GIC sitting on a 7.4b loss in UBS

Scion

what excuses can they come up with this time?

cannot be helped..it's an honest mistake, lets move on..no amount of engineering can prevent the loss..u must see from a different perspective

I juz curious for such a big investment firm, there is no stop loss rule in place for every investment?

i understand big funds cannot dump their holdings at one go in the open market as this will make the price collapses...

but still, this is too much

warren buffet "attacked" the banks when they were out and down during the crisis, nego in getting preferred stocks and hefty annual dividends...

and was deemed as the saviour or white knight

our GIC bought them when the markets were in bubbles and prices were high...

made us look like carrothead

i understand big funds cannot dump their holdings at one go in the open market as this will make the price collapses...

but still, this is too much

warren buffet "attacked" the banks when they were out and down during the crisis, nego in getting preferred stocks and hefty annual dividends...

and was deemed as the saviour or white knight

our GIC bought them when the markets were in bubbles and prices were high...

made us look like carrothead

Just now got one bro mentioned that our cut loss SOP is virtually non-existent macham like aunties in the wet market. Now that i think of it, don't you think that the head mother hen of our SWF looks like an auntie? :D

What does she know about investing anyway?

what excuses can they come up with this time?

cannot be helped..it's an honest mistake, lets move on..no amount of engineering Financial Experience can prevent the loss..u must see from a different perspective

I guess the one who left was dashing out a burning building to be in the safe hands of the people, presiding confidently.

'confidence for the future' makes sg lost 7.4b..daft sinkies indeed <_<

how dare you lowly servants criticised your masters.

repent now lowly servants, repent for the day of reckoning will be upon you and your children

post-35648-1316598527.jpg

Edited by Pufferfish1

i think to be fair

we should stop complaining

left right and centre

the people have spoken

they want more similar good years

lets all be united and suffer together

nothing is going to change

i wonder how the buying process was approved by the boss of GIC to continue holding the shares of a weaken bank which have no significant business interests in singapore and, in the last downturn need a lifeline from swiss gov to survive..They did not learn, apparently. so does our dear GIC.

Since they can afford to lose that huge amount of money, why don't they just fork out those sums as loans to help our local businesses here grow and the interests earned at least would be channeled back to the country and not to some rogue trader who don't give a hoot..With seed money, local market can grow, jobs created, locally made consumables products to buy or sell to the people or worldwide, money flow back to the country as tax...Everybody Huat..

anyway who am i to compare? we have tons of economics scholars siting in their ivory tower trying to think out of the box..

Each round of COE can earn $75milion.

One month earn $150million.

Can recover any losses in investment easily lah.

If housing still in demand...just introduce HDB BTO COE. Can double quick recoup any external losses.

Of I am CEO of investment firm, I just ask my hubby to implement COE for everything in order to recoup the losses.

What me worry???

I seriously also wan to knw how this type of investments work. Anyone can share? Did the govt never once made good returns b4 and/or at all? Since all so knowledgeable and kpkb about the way the loss came about, can share how it happened? Also, which country/countries made similar losses?

Typically, both the GIC and Temasek get their funds from governmental fiscal surpluses, our CPF and to a much smaller extent, earnings from foreign exchange reserves. This is more or less what is being made known to everyone...

However, the billion dollar question which you had just asked is veiled behind an impregnable wall of absolute secrecy. Unless you belong to the "inner circle", there is no way to know exactly the losses/profits incurred by our SWFs. And that is why Harry is still on the board of GIC, while old mother hen remains as the Head of Temasek~ -_-

Edited by Lethalstrike

Really wonder how can such company with many brilliant people can lost so much money... could there be some untold stories / conspiracy theories involve? The world is facing financial difficulty... are all these happenings link? With all these lossess, who is earning them? Really wonder.....

where do they (GIC & Temasek) find money to keep going

the last time hear like something around $160billion total worth

every year administrative cost for keeping 400 staff in temasek alone is $4billion

every year we hear, a few billions lost here and there

if we add all these lost up, where got money left even to pay for $100 entrance fee to casino

somebody please help my maths lousy