Smoker accuses NEA officers of violence

Ahtong

Most likely they chose weak decent n old.

They not stupid lah.

EArn $15/Smoker caught ? and got High Chan Kena Whacked and if approach a Group of Gangsters ?

NO THANKS...

Please lah, the smoker also no angel himself. Of course he's going to narrate a story that is most favorable to him and paint himself out to be a victim. Such NEA job not easy to do, when you are not in uniform, the guilty ones will try all sorts of stunts to escape. I've seen one guy at Kovan Heartland Mall, kept shouting at the officer, threatening to accuse the officer of using physical force against him, etc. :angry:

What do you expect when they hired low educated 'officers' and pay them a base salary of 1K plus including $15 commission for each offence slip.

Its incentive to catch offenders even when the act has not happened yet. Its like minority report all over again.

You think this is the first complain of 'abuse' by such officers? I've seen and heard tons of them during my CSO days. Its LLST pay up.

What?..only a low educated person can type such statement.

Left butt on stone bench even worst right. If someone don't know & sit how?

If he didn't intend to throw, why put on bench. I don't smoke but it doesn't make sense if someone will put the butt on a bench, & is not intend to litter.

EArn $15/Smoker caught ? and got High Chan Kena Whacked and if approach a Group of Gangsters ?

NO THANKS...

Well based on visual observation on visitors to the customer service centre, the main offenders are the poor bangaldeshi, myanmarese, PRC, thai nationalities. You can sense that these people (albeit PRC are generally stereotyped as rough) have been issued fines as they appear to be weaker in terms of the country's laws and rules.

I can tell you no matter what these NEA officers tell you in terms of appealing, there is no such thing as a fine waiver. It dosent matter if you bring your CPF statement, PUB Bills, MP Letter to prove you are poor.

The most you get is a date extension before having to pay the $300 compound fee.(NOTE: the $300 is not the fine itself, it is a compound fee that is paid so as not to attend court. The real fine can amount to $1,000).

And once the officers issue you the ticket, it has to be paid. The offenders have spoke to me and described how the officers told them that the ticket is just a warning. HAHA what a load of BS.

This is my observation.

What?..only a low educated person can type such statement.

Well i guess i was a tad bit stereotypical with my comments. And i do apologise for it. But it is to my knowledge that they hire officers that are definately not diploma level and above. And i have mixed with these officers so i know what they are like.

if he quickly throw away and tell them nicely lah, run for what? can run out of singapore? [rolleyes]

Which part of the article said he ran? not everyone like u mah, so rich, can just pay fine. Make tons of money while posting on forums.

I believe these NEA officers are in no fault at all and the offender is probably trying to pull a fast one.

These NEA officers will observe the offender and determine if they have any intention of picking up the butt and disposing it properly. Most likely the NEA officers noticed that the offender has no intention of disposing off the butt properly and wanted to leave the scene and hence they move in to confront.

Can NEA touch or hold the culprit?

Or block culprit from walking away?

Funny.....I think police also cannot touch.....unless for self defense.

Next time just tell NEA to follow you to home to collect IC. Just say forget where you kept the IC. Could be at home!

Agreed. Is not criminal offence that guy committed. They can restrain him from leaving but pin him down.......hmmm [:(]

Come a day when i am late in paying Town council 's fee.....will that officer come and pin me down. [mad]

Edited by Kopites

Which part of the article said he ran? not everyone like u mah, so rich, can just pay fine. Make tons of money while posting on forums.

Zhong then swung his right arm to free himself, and walked faster in attempt to escape, but was pinned to the ground by an officer who ran up to him.

no he was not running but rather he was crawling! :o :o

i where go rich, i definitely cannot afford a $10 pack of cig which i can eat for 3 days or for my son's half month allowance -_-

I quote "Under these protocols, officers should first wait to see if the offender has any intention of picking up the litter dropped, and that if the offender walks away without picking the litter up, he is deemed to have littered."

The protocols are very clear. There are two steps to this protocol.

Step one - Officers should first wait to see if the offender has any intention of picking up the litter dropped.

Step two - The offender is deemed to have littered IF the offender walks away without picking the litter up.

If you have smoker friends, you would know that smokers don't always stop at one stick. So what do they do after one stick? They will leave it next to them. Sometimes they might stand up to stretch before lighting up a second stick.

Under the protocol, he would not had been deemed to had littered. But assuming the narrative is true, Mr Zhong had merely stood up without taking a step forward and thus failed the second test. The NEA officers were wrong in this instance.

The NEA spokesperson said, however, that police are investigating the case, and have classified it as one where criminal force was used against a public servant.

________________________________________________________________________________

i tot is civil servant used force? the tables has turned?

maybe the offender nearly scratch the servants' face with his IC [rolleyes]

Edited by Tom_kkh

All these catching location is really a joke...why not ask the NEA officers go Geylang or little india there to catch, see wat will happen....

Or LTA officers go little india there catch jay walkers!!! confirm chop hit quota wahahhahaha...Think this has been discussed b4...zzzzzzzzzzzz

I have to agree that this smoker is no angel.I happened to encounter one drama b4.

This whole body tattoo xiao,threw his ciggie butt and walk off.I was beside him.as he about to walk off,2 NEA officers approach him.

He was told that they saw him littering,and this bugger started to BS and challenged the officers.Telling them the ciggies dun belong to him.One of the officer went to pick his butt and match and cigg box.Then this bugger started to #$%^&* and wanted to start a fight.

Luckily,this happened outside Immigration building.A few police officers came and the rest is history.

If u kuai kuai handover ur IC,and juz admit ur fault,i dun think the officers will resort to this. <_<

Smoker who littered accuses NEA officers of violence

A smoker caught littering outside a mall on Tuesday complained of violent treatment from officers of the National Environment Agency (NEA).

Sales executive Zhong Wen Cai, in his late 20s, had left his cigarette butt on a stone seat after his smoke break outside Raffles City Shopping Centre when two NEA officers descended on him.

They informed Zhong that he was littering and asked him for his identification card (IC). In response, he picked up the cigarette butt, threw it into a nearby rubbish bin and tried to explain that it was a misunderstanding.