Proton_neutron 1st Gear December 21, 2013 Share December 21, 2013 Today's Life Motoring got review the Orlando 1.4 Turbo. Better than 1.8L obviously, but next year CAT B liao lor. May as well wait for GM's 1.6 Turbo 180bhp (or 206bhp)??? New Cruze sedan coming out also. By then, the new Orlando should be due too. Just wait another year and see lor if you're not in a hurry. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear December 21, 2013 Share December 21, 2013 On 12/21/2013 at 2:02 AM, Proton_neutron said: Today's Life Motoring got review the Orlando 1.4 Turbo. Better than 1.8L obviously, but next year CAT B liao lor. May as well wait for GM's 1.6 Turbo 180bhp (or 206bhp)??? New Cruze sedan coming out also. By then, the new Orlando should be due too. Just wait another year and see lor if you're not in a hurry. IMHO, Buy car, Japanese one always should be 1st option, US car ford, Chevy etc paper data looks very actractive, but after 4~5 years, you will realise which one is correct investment Value of money, reliability always Japanese wins 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcscot 5th Gear December 21, 2013 Share December 21, 2013 I really beg to differ! Ford has been producing fairly reliable cars. I have previously driven a Ford Focus overseas and I know how reliable they are. However, it is not an exciting car with little gadgets in the car. Jeremy Clarkson (of TopGear fame) always has a nice car to be seen in ie a nice MERC etc etc but for his daily runaround car is a Ford Focus which he swears by! In Singapore, we only need a BnB car (but will be nice to have a Lambo Huracan ) for daily use! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleonly 5th Gear December 24, 2014 Share December 24, 2014 Bumping this for sharing , anyone driving the turbo version can share the pro n con of this car? Thanks 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear December 31, 2014 Share December 31, 2014 On 12/24/2014 at 4:42 AM, Simpleonly said: Bumping this for sharing , anyone driving the turbo version can share the pro n con of this car? Thanks Bro, have you test-driven it yet? I test drove one a few months back. Even went back to look over it again a few weekends ago. A few things to consider from my own personal viewpoint / needs only: The middle row seats are fixed in position. They cannot slide forwards/back. Quite unusual from so many MPVs I've viewed. Reduces flexibility in space adjustment in case of full passenger load. However, last row space is not too bad (relatively-speaking compared to European mid-sized MPVs). The 1.4 turbo engine is quite powerful (but then compared to a Trajet, all new cars are powerful haha). I'm a bit skeptical how real-life FC will turn out. Especially when I noticed that the seats seem very well-built, i.e. heavy (just like the 'Jet). Of course FC will be better than my current car but I'm looking forward to much better improvements not just marginal. It uses conventional auto gearbox - less likelihood of electronics issues/breakdowns. 1.4 litre engine saves on road tax. It is Cat B unfortunately. Since I'm not an owner, can't comment on reliability. But I believe they have 5-year unlimited mileage warranty which is pretty decent. We don't really like the exterior look of the car, but I guess one can get used to it. Get it in black will help. Based on today's prices, we decided to downgrade to a 5-seater rather than get another MPV which would be great to have but probably under-utilized. So in the end we didn't book it. However, the Orlando would be a practical choice (esp. if you can get over its looks) if you need a bit more space. (BTW, have you considered the Honda Mobilio?) 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear January 2, 2015 Share January 2, 2015 On 12/24/2014 at 4:42 AM, Simpleonly said: Bumping this for sharing , anyone driving the turbo version can share the pro n con of this car? Thanks Hi, Did a mini review of the cruze turbo which shares the same engine here. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2679008-2013-cruze/page-4 Shouldbe more or less similar in performance except the Orlando sits higher. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleonly 5th Gear January 2, 2015 Share January 2, 2015 Hi Bro, Thanks for the detail that you have share!! No, I have not test drive it yet. So far i'm attracted to it low pice for a MPV at this moment ... LOL. And i'm actual Ok with the design of the car... I'm sure many will say it look like "coffin car" but I quite like the square look with clean line. LOL -Fix centre row is a minus point. -conventional auto gearbox is plus point as what you have descript. -hmm didn't know it is Cat B :(, but it price is seems cheaper then some cat A MPV. -Jet fly slow but feel like tank with it solid body HAHA. Yeah man with the current price I did too think of going for the cheaper 5 seater K3 at ard 100K but I cant bear to ask my old folk to take their own transport shall we have gathering or a meal out together :( Im still shopping around at this moment come worst might renew my jet for another 5 year LOL but that is also ard 9k/yr, siow hor. Once again many thanks for your input. greatly appreciate it!!! On 12/31/2014 at 6:18 AM, Bigtoothpick said: Bro, have you test-driven it yet? I test drove one a few months back. Even went back to look over it again a few weekends ago. A few things to consider from my own personal viewpoint / needs only: The middle row seats are fixed in position. They cannot slide forwards/back. Quite unusual from so many MPVs I've viewed. Reduces flexibility in space adjustment in case of full passenger load. However, last row space is not too bad (relatively-speaking compared to European mid-sized MPVs). The 1.4 turbo engine is quite powerful (but then compared to a Trajet, all new cars are powerful haha). I'm a bit skeptical how real-life FC will turn out. Especially when I noticed that the seats seem very well-built, i.e. heavy (just like the 'Jet). Of course FC will be better than my current car but I'm looking forward to much better improvements not just marginal. It uses conventional auto gearbox - less likelihood of electronics issues/breakdowns. 1.4 litre engine saves on road tax. It is Cat B unfortunately. Since I'm not an owner, can't comment on reliability. But I believe they have 5-year unlimited mileage warranty which is pretty decent. We don't really like the exterior look of the car, but I guess one can get used to it. Get it in black will help. Based on today's prices, we decided to downgrade to a 5-seater rather than get another MPV which would be great to have but probably under-utilized. So in the end we didn't book it. However, the Orlando would be a practical choice (esp. if you can get over its looks) if you need a bit more space. (BTW, have you considered the Honda Mobilio?) On 1/2/2015 at 6:08 AM, Bravo said: Hi, Did a mini review of the cruze turbo which shares the same engine here. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2679008-2013-cruze/page-4 Shouldbe more or less similar in performance except the Orlando sits higher. Thanks to you too Bro! Good sharing at that thread, didn't know it share the same engine. Based on your input it seem the Chevy car are also solid feel too. I do agreed that with the cost different save, it can be put to good use on other area. Shall find my way there to "molest" the sale there... Ops!!!! I mean the show car HEHEHE Thanks again!! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear January 3, 2015 Share January 3, 2015 On 1/2/2015 at 6:07 PM, Simpleonly said: Hi Bro, Thanks for the detail that you have share!! No, I have not test drive it yet. So far i'm attracted to it low pice for a MPV at this moment ... LOL. And i'm actual Ok with the design of the car... I'm sure many will say it look like "coffin car" but I quite like the square look with clean line. LOL -Fix centre row is a minus point. -conventional auto gearbox is plus point as what you have descript. -hmm didn't know it is Cat B :(, but it price is seems cheaper then some cat A MPV. -Jet fly slow but feel like tank with it solid body HAHA. Yeah man with the current price I did too think of going for the cheaper 5 seater K3 at ard 100K but I cant bear to ask my old folk to take their own transport shall we have gathering or a meal out together :( Im still shopping around at this moment come worst might renew my jet for another 5 year LOL but that is also ard 9k/yr, siow hor. Once again many thanks for your input. greatly appreciate it!!! Thanks to you too Bro! Good sharing at that thread, didn't know it share the same engine. Based on your input it seem the Chevy car are also solid feel too. I do agreed that with the cost different save, it can be put to good use on other area. Shall find my way there to "molest" the sale there... Ops!!!! I mean the show car HEHEHE Thanks again!! Fyi, The Chevrolet shares several engine components as the Opel. They r under the GM umbrella. If u open the door, engine cover etc etc. U will notice alot of GM logos n serial codes. If u need my salesman to assist u, jus pm me. He offers very good service and very experience n knwledgeable. All the best! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleonly 5th Gear January 3, 2015 Share January 3, 2015 Thanks bro!! pls do pm his contact :-) On 1/3/2015 at 5:11 AM, Bravo said: Fyi, The Chevrolet shares several engine components as the Opel. They r under the GM umbrella. If u open the door, engine cover etc etc. U will notice alot of GM logos n serial codes. If u need my salesman to assist u, jus pm me. He offers very good service and very experience n knwledgeable. All the best! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diaoweifeng Clutched January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 (edited) Had a test drive a few months ago. Quite powerful compared to my Altis. Can anybody tell me how many airbags for this Orlando LS 1.4T? Thanks. Edited January 15, 2015 by Diaoweifeng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleonly 5th Gear January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 Only 2 front air bags, if I didn't hear wrongly from the sale there. Yes the drive is quite powerful n the steering is quite accurately too. On 1/15/2015 at 9:30 AM, Diaoweifeng said: Had a test drive a few months ago. Quite powerful compared to my Altis. Can anybody tell me how many airbags for this Orlando LS 1.4T? Thanks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 On 1/15/2015 at 9:30 AM, Diaoweifeng said: Had a test drive a few months ago. Quite powerful compared to my Altis. Can anybody tell me how many airbags for this Orlando LS 1.4T? Thanks. 6 airbags. Those cars with 5 star euro crash test has 6 airbags or more. On 1/16/2015 at 3:55 AM, Simpleonly said: Only 2 front air bags, if I didn't hear wrongly from the sale there. Yes the drive is quite powerful n the steering is quite accurately too. Oh is it? 2 only? I'm sure you can remember the name of the sales person who told you that. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simpleonly 5th Gear January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 On 1/16/2015 at 4:06 AM, Watwheels said: 6 airbags. Those cars with 5 star euro crash test has 6 airbags or more. Oh is it? 2 only? I'm sure you can remember the name of the sales person who told you that. well I remember the sale who serve me, good guy. But well not disturb him till I have confirm my decision :) it better to double check from the sale again on this for those keen buyer who is concern on the number of air bags. the spec does not state on the number of air bag. The page below only mention front air bags, never mention on the other bags. Anyway I'm ok with 2 air bags.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diaoweifeng Clutched January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 (edited) But their pricelist shows 2 airbags only. On 1/16/2015 at 4:06 AM, Watwheels said: 6 airbags. Those cars with 5 star euro crash test has 6 airbags or more. Oh is it? 2 only? I'm sure you can remember the name of the sales person who told you that. Edited January 16, 2015 by Diaoweifeng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazy_turtle 1st Gear January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 On 1/15/2015 at 9:30 AM, Diaoweifeng said: Had a test drive a few months ago. Quite powerful compared to my Altis. Can anybody tell me how many airbags for this Orlando LS 1.4T? Thanks. 2 airbags just like the cruze wagon .. that's one of the reason i didnt shortlist the orlando 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 On 1/16/2015 at 4:39 AM, Diaoweifeng said: But their pricelist shows 2 airbags only. I always thought it was 6. Perhaps the model that I saw was some time back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 On 1/16/2015 at 5:01 AM, Watwheels said: I always thought it was 6. Perhaps the model that I saw was some time back. i thought you stated you drive one of these? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 On 1/16/2015 at 6:53 AM, Enye said: i thought you stated you drive one of these? Yeah. How embarrassing. LoL... Coz I view it twice once in 2011 and the latest. The 2011 1.8L did have 6 airbags So I keep remembering it came with 6. The latest I didn't check I buy liao. LoL... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...