YellowFlash Clutched September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 Will Singapore dollar be weakening to encourage export? but the government appreciated sing dollar to fight inflation...if sing dollar is the weaken, interest rates will have to go up in tandem with inflation.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 ya, I also agree with it. Recently not too long ago, ST printed out university grad get 10k pay. I was like yes, these are few exceptional case, but no need to print out and let people have misconception of thinking after grad will get very good pay. employment is quite stable here.. i do recruitment from time to time.. either singaporeans are contented or spoilt.. damn hard to find pple... not that grad = high pay grad usually hv higher starting pay compare to non grad.. of cos experience also count.... in some company.. unless u hv a degree else... no chance to go into management position.... tats cold hard fact.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 employment is quite stable here.. i do recruitment from time to time.. either singaporeans are contented or spoilt.. damn hard to find pple... not that grad = high pay grad usually hv higher starting pay compare to non grad.. of cos experience also count.... in some company.. unless u hv a degree else... no chance to go into management position.... tats cold hard fact.... I concur with you on the bold words. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 i use to believe in our Straits Times bUT now I have given up they either tell half truths or manipulate the statistics an example while the world was going into fiancial crisis, the paper was happily painting rosy picture of singapore and how employment is stable as compared to various countries many thought singapore would be affected but NOT much because of the newspaper reporting and re-assurance from the government but when singapore kena bad the government turn around and blame us for be complacent, we rely too much on the government all i really asking, give us the true picture so that we can all make better inform decision on our finances and our lives the high singapore dollar is not sustainable, it is killing our SME they are doing so to offset inflation as increasing interest rate may stall the economy I guess a lot of mainstream media (MSM) are taking this approach. Not just locally but the international ones as well. One needs to dig deep to get the specific information they want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 ya, I also agree with it. Recently not too long ago, ST printed out university grad get 10k pay. I was like yes, these are few exceptional case, but no need to print out and let people have misconception of thinking after grad will get very good pay. Well, we all know who is in charge of SPH??? A v good friend of a 88 yr old man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 Well, we all know who is in charge of SPH??? A v good friend of a 88 yr old man. SG media is open secret....just that some of us fail to see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 (edited) I will only accept a recession when property price and rental fall like no tomorrow. Once this happen, everything else will follow. I don't see that happening, yet. rental price crashed... yes, cause its mainly foreigner driven... property price? gradually adjusted 20% to 50% over period of 1 to 2 yrs is possible in SG.... suddent drop of more than 60% within mths like what happen in US? wait long long.... unlikely to happen here in SG during economy crisis... Edited September 17, 2011 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 I concur with you on the bold words. ya got one lady.. O levels.. earning 3k+ still wanna change job (same jobscope) and ask for higher pay... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged September 17, 2011 Share September 17, 2011 (edited) I think you need to get your facts right 1st. Singapore property price did drop and that's during 1997 period and also year 2008 period. Did Singapore collapsed? So your thinking is property price will rise forever, which will not be the case as when price keep rising and when it reach to an unsustainable level or when there is a recession, price will drop. Printing $ will not solve the problem, in fact it make things worst as it creates inflation, and only the rich and the super rich benefit the most. With average out to as a whole, many people will end up facing more difficulties of rising cost of living and end up quality of life will drop. you are right, the price of property drop in 97 in general.... but singapore property never crashed ... its just some price adjustement.... when crashed, its something like US, where price slashed 50% also nobody dare to buy.... in 97/98, I rememeber the HDB price only adjusted by less tha 30% for some lousy location.... in fact, those good location near MRT doesnt drop at all... Edited September 17, 2011 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 18, 2011 Share September 18, 2011 monthly fluctuations cannot be a good gauge. not supporting apple. but in general many semicon MNCs in singapore are doing very well this year. just go look at job street semicon hiring and they are hiring for fab operations, so semicon is still firing on all cylinders NODX has been weak and/or negative for the electronics cluster in the last few months, so I wasn't talking about a 1 month figure. Well, the jury is still out, I suppose. Job street may not be good indicator as other industries are going well, especially the service sector (exclude banks in general), and people are playing musical chair, so is it hiring for replacement or for expansion? Anyway, I think the slowdown is not as bad this time round or it has not trickle down yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 18, 2011 Share September 18, 2011 To answer your question on force leave..yes, it started in Sep... Aug is still good... Sep number should show up then. thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 18, 2011 Share September 18, 2011 don't look at month to month fluctuations. Not accurate. All I can say is that companies are mostly on a cautious outlook. yeap, everyone is cautious now, banks, manufacturers, property developers. headcount freeze and cost cutting appear to be very popular now but a lot of the numbers still look quite ok, the million dollar question.... If Europe blows up, I think the next one can be very nasty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear September 18, 2011 Share September 18, 2011 strange that you guys are bringing this up when I have mentioned that a recession is already here 1.5 months ago in one of the thread. At that time, people were still challenging me. You should start to see a property price reversal in Q4 if not latest 2012 Q1. U were challenged cos' at that point in time, it didn't suit the political arguments of certain people... it was then framed as an miw/tt scare tactic. Now all the elections over liao, can return to realism and blame the downturn on miw/tt again. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear September 18, 2011 Share September 18, 2011 any company out there start force leave? or cut OT? or retrenchment? i am from semincon industry heard that fab start to force leave from next month onward...warm shutdown... Heard the big fab in Pasir ris is asking their staff to clear leaves.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maka Neutral Newbie September 18, 2011 Share September 18, 2011 i wonder what will the property agents be doing during the next crisis? Used to be so yaya for most (not all)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged September 18, 2011 Share September 18, 2011 (edited) U were challenged cos' at that point in time, it didn't suit the political arguments of certain people... it was then framed as an miw/tt scare tactic. Now all the elections over liao, can return to realism and blame the downturn on miw/tt again. [laugh] 1.5 months ago, I was saying that the gov. should start thinking of some scheme to help companies here, and don't wait until all the data is saying we are in recession. By then, a lot of jobs would have been cut (just like the previous 2008 crisis where I feel the job credit scheme is abit too late). In short, they have to be proactive about this, not reactive. Look at Swiss gov.....they are already helping companies to contribute a bigger portion of CPF even right now because their companies are hit by the high Swiss francs. In addition, they think that wasn't enough, and peg it to the Euro as well Edited September 18, 2011 by Icedbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear September 18, 2011 Share September 18, 2011 1.5 months ago, I was saying that the gov. should start thinking of some scheme to help companies here, and don't wait until all the data is saying we are in recession. By then, a lot of jobs would have been cut (just like the previous 2008 crisis where I feel the job credit scheme is abit too late). In short, they have to be proactive about this, not reactive. Look at Swiss gov.....they are already helping companies to contribute a bigger portion of CPF even right now because their companies are hit by the high Swiss francs. In addition, they think that wasn't enough, and peg it to the Euro as well our govt style is----you die first,they die last la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeke1 2nd Gear September 18, 2011 Author Share September 18, 2011 sg garment will not forg out money till people start complaining....this is y the nation is good at complaining....no complain no gain....keep it up people... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...