Backside kena kisssssed

questionedfish

first time kena people hit backside. several scratches, no dent though. exchanged particulars. ask him how to settle, he say anything. :blink:

next, what to do and what not to do? any lao jiaos advise?

On 9/24/2011 at 2:53 AM, Lamzh87 said:

first time kena people hit backside. several scratches, no dent though. exchanged particulars. ask him how to settle, he say anything. :blink:

Did u get him acknowledge in writing is his fault?

If yes, it's up to u liao

But if nothing wrong then Suak lar

Make a report within 24 hrs.Or ask your workshop do it for you.Private settle must sign agreement to avoid default.

On 9/24/2011 at 2:55 AM, Galantspeedz said:

Did u get him acknowledge in writing is his fault?

If yes, it's up to u liao

But if nothing wrong then Suak lar

never get him to acknowledge in writing eh.

i got video though

To my knowledge, current requirement is to make police report and insurance report, in order that the motor insurance remain valid.

On 9/24/2011 at 2:56 AM, Gitanic said:

Make a report within 24 hrs.Or ask your workshop do it for you.Private settle must sign agreement to avoid default.

can just ask my workshop to do and just charge to him? and case close?

On 9/24/2011 at 3:05 AM, Lamzh87 said:

never get him to acknowledge in writing eh.

i got video though

It's not right to make the other party admit his/her fault in writing even he/she was in the wrong. Will you sign if you are in the other party shoes?

Even insurance companies advised against it.

The most important thing now is to report to insurance company.

After privately settled (if the other party is willing to compensate), can always inform your insurer again. And some insurers do provide discharge paperwork service for privately settled case.

On 9/24/2011 at 3:09 AM, Lamzh87 said:

I had a case.We signed agreement that he pay for my repair.No fault mentioned.

On 9/24/2011 at 3:13 AM, Kangadrool said:

It's not right to make the other party admit his/her fault in writing even he/she was in the wrong. Will you sign if you are in the other party shoes?

After privately settled (if the other party is willing to compensate), can always inform your insurer again. And some insurers do provide discharge paperwork service for privately settled case.

No offence, but the first part is bad advice for the person who's been rear-ended. Being "right" or "nice" never enters into the equation here. The only important thing is to protect oneself. So, if the other party is willing to declare in writing that he admits liability, then get it immediately, on the scene. Scrap paper also can, but it must be tidy, and signed by both parties, with names, NRICs, dates and times. And a witness if you can get one, but this is not strictly necessary.

Is the other guy violating a clause in his own insurance contract? Probably - but hey, he's agreed to make a private settlement, anyway, right? So his own insurer should not be called into play. He's only screwed if he decides to play punk later and say "claim insurance, lor". Then his own insurer may not look kindly upon his admission of liability.

Of course, the "victim" must also play ball, lah. If the damage looks bad and you think you're going to be going back to agent and replace bumper, reversing sensors and the whole works, then please, for god's sake, tell the other guy this at the start, so he can decide if he's got the money to settle privately in the first place. Once you've agreed to a private settlement based on minor putty touch-ups and bumper respray, don't go back on your word later. If in doubt about the cost, go down to your workshop immediately with the other party to get an estimate.

Now the business about reporting to your own insurer about any accident, no matter how minor, and no matter whether you intend to privately settle - yes, this is the way contracts are drawn up nowadays. Yes, *BY RIGHT*, it's correct to declare these minor incidents to one's insurer. *BY LEFT*, however, I've heard too many horror stories of NCD being held back, and premiums being inflated after a "not at fault, only for record purposes" sort of report. Remember, even if the NCD is returned to you after a certain timeframe (the usual industry practice), you can't do diddly about base premium inflation. You're also screwed if you change cars because that insurance report is going to haunt you for at least 3 years even if you were completely innocent. The worst part is you're NEVER sure if the insurer is jacking up your rates because of that stupid report, because the industry is not required to publish indicative premiums or account for how they arrived at yours. So noone can be sure if they're being ripped off, and the industry likes things this way.

What with the way the damn insurance companies try to weasel out of their obligations when a tree trunk or drunk hits your car, we're all being royally screwed without recourse. :angry:

On 9/24/2011 at 4:40 AM, Turboflat4 said:

What with the way the damn insurance companies try to weasel out of their obligations when a tree trunk or drunk hits your car, we're all being royally screwed without recourse. :angry:

drunk cases we can claim privately.Not totally lost.

But recover full damage or not depends on the other party's ability.

tree trunk claim fr NEA see see. [laugh]

On 9/24/2011 at 4:46 AM, Csnewbie said:

drunk cases we can claim privately.Not totally lost.

But recover full damage or not depends on the other party's ability.

tree trunk claim fr NEA see see. [laugh]

Yeah, bro, can claim privately - but how many people can really afford the legal fees, time and energy to go through all that, with the strong possibility that the other party may not be able to cover everything when all is said and done?

What angers me is the fact that we're paying these damn blood-sucking insurance companies so much money, but when we really need them, they just abandon us. :angry: [rifle] They have a ton of lawyers on their payroll, THEY should be doing the chasing, not leaving it to us after taking our money.

It's always about money and influence. If you're a big enough fark, can even claim against NEA, hell, the whole blardy gahmen of Sillypore. What do you think will happen if a diplomat of a powerful country gets his car dented by a falling tree? Will NEA dare to disclaim liability? [laugh]

Recently involved in a chain collision, am the first car, back bumper dented excluding other unseen damages. Came down took pics of all 4 cars involved, exchange particulars with all and then proceed to call insurance even though the other party gonna pay. Send back AD and after a month plus waiting and repaired for 4k plus.

If ever such incident happened just involving 2 cars, it would be better to ask the party who rear end you to write a note of what happen, stating where when and that he rear end you. No need to for him/her to admit he fault but simply to both agree on what happened. After all this done, if anyone/driver in vehicle is not feeling well, go see a doctor and relate the incident on the same day. Else it would be invalid if later claiming for any medical grounds.

Always report to your insurance, else what for paying them so much money for? NCD issues will come later. Be it you are on 50% NCD on a 2K premium, make them work a little and get your ownself covered.

On 9/24/2011 at 3:09 AM, Lamzh87 said:

1. Report to the respective insurance is a must within 24hr.

2. No point asking the other party to admit liability. The insurance company will still based on evidence to determine the liability.

If he bang your back, not side, you are 100% certain it is not your fault. Unless you suddenly cut into his lane and break and there is a witness.

3. Settle privately is good. You can bring him to any workshop and let them nego the repair cost.

But... make sure you are 100% fine, not a slight twist on your neck. If you settle privately and later, touch wood you have whiplash, you LL cannot claim from him.

So, if you do feel some uneasy or stiffness on your neck, best is to see doctor and claim insurance.

On 9/24/2011 at 5:58 AM, Ben5266 said:

1. Report to the respective insurance is a must within 24hr.

2. No point asking the other party to admit liability. The insurance company will still based on evidence to determine the liability.

If he bang your back, not side, you are 100% certain it is not your fault. Unless you suddenly cut into his lane and break and there is a witness.

3. Settle privately is good. You can bring him to any workshop and let them nego the repair cost.

But... make sure you are 100% fine, not a slight twist on your neck. If you settle privately and later, touch wood you have whiplash, you LL cannot claim from him.

So, if you do feel some uneasy or stiffness on your neck, best is to see doctor and claim insurance.

can i go to any workshop or my aunthorised dealer to do the repair and subsequently they bill that guy? after that case close?

On 9/24/2011 at 3:13 AM, Kangadrool said:

After reporting, i can now go to any workshop or my aunthorised dealer to do the repair? Subsequently they bill the guy? then case close?

On 9/25/2011 at 4:30 AM, Lamzh87 said:

After reporting, i can now go to any workshop or my aunthorised dealer to do the repair? Subsequently they bill the guy? then case close?

At pt of reporting,reporting center never assign you any workshop?

i thought all should follow without any fuss.

alternatively you can ask the other party to provide his workshop.

THAT WORKSHOP will settle everything for you.