What are the activities at gohtong jaya?

Cook1234

Planning a trip to gohtong jaya at the end of this year.

Besides a rest point en route to genting highlands, what sort of attractions are found there?

eg hiking? golf? bird watching?

Any kind bros/sis can advise me?

GohTong Jaya is basically just makan stop... Nearby there's a strawberry farm, walk towards the sport complex. Awana hotel also nearby.

strawbeery farm.

good for photography. kids pluck strawberry, dad take phtos. kids with handful of starwberry, dad take photo. i went just before school holiday. many starwberry to cut, i [laugh] my friend went in dec, no strawberry liao, he <_<

but after the farm, you are "forced" to go thru a maze of shops. they wont force you to buy things. just quickly walk out lor

In this town there's a Hotel Seri Malaysia. Anyone stayed there before? How is the place?

just restaurants there nia.... nothing much... just stay at awana or genting hotel lah

There is a hotel along this stretch of makan stores same building. but nothing fanciful, like hotel 81.

I like to buy fruits from there and bring up to GH for later consumption.

durian (mao shan wang) - they will vacuum seal the box in a plastic bag so the smell does not permeate. Rm25-45 per KG

jackfruit (Nenas) - in prepacked boxes, displayed in fridges. Abt Rm6.50 per box

other usual stuff like oranges, bananas

sometimes they sell roasted chestnuts, which taste nice in the cool weather

foodwise... I say stay away from the bak kut teh (overpriced and lacking in ingredients). I wld rather drive to KL or even Klang if I want to eat BKT.

some of the chze char places are nice, but best to check pricing. I have tried the frog leg hor fun (tin gai hor fun) there a few times. Quite shiok in cold weather. Sorry I don't recall the shop address... I see it, I remember it haha

this hotel cater mostly to the local tourists and corporate trips. Non-casino crowd.

I wouldn't stay here. I would rather stay at Awana or the other main hotels and drive around if necessary.

There is a hotel along this stretch of makan stores same building. but nothing fanciful, like hotel 81.

got any "fun" stuff going on at gohtong jaya?

Oh, I'm not a casino person...so I tot Gohtong Jaya could a good place to visit (and perhaps stay a night) cos its like a "mini Cameron" with restaurant, strawberry farms, etc. Then feel bored can take cable car up to Genting !! I mean now GH also under reno....

So better to stay at Awana, and drive to GJ if wanna visit the town ??

Any advise for good food in Gohtong Jaya? Which restaurant? Not too expensive please....hehe

Hi, Bro TVT and All,

I would like to recommend "ZE YUAN SEAFOOD RESTAURANT 泽 源 海 鲜 楼" at No.33, Jalan Jati 1, Gohtong Jaya, Genting Highlands, 69000 Bentong, Pahang Darul Makmur. Tel: 03-61001181 Hp: 012-2644759.

Frequently Orders :

1. Steam / Butter Fry Fresh Water Big Head Prawn
  2. Salt Stir Fried Octopus Tentacles
  3. Salted Egg Yolk Stir Fried Prawn or Crab or Golden Melon or Egg Plant
  4. Yang Zhou Fried Rice
  5. Braised EE Mian ( Deep Fried Noodle)

Above menu is our family and friends favorites, price is reasonable in comparison with other restaurants along the row of food outlets.

Please asked for the restaurant captain by the name Ah Fu (35 yrs old male with spectacled, cantonese speaking), tell him he is being named and highly recommended by Ah Fong and his wife driving silver MB E280 plate:3113.

Kindly be reminded that I am just a regular customer in this restaurant providing my honest feedback without commercial benefits.

As the sayings goes, a man food is another poisons, I do hope you'll enjoy the cool climate and the taste of all the dishes.

Best regards,

fongmy

Hi, Bro TVT and All,

I would like to recommend "ZE YUAN SEAFOOD RESTAURANT 泽 源 海 鲜 楼" at No.33, Jalan Jati 1, Gohtong Jaya, Genting Highlands, 69000 Bentong, Pahang Darul Makmur. Tel: 03-61001181 Hp: 012-2644759.

Thanks for the info. [thumbsup]

When are you going GHR [confused] I would plan a SAF previously well trained most tactical ambush with my M16 and canon camera to shoot you [sly][rifle]:D

If I go is 22-24 Jun. But it is not confirmed yet..... :D. Just tell your snipers to be on standby first.....once I confirmed then you can "activate" them! [laugh]

Planning to stay in Awana instead, and not those hotels in GH.