Cindytan 3rd Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:50 AM, KARternew said: this 'speechless ending' song was in the mid 80s iirc..... very old but still sounds good today!! when the song is there my mum is still only at my current age now ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARternew Neutral Newbie October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:43 AM, Jpcc said: Rule of law, I think it originates from Roman civilisation, which was inspired by Plato's The republic. Confucious philosophy for the ruling elite, that can be a bit tricky. It depends on whether you reference from the source, i.e. Spring and autumn period. Or from Han emperor, Liu Che's reign. Or the more rigid , i would say more twisted interpretation, Neo-Confucianism, especially the two Cheng. Confucianism has been used as a tool by ruling elites to advance their self interests time and again, so it is quite difficult to discuss it as it can be presented/packaged with different perspectives. "仁", in the book of analects, has been mentioned (it has been said) ~150 times. Most of the time with a different reason. As such the definition is not really that separate and distinct. One of the better Confucianism communicator of recent years, 于丹, even her lectures had been criticised as being offering a wrong interpretation. I think partly it is due to the fuzzy thinking model of Chinese and the language itself. In computing language, in the design of language compiler, there is a topic on grammar. (Noam Chomsky is the undisputed leader here). Natural language wise, Greek is consider a tightly coupled grammar, i.e. very precise, while Chinese is considered a loosely coupled one. English is somewhere in between. Just my 2 cents. This is what my friend who studied Greek language told me before.... 'Fortunately' most of us dont need to study it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:48 AM, KARternew said: i am puzzled: why big countries like the US can stay united, whereas china couldnt until the communist took charge? US has their fair share of history in civil war, expansion to the west and makan mexico's lands... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cindytan 3rd Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:51 AM, KARternew said: or new floor, new ground!! .......... but as a english name it sounds nice nah they all call me xi di ban wash floor wash floor! then when got guild meeting they will say xi di ban de lai liao means the wash floor de come liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARternew Neutral Newbie October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:55 AM, Cindytan said: when the song is there my mum is still only at my current age now hehe, i was working for a few years already...... that time a bit older than you now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARternew Neutral Newbie October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:55 AM, Scion said: US has their fair share of history in civil war, expansion to the west and makan mexico's lands... they fought north vs south, over slavery mainly?? ..... by the time they were united, what's going on in china (19th century), still ruled by outsiders and then by the westerners? few years ago i compiled a chart comparing the development of major countries/cultures over the past 20 decades, must go dig it up again to take a look. Being a science students, i lost touch with history after sec2.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged October 14, 2011 Author Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:51 AM, KARternew said: or new floor, new ground!! .......... but as a english name it sounds nice Don't name your son Ken if your surname is Tan, sounds like potato Do you know a lot of our surnames are taken after dynasties and states of ancient China? My ancestors used to be court officials Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cindytan 3rd Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:56 AM, KARternew said: hehe, i was working for a few years already...... that time a bit older than you now if supposingly the songs was out in the mid 80 i take it as 1985 my mum is only 20? 6 years later 1991 i was born which made my mum 26 when i was born Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cindytan 3rd Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 9:00 AM, Windwaver said: Don't name your son Ken if your surname is Tan, sounds like potato Do you know a lot of our surnames are taken after dynasties and states of ancient China? My ancestors used to be court officials THIS IS what i heard don't name your daughter name monica if you have the sir name cheng if not it will be monica cheng touch your backside in hokkien Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 9:00 AM, Cindytan said: if supposingly the songs was out in the mid 80 i take it as 1985 my mum is only 20? 6 years later 1991 i was born which made my mum 26 when i was born ok what. 26 for woman to get married is normal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 9:02 AM, Cindytan said: THIS IS what i heard don't name your daughter name monica if you have the sir name cheng if not it will be monica cheng touch your backside in hokkien literally, mo-ni-ca-cheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cindytan 3rd Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 9:03 AM, Mllcg said: ok what. 26 for woman to get married is normal ok la married 24 25 pregnant 26 me born Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 8:34 AM, KARternew said: true, true..... these are our dialect's equivalent to OMG, etc etc.... :D but fortunately the really young generation (those in their pri school now) probably will not have exposure to such terms and therefore wont use them, i hope............ the english equivalents are very few, am I right? . what would an angmoh say for the same effects, except the F & S words? they hardly use names of private organs.... Here is the Ang Mo Translation to the effect : Farked Up Chinaman, he farking cut into my Q, didn't he saw my Farking Awesome Tattoos from Red Hill ? Boy was he Farked when I Yank his Farking hair and push hime outta the Farking Q ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 9:00 AM, KARternew said: they fought north vs south, over slavery mainly?? ..... by the time they were united, what's going on in china (19th century), still ruled by outsiders and then by the westerners? few years ago i compiled a chart comparing the development of major countries/cultures over the past 20 decades, must go dig it up again to take a look. Being a science students, i lost touch with history after sec2.......... it's not really fair in the comparison... every nation has their rise and decline to be precise, the land of America belonged to the American Indians, but the colonial Europeans almost drove them to extinction.. estimated 10% left last time i read before... in the history of human civilisation, not a single piece of land in this world (not including Antarctica) was not invaded/ruled by foreign forces Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 9:00 AM, Windwaver said: Don't name your son Ken if your surname is Tan, sounds like potato Do you know a lot of our surnames are taken after dynasties and states of ancient China? My ancestors used to be court officials Never Brand your Product as SUPER WHITE. When translate to Chinese no one will buy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged October 14, 2011 Author Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 9:10 AM, Tigerwoods said: Here is the Ang Mo Translation to the effect : Farked Up Chinaman, he farking cut into my Q, didn't he saw my Farking Awesome Tattoos from Red Hill ? Boy was he Farked when I Yank his Farking hair and push hime outta the Farking Q ! WTF, good one man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cindytan 3rd Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 9:32 AM, Windwaver said: WTF, good one man the ang mo wun describe china man as china man they would probably call them " those fking ailen from china" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 On 10/14/2011 at 7:28 AM, Acieed said: [thumbsup] You are a good translator. Below is the full reproduction of the letter that the Hokkien revolutionist wrote to his Hokkien wife in April of 1911, 3 days before he sacrificed his life to be executed by the Qing government. It is believed that the letter is better recited in Hokkien Hock Chew dialect. Another interesting part of this history, was that he supposedly spoke English to the Qing officials in Guangzhou during the trial for his "crimes", because he could not speak the Cantonese dialect that interrogators were using. His interrogator left these words for him before the order of execution: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...