OpenNet complain, how?

Versatile

Simple, OpenNet called, fixed appointment and never turn up. OpenNet even send SMS notification for reminder.

Called up customer service and was told that due to system error, contractor not coming. WTF excuse is that?

Waste my bloody saturday at home waiting for them and made me reschedule all my appointments.

How to complain? Any emails or feedback channels i can go about? Best if got operation head email.

[thumbsdown]

Edited by Versatile

i also want to complain ST for a nearly 1 week old msg to arrive last night (sms sent on 2/oct from me to wife......).. that's how screw up with our telco nowadays.... how and who to complain to huh??...... [laugh]

Proper channel is through their customer service. Collate your exchange of email with them as proof that you have exhausted all reasonable means of mediation with ST. Be mindful that you have to escalate to ST's own Customer Service (those people you speak to on 1688 are usually outsourced contractors). Speak to a floor manager if you have to.

THEN when it comes to nothing, go ahead and escalate to IDA. YOu should be able to find the relevant email contacts in IDA's website.

I have ever corresponded with IDA with regards to an errant mofo neighbour who was being a PITA by jacking up his access point power output so high, it clearly transgressed even the FCC radio output limit. The last i heard the sorry fella was slapped with a hefty fine. [cool]

Simple, OpenNet called, fixed appointment and never turn up. OpenNet even send SMS notification for reminder.

Called up customer service and was told that due to system error, contractor not coming. WTF excuse is that?

Waste my bloody saturday at home waiting for them and made me reschedule all my appointments.

How to complain? Any emails or feedback channels i can go about? Best if got operation head email.

[thumbsdown]

IDA contracted them so i think best bet should be OpenNet QSM cc to IDA QSM

Proper channel is through their customer service. Collate your exchange of email with them as proof that you have exhausted all reasonable means of mediation with ST. Be mindful that you have to escalate to ST's own Customer Service (those people you speak to on 1688 are usually outsourced contractors). Speak to a floor manager if you have to.

THEN when it comes to nothing, go ahead and escalate to IDA. YOu should be able to find the relevant email contacts in IDA's website.

I have ever corresponded with IDA with regards to an errant mofo neighbour who was being a PITA by jacking up his access point power output so high, it clearly transgressed even the FCC radio output limit. The last i heard the sorry fella was slapped with a hefty fine. [cool]

jack what access point?

What he meant was to increase the transmission output power, so in effective, the signal is stronger and can reach further. Down point is the other access points in the nearby areas will suffer disconnections or poor data transfer rates, esp if they are on the same channel. Open source firmware such as DD-WRT or Tomato allows you to tweat these power settings. But prepare for ur access point/router heating up n slightly higher power bills.

And also illegal just to underscore the point iterated earlier on.

Not too sure how legal or illegal that is.

IIRC, the typical default is around 45mW, while 3rd party firmwares can boost them up to 120mW.

2.4GHz is a typically unregulated public radio frequency as a number of wireless applications besides WiFi. Our ERP/IU communications is also on the 2.4GHz, cordless phones as well as microwave ovens.

On the Wifi side, I believe different manufacturers set the radio power at different power settings, hence we always see 1 wiress router/access point having a further range than the other.

There are also equipments available that can confine the wireless signals to within your boundary and is legal for sale here.

Not too sure how legal or illegal that is.

IIRC, the typical default is around 45mW, while 3rd party firmwares can boost them up to 120mW.

2.4GHz is a typically unregulated public radio frequency as a number of wireless applications besides WiFi. Our ERP/IU communications is also on the 2.4GHz, cordless phones as well as microwave ovens.

On the Wifi side, I believe different manufacturers set the radio power at different power settings, hence we always see 1 wiress router/access point having a further range than the other.

There are also equipments available that can confine the wireless signals to within your boundary and is legal for sale here.

my sentiments. since 2.4GHz is unlicensed, shouldnt it be "non restrictive"?

and are gps/3g jammers technically legal?

Edited by Mllcg

my sentiments. since 2.4GHz is unlicensed, shouldnt it be "non restrictive"?

and are gps/3g jammers technically legal?

the 2.4Ghz spectrum is open for non-commercial usage and has been used by a series of devices notwithstanding, wifi devices that has been ratified by the IEEE for the standards of 802.11b, 802.11a, 80211g and 802.11n. Devices like the microwave oven, baby monitors and even the cordless phone also utilise this spectrum.

Even though this usage is largely unfettered, please don't make any mistake that this spectrum is not regulated. It is regulated as with other portions of the invisible IR spectrum and this responsibility falls under the purview of the IDA. For clarifications, please refer to this published spectrum handbook.

Spectrum Management Handbook

if you look at page # 38, it is clearly stated that the radio frequency output of any device operating in this spectrum is subject to a ceiling limit of 200mW. I hope this clarifies your doubt. You may think that you can get away with jacking up your wifi access point Tx power. Rest assured that there are at least a handful of state agencies which possess equipments which are capable enough of generating radio frequency heatmaps that encompass the whole of Singapore.

I suppose if the transgression is slight, they won't swoop down on you but please don't do stupid things.

And as for the question whether frequency jammers are illegal or not, it should have been a no brainer right?

Look at point #8 in this link

All this rambling should have given you an idea that the 5Ghz spectrum used by certain 802.11n draft 2.0 routers is also regulated right?

Edited by Happily1986

[thumbsdown]

so far mine been fantastic. The speed is awesome.

the 2.4Ghz spectrum is open for non-commercial usage and has been used by a series of devices notwithstanding, wifi devices that has been ratified by the IEEE for the standards of 802.11b, 802.11a, 80211g and 802.11n. Devices like the microwave oven, baby monitors and even the cordless phone also utilise this spectrum.

Even though this usage is largely unfettered, please don't make any mistake that this spectrum is not regulated. It is regulated as with other portions of the invisible IR spectrum and this responsibility falls under the purview of the IDA. For clarifications, please refer to this published spectrum handbook.

Spectrum Management Handbook

if you look at page # 38, it is clearly stated that the radio frequency output of any device operating in this spectrum is subject to a ceiling limit of 200mW. I hope this clarifies your doubt. You may think that you can get away with jacking up your wifi access point Tx power. Rest assured that there are at least a handful of state agencies which possess equipments which are capable enough of generating radio frequency heatmaps that encompass the whole of Singapore.

I suppose if the transgression is slight, they won't swoop down on you but please don't do stupid things.

And as for the question whether frequency jammers are illegal or not, it should have been a no brainer right?

Look at point #8 in this link

All this rambling should have given you an idea that the 5Ghz spectrum used by certain 802.11n draft 2.0 routers is also regulated right?

why i asked abt the jammer.

can i sue esplanade or any other concert hall for that matter for jamming hp signals inside?

since its "illegal"?

btw, i dont use wireless. i trust in wired and only wired.

just that im not sure about singapore regulations.

why i asked abt the jammer.

can i sue esplanade or any other concert hall for that matter for jamming hp signals inside?

since its "illegal"?

wah this one ehh i am not sure sia. I know some venues have taken the extreme measures of jamming all mobile phones to prevent any absolute interruption. you might want to find out more whether Esplanade has negotiated any special exclusion from this clause. Also, it appears that the point(s) of technicality (as i have provided earlier on) apply to individuals. Now we are talking about an organisation so the rules might be interpreted differently.

Very wise of you. Gigabit ethernet beats the crap out of wireless any day any time in terms of sustained throughput.

so far mine been fantastic. The speed is awesome.

Friend, bro Versatile is complaining about Opennet. Opennet is merely the consortium that builds and owns Singapore NGBN. You are praising the ISP leh. ISP and the infrastructure owner are two different entities hor.

Edited by Happily1986

Friend, bro Versatile is complaining about Opennet. Opennet is merely the consortium that builds and owns Singapore NGBN. You are praising the ISP leh. ISP and the infrastructure owner are two different entities hor.

bro.

RSP.

not ISP

wah this one ehh i am not sure sia. I know some venues have taken the extreme measures of jamming all mobile phones to prevent any absolute interruption. you might want to find out more whether Esplanade has negotiated any special exclusion from this clause. Also, it appears that the point(s) of technicality (as i have provided earlier on) apply to individuals. Now we are talking about an organisation so the rules might be interpreted differently.

Very wise of you. Gigabit ethernet beats the crap out of wireless any day any time in terms of sustained throughput.

if im right for concert halls the signal jamming is due to their design being anechoic and a faraday cage in design right? No active jamming is done.