13177 Hypersonic September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 (edited) There are much more (in terms of absolute numbers) CPT than MWO/SWO rank.. And the MWO/SWO rank send more fear into rank/file soldier than a CPT rank.. True, i am more scare when i see a MWO/SWO than CPT. I always find warrant officer very fierce! Edited September 20, 2011 by 13177 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged September 20, 2011 Author Share September 20, 2011 Anyone from School Of Armour will know SWO Seah? He didnt convert to Major when given a chance to do so... What is his full name and which yr was that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged September 20, 2011 Author Share September 20, 2011 no matter how kuku the 2lt, the nco should NEVER scold the 2lt in front of the men. Anyways NCO always have problems with commissioned officers. NCO always feel they are better than Officers. They feel officers are elitists and dunno how to do their work properly. This is what I have always seen and heard from my NSF times. I have seen CSMs talking to all the specialists complaining about the individual platoon PCs or OCs, COs, etc. Complaining that officer this la, that la, etc. Anyways I feel regardless of what the individual think, they should always give the basic respect of another person who is of a higher rank or appointment. But in my unit, these are the words painted on the wall. "Rank is what you get, respect is what you earn". I think the CSM who painted this in his coy line don't like the officers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VenomMX 4th Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 True, i am more scare when i see a MWO/SWO than CPT. I always find warrant officer very fierce! Yes alot of officers also scared, to be honest.. Im speaking for NSF officers only so dont get me wrong.. We are taught to address them as 'encik' but when we actually see them face to face, all the "yes sir, eh, yes encik, sorry encik..." will start blurting out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 During my BMT and was having full dress rehearsal for POP, RSM (Tiger Ong - in 1977) f... everyone in the Parade Square and all have to do 20 push-up including the CO (Major Kwan later become the CO of MP unit in 1978) for happen to be at the parade square watching ..... For every recuits, we feel very song and respect that RSM ..... Its happen that we are matching out of tune and the RSM was shouting 'everyone in the parade square - down 20'. As usual, all recuits went down and the Officers were standing. The next command heard was "I says everyone in parade square down 20". Happen CO Major Kwan was also watcing the parade at the side but inside the parade square boundary also went down. All Officers LL also went down and do a 20....... i respect major kwan more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 Yeah, esp junior officers. I might have shared this story on this forum before. I was driving two officers, kenna stopped by Provost 1WO. Two officers hide behind a CPL and a LCP, scared like hell don't dare to talk. Yes alot of officers also scared, to be honest.. Im speaking for NSF officers only so dont get me wrong.. We are taught to address them as 'encik' but when we actually see them face to face, all the "yes sir, eh, yes encik, sorry encik..." will start blurting out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VenomMX 4th Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 no matter how kuku the 2lt, the nco should NEVER scold the 2lt in front of the men. Anyways NCO always have problems with commissioned officers. NCO always feel they are better than Officers. They feel officers are elitists and dunno how to do their work properly. This is what I have always seen and heard from my NSF times. I have seen CSMs talking to all the specialists complaining about the individual platoon PCs or OCs, COs, etc. Complaining that officer this la, that la, etc. Anyways I feel regardless of what the individual think, they should always give the basic respect of another person who is of a higher rank or appointment. Very accurate.. They have this mindset about NSF officers that "these kids went for a 9 month course and now they are trying to boss me around?" So what CSM do next is complain to OC, and if OC and CSM is the "hold hand" type, good luck to the NSF officer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 ....b/w a Jr Lt and CSM? I know in the formal structure, a jr Lt is higher in rank even to the most senior NCO (senior warrant), but in actual fact, can a CSM punish a jr Lt like take extra duty or knock it down? CSM holds power in parade square nia... commissioned officers rank still higher....but jr officers (2nd Lt or full Lt) gives respect to CSM or RSM cos they are more laochiao then them anytime. In short, the salt they eat is more than the jr rank officer eat rice. Depending on the situation...when I went for my IPPT as a reservist...I saw a PTI tekan a officer (hear that it was a captain) cos kenna RT...I see liao I scare...capt also kenna...I cpl nia sure die if kenna RT...so my motivating factor is crawl also must pass !! die die no RT for me. Anyway...during my NS days...the SWO (Senior Warranty Officer) power lagi big....LTC also kenna fark jialat jialat in the parade square. But before he (encik Sng) farks him...he will still address him as SIR...eg "SIR..wake up your idea !! You are suppose to give the command etc etc etc....UNDERSTAND !!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 (edited) Yes alot of officers also scared, to be honest.. Im speaking for NSF officers only so dont get me wrong.. We are taught to address them as 'encik' but when we actually see them face to face, all the "yes sir, eh, yes encik, sorry encik..." will start blurting out Your are right, many people in the army really scare and give face to those warrant officer, esp MWO and SWO. Edited September 20, 2011 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 MWO/SWO of course cannot compare with 2Lt la. but many warrants got common sense. Anyway no matter how bad an officer is, he is still an officer. u are warrant nia. LLST. 1WO is small fry la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 Very accurate.. They have this mindset about NSF officers that "these kids went for a 9 month course and now they are trying to boss me around?" So what CSM do next is complain to OC, and if OC and CSM is the "hold hand" type, good luck to the NSF officer Sometimes you cannot blame these NCO because these newbie 2LTs' egos are just super inflated having just commissioned. I have seen some 2LTs behaving like generals and are complete disrespectful to NCOs they worked with. I mean come'on, these NCOs have been in the army for more then 10 yrs and surely that itself, deserve some respect. But these inflated egos 2LT just put them down like they are some LCPs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 Sometimes you cannot blame these NCO because these newbie 2LTs' egos are just super inflated having just commissioned. I have seen some 2LTs behaving like generals and are complete disrespectful to NCOs they worked with. I mean come'on, these NCOs have been in the army for more then 10 yrs and surely that itself, deserve some respect. But these inflated egos 2LT just put them down like they are some LCPs. nowadays the problem with army culture is that Warrant officers want the same power as officer. Recently SOAS, MPTI both got SWO COs instead of Officer... this is the wrong way. Officer should still be the boss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 no matter how kuku the 2lt, the nco should NEVER scold the 2lt in front of the men. Anyways NCO always have problems with commissioned officers. NCO always feel they are better than Officers. They feel officers are elitists and dunno how to do their work properly. This is what I have always seen and heard from my NSF times. I have seen CSMs talking to all the specialists complaining about the individual platoon PCs or OCs, COs, etc. Complaining that officer this la, that la, etc. Anyways I feel regardless of what the individual think, they should always give the basic respect of another person who is of a higher rank or appointment. thats the same thing i wanted to say too & not only army but our work place as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 zhun boh? not according to MIW... a recruit who's a pap member got more power?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 (edited) nowadays the problem with army culture is that Warrant officers want the same power as officer. Recently SOAS, MPTI both got SWO COs instead of Officer... this is the wrong way. Officer should still be the boss actually they SWO dont want to have same power as CO (commision official). who dont want to do nothing and get pay well?? heard that the problem is, SAF did a study few years back. they realise that WO lead training institue have less injury and more passing out compare to green horn Officer. hence the move in direction... CO push to combat active unit instead of training. Edited September 20, 2011 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 and you might want to know that Tiger Hong was given a field commission in ROC and promoted to an officer subsequently, lost his parade square powers... i guess that what happen when u are given too much power and you might want to be privy to the understanding that Tiger Hong was deliberately promoted as a ploy to get back at him. During those years, high chances that 3 out of 5 (or even more) fellas in Staff Command College have been whacked by Hong. What's the best to get back at him? STrip him of his legendary powers by promoting him and force him into their ranks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 actually they SWO dont want to have same power as CO (commision official). who dont want to do nothing and get pay well?? heard that the problem is, SAF did a study few years back. they realise that WO lead training institue have less injury and more passing out compare to green horn Officer. hence the move in direction... CO push to combat active unit instead of training. no la. entire culture shifting. especially now we got MDES, former SWO now become equal to a MAJ who converted. Like that fair not? Got commission also no use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear September 20, 2011 Share September 20, 2011 nowadays the problem with army culture is that Warrant officers want the same power as officer. disagree. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...