Chris Tan: Car prices to head south soon

Mustank

On 5/1/2014 at 4:01 AM, Super7 said:

Dealers who have been hoarding COE certs in recent months wiping cold sweats?

So finally dealers have their taste of the medicine. Serve them right! [bounce1]

On 5/1/2014 at 4:14 AM, Super7 said:

All it will take is as and when ah liu feels like closing the tap a few notches, reducing the number of COEs he releases next fortnight, buyers will panic and quickly jump in!!!! Maybe now his hp is flooded by calls from dealers tolong-ing him to spare them coz they don't like catching mosquitos everyday in their showrooms.

Unlikely this will happen this year or 2015 (other than COE craw back) but most certainly after GE

walao eh ... everyone harping on 2016 GE ... GE sibei tok kong ar

does this means 2016 GE

hdb = $250K-$300k

ec = $500k-$600k

condo = $700k-$800k

coe = $20k + $20k omv + $20k parf + $0 tax + no gst + $0 profit margin

car = $60k ?

  On 5/1/2014 at 4:40 AM, Achee said:

So finally dealers have their taste of the medicine. Serve them right! [bounce1]

Unlikely this will happen this year or 2015 (other than COE craw back) but most certainly after GE

So, I can assume the best time to buy is on the day after voting day.. Most likely ge on sat, the the next day, Sunday go sign on dot and wait for coe.... Hehehe.. .

On 5/1/2014 at 4:59 AM, Blackyv said:

So, I can assume the best time to buy is on the day after voting day.. Most likely ge on sat, the the next day, Sunday go sign on dot and wait for coe.... Hehehe.. .

If the dealers continue bleed until then, maybe they will launch something like "Election Sale" and slash another $10K - $20K off the sticker price!

  On 5/1/2014 at 5:06 AM, Achee said:

If the dealers continue bleed until then, maybe they will launch something like "Election Sale" and slash another $10K - $20K off the sticker price!

Maybe have 2 sales,,,, pre election sales and post election sales....heheh...

On 5/1/2014 at 2:28 AM, Achee said:

Went to a few car showrooms last weekend and were mostly quiet despite the huge price reductions. Looks like this upcoming COE tender is something to watch out for.

i thk one of the reasons could also b the lower trade in value offered now. last few mths at least they buy high but they also sell higher (the buyers).

altho there r stil alot of unrealistic asking price for 11-12 cars, but one or 2 ads tat i was observing jus disappeared aft dropping price twice. ie its not even "sold" status jus disappeared.

but now its jus suspense phase - no real lead to price the mkt. if coe really drops, then its time to bargain hard. [sly]

On 5/1/2014 at 4:01 AM, Super7 said:

Dealers who have been hoarding COE certs in recent months wiping cold sweats?

i thk ADs shd b quite ok as they can jus quickly register them to existing orders since there is seemingly backlog....but those PI or "traders" wil b [sweatdrop]

On 5/1/2014 at 5:36 AM, Blackyv said:

Maybe have 2 sales,,,, pre election sales and post election sales....heheh...

Sounds almost like pre erection shower and post erection shower! LOL

On 5/1/2014 at 5:54 AM, Maroon5 said:

i thk one of the reasons could also b the lower trade in value offered now. last few mths at least they buy high but they also sell higher (the buyers).

altho there r stil alot of unrealistic asking price for 11-12 cars, but one or 2 ads tat i was observing jus disappeared aft dropping price twice. ie its not even "sold" status jus disappeared.

but now its jus suspense phase - no real lead to price the mkt. if coe really drops, then its time to bargain hard. [sly]

Some dealers are offering trade-in of 7-8 years old car paper value, really crazy [hur] Might as well just drive to year 10 [drivingcar]

On 5/1/2014 at 6:21 AM, Achee said:

Some dealers are offering trade-in of 7-8 years old car paper value, really crazy [hur] Might as well just drive to year 10 [drivingcar]

Act these old cars alr dealers been offering paper plus 1-2k but becos if u trade in for new car, got extra 5-10k overtrade discount so the party stil carries on.

But now Coe supply confirmed increased, dealers not so gung-ho alr even the newer cars.

On 5/1/2014 at 2:38 AM, Spyder79 said:

Agreed. should drop further but don't expect too much.

Property prices oredi dropped south, we expect car prices to drop too, but how much, those wheeler dealer are a cohort and regroup, thy have wapapps to spread among themselves which idiots coming their way . . .

I expect at least 10-12% drop, higher cc car will drop more of course !

On 5/1/2014 at 6:21 AM, Achee said:

Dealers are fierce salesperson, thy knows Sinkies are desperate for car and new cars, so thy will chop and cut throat biz , in order to survive they ' chiong ' MSCP with multiple flyers and 3M sticker saying:" I like to buy your car, Call me for no obligation discussion. " blah blah nae !

Knn, who is more desperate ? [whip]

You are half right, it should be during the campaigning days instead. Haha !

Pappies gives up freebies, Dealers give discounts and goodies.

  On 5/1/2014 at 6:01 AM, Volvobrick said:

Sounds almost like pre erection shower and post erection shower! LOL

LOL!!! Repent leh, before or after the erection? [grin]

On 5/1/2014 at 8:25 AM, Meanmachine said:

Property prices oredi dropped south, we expect car prices to drop too, but how much, those wheeler dealer are a cohort and regroup, thy have wapapps to spread among themselves which idiots coming their way . . .

I expect at least 10-12% drop, higher cc car will drop more of course !

Dealers are fierce salesperson, thy knows Sinkies are desperate for car and new cars, so thy will chop and cut throat biz , in order to survive they ' chiong ' MSCP with multiple flyers and 3M sticker saying:" I like to buy your car, Call me for no obligation discussion. " blah blah nae !

Knn, who is more desperate ? [whip]

I also hope car prices to drop to pre 2009 level.

But you never know, NOW may be the BEST time to get one, when everyone is still on the side line.

coe supply increase by 42%, yet traders and experts said prices wont drop much ?

are they high on drugs ?

I think S$30k for coe is coming.

On 5/2/2014 at 2:50 AM, darth_vader_ said:

coe supply increase by 42%, yet traders and experts said prices wont drop much ?

are they high on drugs ?

I think S$30k for coe is coming.

Dealers probably make more money from a see-saw COE price curve. Price too high, ask you to top up, too low and they pocket the difference. If COE dropped to 30k this month and climb month after month for next few years, it might not be as interesting.

I think most will jump in when COE dips below 50k but I could be wrong as the COE tsunami will hit us only in 2016.

  On 5/1/2014 at 3:54 AM, Quantum said:

wait to your hair white see whether the times come [:p]

good news

my hair is starting to turn white liao!