Anyone can recommend a Workshop to install export headunit?

Megaweb

today (29 Nov), went to mustafa to purchase the Pioneer 9350 @ S$209 (export set, no warranty, no testing, no exchanging) then went to Nam Huat @ Sin Ming Autocare (the one just besides Vicom) and installed the HU at only S$25.. cheap, good and fast!

I saw the export HUs at Mustafa over the weekend as well.. But the "no warranty, no testing, no exchanging" clause puts me off abit.. What if the set comes defective from factory? Then jialat liao.. [:(]

Edited by Garf

I'm changing my antique double din HU to single din HU.. Any bros here can advise on the price of the casing to convert double din to single din with compartment below? Thks. [:)]

Edited by Garf

I saw the export HUs at Mustafa over the weekend as well.. But the "no warranty, no testing, no exchanging" clause puts me off abit.. What if the set comes defective from factory? Then jialat liao.. [:(]

hi garf, i guess it's a calculated risk to take. it is a pioneer afterall, so the quality is pretty much the same as the ones with the warranty in my opinion.. if it's a lemon i've got, well, too bad for me then.. but luckily, so far so good.. and yes, the clauses do put me off quite abit when i first saw it but after the initial 'shock', i thought it's a calculated risk so i went ahead and took the plunge..

Hmm, bro Dex, seem like it's worth a try.. I eyeing the 6350SD at $150 only.. Damn cheap!! But my problem is my antique HU is double din.. So need to get a single din pocket to cover the gap... Wonder if the audio shop you went to have this? Thks..

Haha then you should get it. It's just 150, if it breaks down, just get a new one for 150 again. Besides the one with warranty is likely to cost 300 and above. So even if you have to buy the same thing twice and assuming it doesn't break down the second time, it's still worth it.

If you wanna test if it can work before you put it into the car, get a transformer that converts 220V AC into 12V DC with a minimum of 3A. Connect the positive end of the transformer to the yellow and red cable of the wiring harness that comes along with the headunit and the negative end to the black cable of the headunit. If you wanna test if sound comes out from the headunit, connect the white wire to the positive of the speaker and the white wire with a black stripe to the negative of the speaker.

Actually I'm curious about the Single din pocket as well. Anyone know where to get it?

hi bro garf, i'm pretty sure the guys at the workshop has got the necessary skills+equipment to assist you in the 'conversion' of your double din to single din socket..

**perhaps you can call and check with Nam Huat of Sin Ming Autocare @ 64542262 (2nd floor) first to see if it's possible to change from a double to a single before making the trip. I had my export HU set installed by them @ S$25 only.

**I am not related nor associated in anyway, personally and/or professionally, with Nam Huat. I am just a satisfied customer of theirs. [:p]

good luck bro!

Installed the Pioneer AVH-P3350BT at Wee Heng Upper Serangoon Road. Also installed new rear view camera and German Maestro speakers front and rear.

I'm a Hi Fi sound enthusiast so I want good sound. Compared prices with other workshops and I think Wee Heng gave the best deal.

Good sound. Really good. And I can connect my iPhone using Blue tooth and speak hands free through the external mic installed at the rear view mirror. Can also view iphone videos through the AVH-P3350BT.

Hi bro. Also hunting for 3350. What's the total dage for your package? [;)]

today (29 Nov), went to mustafa to purchase the Pioneer 9350 @ S$209 (export set, no warranty, no testing, no exchanging) then went to Nam Huat @ Sin Ming Autocare (the one just besides Vicom) and installed the HU at only S$25.. cheap, good and fast!

just to check, what would be the price difference between an export set without warranty versus a local set with warranty ? For example, how much would a 9350 retail locally with warranty ?

Thanks

just to check, what would be the price difference between an export set without warranty versus a local set with warranty ? For example, how much would a 9350 retail locally with warranty ?

Thanks

the export set costs S$209 (this was the price i paid at Mustafa back in end Nov 2011) whilst the warranty set costs approx S$400+ (varies from shop to shop and depending on your nego skills, how much the shop can discount)

Hi Dexdj,

Thanks man ! Ya ! I just bought a DEH-9350SD @ S$209. Initially, I wanted to do it myself but when I dismantle the unit, I realize there's so much wiring one need to do.

Sometimes, I wonder, can't all the different brands consolidate and standardize one connector. As I do not have the tool to crimp or solder the wire together, guess, I have to go to Nam Huat to do it liao.

Btw, other than the $25 service charge, how long does it take for them to install ?

Hi Dexdj,

Thanks man ! Ya ! I just bought a DEH-9350SD @ S$209. Initially, I wanted to do it myself but when I dismantle the unit, I realize there's so much wiring one need to do.

Sometimes, I wonder, can't all the different brands consolidate and standardize one connector. As I do not have the tool to crimp or solder the wire together, guess, I have to go to Nam Huat to do it liao.

Btw, other than the $25 service charge, how long does it take for them to install ?

hi bengaboy, welcome to the 'club'! yes, wiring is quite complicated (this wire to that lah, that wire to this lah sekali connect wrongly, BOOM! i'd rather not take the risk boy..)

Nam Huat can do it within 10-15mins, chop chop!

By the way, your sound after installation, will be heavenly i assure you..

Cheers and Merry Xmas!

Dex

Edited by Dexdj

Guys, Mustafa no more selling the Pioneer 6350SD at $150 already :(

Went yesterday.. Sian man.

Yeah man ! I was there on 12/22, only 9350 and 8350. Anyway, 9350 not bad lar. $209 and I think 8350 is something like $18x.

Hi Dexdj,

Yeah, today I finally did it with Foon Audio Garage @ Macpherson for S$30. Took about 30mins to install. I'm trying my luck as Nam Huat is quite a distance away from my office and since Foon is nearby my office, so I did it with them.

Yeah. Sound not too bad. Still learning how to use those functions.

Btw, Foon Audio also does installing power for video camera. Front $30 and Rear $50. I'm planning to do it with them next week.

Yeah man ! I was there on 12/22, only 9350 and 8350. Anyway, 9350 not bad lar. $209 and I think 8350 is something like $18x.

Hi Dexdj,

Yeah, today I finally did it with Foon Audio Garage @ Macpherson for S$30. Took about 30mins to install. I'm trying my luck as Nam Huat is quite a distance away from my office and since Foon is nearby my office, so I did it with them.

Yeah. Sound not too bad. Still learning how to use those functions.

Btw, Foon Audio also does installing power for video camera. Front $30 and Rear $50. I'm planning to do it with them next week.

good good! you will love this HU!

It may be sold out.. Maybe can wait for new stock? When I got my 6350, there are about 2 sets left...