Sign of economy downturn

Leeke1

Extract From Business Times

Domestic shipments of electronics extended its decline last month, tumbling a further 19 per cent year-on-year after shrinking 17 per cent in July. Non-electronic domestic exports jumped 20.4 per cent in August, higher than the 5.8 per cent increase posted in the previous month.

'The rise in non-electronic NODX was led by ships and boats, optical apparatus (plus 670 per cent) and disk media products (plus 36 per cent),' IE Singapore said.

Unquote

Your company must be supporting Apple products, otherwise it does not quite gel with the above report. During the last big electronics downturn, I know of firms running at full capacity while others were folding, just becoz they produced a high tech wireless component that was in high demand. So the industry can be quite diverse. I am just curious to know from insiders if semicon fabs are running up inventory while planning shutdown thereafter as running at less than full capacity may not be that efficient.

monthly fluctuations cannot be a good gauge.

not supporting apple. but in general many semicon MNCs in singapore are doing very well this year. just go look at job street semicon hiring and they are hiring for fab operations, so semicon is still firing on all cylinders

Edited by Relacklabrudder

Last month I went for interview at one of the semicon. A month liao no sound from them so decided to call their HR to check was told hiring temporary freeze. So the answer quite obvious liao.

means u apply for those small small sme type, u see jobstreet now:

http://job-search.jobstreet.com.sg/singapo...a-pte-ltd-jobs/

http://job-search.jobstreet.com.sg/singapo...singapore-jobs/

Extract From Business Times

Domestic shipments of electronics extended its decline last month, tumbling a further 19 per cent year-on-year after shrinking 17 per cent in July. Non-electronic domestic exports jumped 20.4 per cent in August, higher than the 5.8 per cent increase posted in the previous month.

'The rise in non-electronic NODX was led by ships and boats, optical apparatus (plus 670 per cent) and disk media products (plus 36 per cent),' IE Singapore said.

Unquote

Your company must be supporting Apple products, otherwise it does not quite gel with the above report. During the last big electronics downturn, I know of firms running at full capacity while others were folding, just becoz they produced a high tech wireless component that was in high demand. So the industry can be quite diverse. I am just curious to know from insiders if semicon fabs are running up inventory while planning shutdown thereafter as running at less than full capacity may not be that efficient.

don't look at month to month fluctuations. Not accurate.

All I can say is that companies are mostly on a cautious outlook.

You even bother to call them up to check if you didnt hear from them after your interview? [:/] When i go for interview, if i didnt heard from them after few weeks, i just take it i didnt get the job.

But if the hiring is freeze in that company, then how come they want to advertise in the first place?! Wouldnt it waste both the company and the person coming for interview!

You even bother to call them up to check if you didnt hear from them after your interview? [:/] When i go for interview, if i didnt heard from them after few weeks, i just take it i didnt get the job.

But if the hiring is freeze in that company, then how come they want to advertise in the first place?! Wouldnt it waste both the company and the person coming for interview!

they are not lying.. they probably need to fill a couple of headcount....

after filling up those.. no more vacancy left so freeze lor

The million dollar question, did the force leave exercise start recently? I think electricity consumption volume is one of the advance indicators but according to market report, August volume had not declined. Perhaps semicon and industrial sectors were still running at full capacity during month of August as partial shutdown or start-stops are expensive.... can shed some light on production run in July and August as compared to Q2 of this year?

To answer your question on force leave..yes, it started in Sep... Aug is still good...

monthly fluctuations cannot be a good gauge.

not supporting apple. but in general many semicon MNCs in singapore are doing very well this year. just go look at job street semicon hiring and they are hiring for fab operations, so semicon is still firing on all cylinders

Are you in front end semicon? It is good until recent....Q4 is a down Down situation....

to quantify them.....my machine used to run 3K wafers/week......started from last weeks...just clocked 1Kwafer/week

just knew last week that they will have to shut down some machine but keep it energized (warm shut down)....

this week they told me they will even shut down the power to safe cost...(coolshutdown)

next mth they are going to force leave for a week...

heard from their management...the outlook is not good till 1st quarter of next year.....they have no forecast later on....

very gloomy indeed..

i from semicon , definitely no slow down, good bonus this year!

can PM me the company? i am interested le....got big bonus sure got hiring ho...

the only company can 100% survive in semicon is KLA....

am not from semicon and i found a new job with a 30% increment. what slow down....

don listen too much from government, sometime they scare kana blame so keep saying globally not doing well.

so if we still have positive GDP, it becomes their credit for doing nothing.............

Edited by Tom_kkh

am not from semicon and i found a new job with a 30% increment. what slow down....

don listen too much from government, sometime they scare kana blame so keep saying globally not doing well.

so if we still have positive GDP, it becomes their credit for doing nothing.............

i think u better be careful...."last in 1st out"

this is very common

yup..front end semicon is definitely slowing down. Some pre-production fabs are still in the starting up phases so not much impact on the staffs yet while some full production fabs are still running full steam because they are replenishing inventories that have been overly conservative ever since the last steep downturn.

That, they just did in the last quarter and now they are in the tail end of this process. With no new and a reduction of existing orders coming in, cost down have long began for some fabs. Starting with idling machines, concurrently with running a shorter workweek or forced leave on their staffs. By next year, pay freeze/cut and finally layoff will be in the pipeline. Next on the line this year end to be hit will be the supporting businesses like the vendors, suppliers, contractors etc. This will spread over to the rest of the markets like ripples and gaining speed fast into a raging storm by early next year Q1.

Projected pickup activities are only going to happen in next year Q2..So guys, hold on tight and hope this will be a short one..

Note: semcon is a leading indicator of up to six mth in advance.

This year maybe good bonus... but i don believe next year... unless those asses in EU & US can do something about their economics... cos China alone cannot support the whole damm world....

i use to believe in our Straits Times bUT now I have given up

they either tell half truths or manipulate the statistics

an example

while the world was going into fiancial crisis, the paper was happily painting rosy picture of singapore and how employment is stable as compared to various countries

many thought singapore would be affected but NOT much because of the newspaper reporting and re-assurance from the government

but when singapore kena bad

the government turn around and blame us for be complacent, we rely too much on the government

all i really asking, give us the true picture so that we can all make better inform decision on our finances and our lives

the high singapore dollar is not sustainable, it is killing our SME

they are doing so to offset inflation as increasing interest rate may stall the economy

i use to believe in our Straits Times bUT now I have given up

they either tell half truths or manipulate the statistics

an example

while the world was going into fiancial crisis, the paper was happily painting rosy picture of singapore and how employment is stable as compared to various countries

many thought singapore would be affected but NOT much because of the newspaper reporting and re-assurance from the government

but when singapore kena bad

the government turn around and blame us for be complacent, we rely too much on the government

all i really asking, give us the true picture so that we can all make better inform decision on our finances and our lives

the high singapore dollar is not sustainable, it is killing our SME

they are doing so to offset inflation as increasing interest rate may stall the economy

ya, I also agree with it. Recently not too long ago, ST printed out university grad get 10k pay. I was like yes, these are few exceptional case, but no need to print out and let people have misconception of thinking after grad will get very good pay.