Mecontle 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 On 10/3/2011 at 3:59 PM, Kelloggs said: be street smart, be aware of your surroundings (front and back, near and far). In less developed european cities, try not to go out alone after 10pm even in city centre. when shops closes and people go home, strange characters start to appear. Just 2 years back, had to walk 45 mins along a road in Zaragoza, Spain at about 2am (no more bus service from a dropoff point). Initially was walking with a few groups of strangers (some were high, singing away but they were generally harmless), thinking they heading back same directions After 15 mins, suddenly, all of them turn into another road (towards a suburb where they probably stayed at) and I am left alone walking towards the city in the hotel for next 20mins. It was very quiet, cold and even though the street was well lit, i suddenly felt unsafe as i saw some men sleeping on the benches, some smoking and drinking. Had to double my speed but keep looking around me in case people start following. Some cars slowed down to look at me but i just ignored. Finally reached the city and hotel safe and sound at almost 3am. i stayed uk for 5mth , at nite nvr go out after around 9 pm , 1st is cold, 2nd is no shops , bus is farked up maybe come maybe sit 45min may not come, taxi dun roam steet u call maybe they answer maybe not, no comfort taxi or some std , cant say ang mo no like asian , they like tourist too but no no to FT then theres the street bums problems , several times kana asked for $$ when alone on street at nite , always prepare some extra penny to give away better safe then sry ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yusld Neutral Newbie October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 (edited) Visited Athens 4 years ago, a local friend being our "tour guide" . Maybe this is the reason I found that Greeks are very friendly. And I enjoy touring there too! It don't seems to be a chaotic country but right now the situations might not be the same. Kidnapped and robbed are likely to be this case. As for Vietnam, it's really safe, BUT, the locals just want to ripped off tourists. This is the worst part! I been to HCM & Hanoi, found that the public transport like the cyclo and taxi is an obstacle. Other than that, a nice place to travel. And some people comment on J.B..... people complain too much saying J.B is the most unsafe place bla bla bla....this I have to agree. The South East, J.B is the most "dangerous" place to visit!!! Of course we don't compare to those Western countries crime............. Colombia !!!!! Notorious for tourist, even those Ang Mo want to avoid! On 10/3/2011 at 3:52 PM, Yeshe said: vietnam is quite safe lah. i ve been there until i lost count leow. drink until late night about 1-2am then take cab to hotel. care to share wat u experience? Edited October 3, 2011 by Yusld Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear October 3, 2011 Share October 3, 2011 being kidnapped is one thing ... being kidnapped for human organs black market ... thats deep s--t. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 On 10/3/2011 at 3:59 PM, Kelloggs said: be street smart, be aware of your surroundings (front and back, near and far). In less developed european cities, try not to go out alone after 10pm even in city centre. when shops closes and people go home, strange characters start to appear. Just 2 years back, had to walk 45 mins along a road in Zaragoza, Spain at about 2am (no more bus service from a dropoff point). Initially was walking with a few groups of strangers (some were high, singing away but they were generally harmless), thinking they heading back same directions After 15 mins, suddenly, all of them turn into another road (towards a suburb where they probably stayed at) and I am left alone walking towards the city in the hotel for next 20mins. It was very quiet, cold and even though the street was well lit, i suddenly felt unsafe as i saw some men sleeping on the benches, some smoking and drinking. Had to double my speed but keep looking around me in case people start following. Some cars slowed down to look at me but i just ignored. Finally reached the city and hotel safe and sound at almost 3am. How come you didnt take taxi? Would walking more safer than taking taxi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 (edited) On 10/3/2011 at 8:30 PM, Wasted said: being kidnapped is one thing ... being kidnapped for human organs black market ... thats deep s--t. If he got kidnapped (quite unlikely for males), there would've been some ransom demand by now. If he got mugged or beaten up, would also have been found by now. Nobody considered the fact that he may have just decided to "drop out" and disappear from his former life?? You never know, there have been cases in the past where doctors-to-be suddenly decided that they didn't really like medical studies and career (some are pressured into it by expectations), and did something funny to get out of their life which seems all planned out for them. Maybe in greece he decided not to go back to a life of hdb, coe, erp, and mrt?? Only other possibility is that he went wandering alone in the wilderness and got lost or suffered some injury that make him unable to get out by himself. But then he would at least be able to make a mobile phone call? The fact that his friend found his mobile line disconnected when he tried to call, is a very good clue... Edited October 4, 2011 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 More likely he might fell into some cliff or something and nobody discover?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 He's a post grad student. Duke-NUS. Fear the worst for him. [sweatdrop] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 On 10/3/2011 at 4:22 PM, Mecontle said: i stayed uk for 5mth , at nite nvr go out after around 9 pm , 1st is cold, 2nd is no shops , bus is farked up maybe come maybe sit 45min may not come, taxi dun roam steet u call maybe they answer maybe not, no comfort taxi or some std , cant say ang mo no like asian , they like tourist too but no no to FT then theres the street bums problems , several times kana asked for $$ when alone on street at nite , always prepare some extra penny to give away better safe then sry Same experience some years back when I arrived in London and walking to my hotel. Its just a 15-20mins walk but as its in Jan, the sky went dark at ard 5pm...this drunk guy keep following me and ask for money... Another experience...that was when I was way younger...business trip to Atlanta...middle of the night, some guy knock on the door and ask to borrow some money as he need to attend to some "emergency" says will return the money in the morning...I very naive that time...believe him and of course he never return... back to the topic...I hope that he is found alive and well soon.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 in sg, i also kenna a coupl knocking door asking for money urgently for seeing doc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 On 10/3/2011 at 4:12 AM, Pyramid_sg said: Hope this guy can be found. My impression of Greece is that they are racist, cheats and lazy. People there don't want to work but yet enjoy life. Transport system there is chaotic and the cab drivers will cheat you knowing that you are a tourist. Some won't even take you because of your skin colour. Taking the ferry to the islands is like a free for all. The so called porters are more interested in watching UEFA soccer than helping the elderly and disabled (white and non white) board the ferry. Restaurant waiters give you the sour face look when serving you. If you ask me, they deserve to be poor. They should just nuke the whole country and start over. Get the Singaporean out first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 do feel for the wifey ... just got married and have to go thru this ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 On 10/4/2011 at 2:48 AM, Wasted said: do feel for the wifey ... just got married and have to go thru this ... Wonder did he complete his NS. If so, basic survival skill is not a problem for him if he is lost in the mountains or islands ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 Wife supposed to join him for conference, then extend the stay there for honeymoon. Wife's leave was rejected thus he travel alone. Wife is a school teacher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 i dunno why the talk about jungle + lost + injured. he left at 10pm+ and athens is a city. where can find jungle that's not at least 1hr away by car. let alone 10pm. going to the pub for a drink is more likely. hopes are diminishing i must say. after so many days liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 On 10/4/2011 at 2:48 AM, Wasted said: do feel for the wifey ... just got married and have to go thru this ... I wonder as time goes by, if she wants to remarry, would it be a problem. Coz current hubby is just missing, not reported dead, so her status is not widow. Also cannot divorces, coz hubby not around to sign paper.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 (edited) On 10/4/2011 at 3:32 AM, Ender said: I wonder as time goes by, if she wants to remarry, would it be a problem. Coz current hubby is just missing, not reported dead, so her status is not widow. Also cannot divorces, coz hubby not around to sign paper.. bro i think got time frame then can legally declare the person to be missing, total disappearance. Edited October 4, 2011 by Wasted Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 On 10/4/2011 at 3:32 AM, Ender said: I wonder as time goes by, if she wants to remarry, would it be a problem. Coz current hubby is just missing, not reported dead, so her status is not widow. Also cannot divorces, coz hubby not around to sign paper.. 6 years is the waiting time, to declare officialy dead or missing...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 On 10/4/2011 at 3:32 AM, Ender said: I wonder as time goes by, if she wants to remarry, would it be a problem. Coz current hubby is just missing, not reported dead, so her status is not widow. Also cannot divorces, coz hubby not around to sign paper.. Can call for Annulment if marriage is less than a year or so.... but there again it depends on what both the families think, to void a marriage under such circumstances can be an insult. Too soon to say anything yet, I pray for his safe return. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...