfortunately

On 10/14/2011 at 4:24 AM, Requiemdk said:

You seem to know a lot about me don't you. [rolleyes]

Now I believe your Chinese isn't even up to scratch either. Still want to continue with this? PM me your QQ number then. I hope you know what that is.

Told you there is no cover at macritchie. No fence at Yishun overhead bridge. If you have no guts, try trafficking. Still got time to QQ?

Siao!

On 10/14/2011 at 9:13 AM, Scion said:

it's not really fair in the comparison... every nation has their rise and decline

to be precise, the land of America belonged to the American Indians, but the colonial Europeans almost drove them to extinction.. estimated 10% left

last time i read before... in the history of human civilisation, not a single piece of land in this world (not including Antarctica) was not invaded/ruled by foreign forces

Except tiny Bhuttan? the country whose rulers are trying to increase its population's happiness :D

On 10/14/2011 at 9:10 AM, Tigerwoods said:

Here is the Ang Mo Translation to the effect :

Farked Up Chinaman, he farking cut into my Q, didn't he saw my Farking Awesome Tattoos from Red Hill ? Boy was he Farked when I Yank his Farking hair and push hime outta the Farking Q !

still, angmoh quite clueless and lack of creativity when it comes to swear words.... usually they just keep repeating the F word.... chinese are crude to the core: parents, private parts, etc etc all become highly mentionable.... :blink:

On 10/14/2011 at 2:18 PM, KARTer said:

Except tiny Bhuttan? the country whose rulers are trying to increase its population's happiness :D

Do they accept immigrants? [laugh]

On 10/13/2011 at 8:03 AM, Scion said:

there's a research which said if Han Chinese refers to the descendants of Han Dynasty, there will be no pure Han Chinese living in the world today

because of the numerous genocides of Han Chinese by the nomadic tribes (especially the chaotic periods after Tang Dynasty and during Yuan Dynasty) and the inter-marriage between Han Chinese and the minorities

the 2 chaotic periods mentioned above almost saw the extermination of Han Chinese..

the historical books described as high as 80% of the population in "central plains" were killed, and large hectares of lands were empty without a single soul

Don't think so. The Han chinese is still the origin and biggest ethnic groups still exist in China. It still makes up the majority in China and Taiwan and even Singapore.

Edited by Renegade777

Well, you missed the point. The "Han Chinese" of today is not necessarily the descendants of "Han Dynasty". Over the years, foreigners have been assimilated into the "Han" race.

On 10/15/2011 at 7:12 AM, Renegade777 said:

Don't think so. The Han chinese is still the origin and biggest ethnic groups still exist in China. It still makes up the majority in China and Taiwan and even Singapore.

You take a random group of PRC from Guangzhou, Chengdu, Xian, Beijing and Harbin, put them all side by side in groups, you can tell that the different groups hail from different regions.

"Han Chinese" was only a political tool used by the emperor to unite the majority of the inhabitants of China.

For example, if you did a genetic study of Han people who originated from southern China, they have more in common with Southeast Asians than with people from Xian or Beijing. Han people from the central coastal part of China (Suzhou, Jiangsu, Shanghai region) have more in common with the Japanese, Koreans and native Taiwanese. And lots more.

There is a lot of information on Chinese genes on the internet, go google.

On 10/14/2011 at 1:05 PM, Bicolor said:

back in 2001 when my younger bro was in k1 he also know how to use the word cb liao he go scold teacher cb face, then when he get too guai lan ppl scold him he will say em guai lan buay tua han means ----> ( not stuck out cannot grow up )

You are correct.

Over 90% of China population is Han, not counting the overseas Chinese.

However, there is no such thing as ethnically "pure" Han Chinese considering the long history of China and its interactions with countless other communities from surrounding countries over 5 Millenniums of recorded history.

We have Persians, Arabs, Mongolians, Manchurians, Russians... etc etc.

All in all, the identity of "Han Chinese" as an ethnic group is very broad.

Even researchers had cannot agreed what constitute a "pure" Han Chinese!

That inclusiveness and influence of Chinese as a civilization rather than as a single-race group might explain why Han is the largest "ethnic group" in the world population today.

Today, the fact exist that there is a common written language has help keep the Chinese civilisation intact and over-ride those diverse elements like religions, ideologies or skin colour that we often read about in History books.

Source:

http://en.epochtimes.com/news/8-5-12/70583.html - 19% of world population.

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/18902.htm - US data of 91.5% Han Chinese in China.

Yeah, 5000 years of history, longer and older than most western civilizations. How many Chinese in Singapore actually knows that Chinese were the first for many inventions ^_^

On 10/15/2011 at 3:54 PM, Windwaver said:

Yeah, 5000 years of history, longer and older than most western civilizations. How many Chinese in Singapore actually knows that Chinese were the first for many inventions ^_^

They have surpass us in many ways. Those blatanly criticising Chinese probably hasn't met the more refined lots. I have met and interact with different catergories, It's just like heaven and hell. They, I mean China and their ppl do deserve some kind of respect. It is same like us, Singaporean, isn't it? We gotta watch what we say, be more gracious. Things we need to look at both sides, we have a lot to learn from them. Except English.

read this interesting article: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/...n-soldiers.html

they speak perfect mandarin, and have pure Chinese surnames and names... but they look like ang mohs with yellow hairs and green eyes...

they may be the descendants of a Roman legion 2000+ years ago...

however, no historic records show that Han Dynasty had any contacts with the Roman Empire during that era

on the other hand, the Huns who were defeated by Han Dynasty, migrated to the West and almost destroyed the Roman Empire

interesting...