Most durable, best gripping tyres

Saviourwu

just checked the prices, XM2 and GR90 difference about $20 each. More good reviews on GR90 compared to XM2, think i may take GR90 then [:p]

P.S: Both at around 200+

Falken 912. Used until almost botak for 2yrs with great mileage. Pretty cheap and ok IMO. Not Zhao Qia tyres.

In my view.....singapore road kind of waste money for expensive tires. Normal tyres should suffice. If you drive too fast in heavy down pour, even your tires can't save you. I have frenz brag to me about swearing the use of Michelin, Good year or Bridgestone tires....at the end, rainy days also skid and buang on to road shoulder or other car. Haiz.....the driver plays a bigger part la.

Experience in driving during heavy downpour to prevent/reduce accident:

1) Speed less,

2) drive slower during heavy down pour,

3) change to a lower gear if you can (driving manual) during heavy rain,

4) change your tyres regularly (every 2yrs), visual check tyres every month

5) slow down before a turn,

6) keep in lane,

7) avoid puddles if possible,

8) keep a save distance >2sec rule,

9) check rear and side mirror to always update on the road environment around you

10) invest on better windscreen wiper to improve visibility,

11) open headlights during heavy rain,

12) Use a combination of engine brake and foot brake to slow down (for manuals)

Edited by TanKianW

we are choosing tyre like buy a house

Banglow $ very ex ,too big garden to maintain

Semi D $ still ex can only park 2 car

Terrace $ ok can only park 1 car

Condo $ can affort, big car park but need to pay monthly maintenance

EC easliy affort state condo, maintenance cheap BUT still Governement

HDB cheap and good low maintenance but is a public housing any body all can access to your flat (no privacy) carpark must pay [:(]

basically is the affortabilty made you change trhe perception.

If you place safety above every things you will know which 1 to choose.

for me i knew continental cars are generally stronger thus safer becos of all the additional features.

But when you cant affort how? get the cheaper car and put on the better shoe to enhance the safety

what is the point after spent so much like $100k or up and come to only 4 contacts for average 2 years life span hunting for cheap tyre

anyway to side track agree with yr point EC is still goverment

if too big for bungalow then just lease out the home to expats

Edited by Ithunk

actually, the durability and good gripping all depends on the types of road you frequently travel...on singapore roads, most tyres are good enuff...

i'm on PS3, and after few times up and down KL, can see the tyres started to wear liao...also depends on your brakes (brake pads wearing off)....and travelling speed

for those frequently travel long distance to the north, a better reputed tyre is always recommended...other than that, any normal tyres good enuff...if travel within road speed limit...

the other thing is comfort and noise....same, depends on what kind of roads, but generally quiet tyres are not as gripping esp on wet roads...

michelin PS3, BS GR90, CSCseries are good tyres for all purposes..though they're more costly than others

If you are the type of person who run your tyres until botak, then it's about time you change your mindset of usability of tyres before they go botak.

There's a difference between the top end and normal tyres, especially if you are using a powerful car.

The ability to maintain a consistent temp makes driving more predictable for the top end tyres. For normal range of tyres, the variation of temp is likely to be greater than that of the top end tyres, and hence the grip and handling may vary as you drive for longer distance.

Unfortunately, some pple don't know their tyres well enough and push them beyond the law of physics. For me, I never use more than 80% of the tyre's capability as some slack is needed especially in emergency.

Falken 912. Used until almost botak for 2yrs with great mileage. Pretty cheap and ok IMO. Not Zhao Qia tyres.

In my view.....singapore road kind of waste money for expensive tires. Normal tyres should suffice. If you drive too fast in heavy down pour, even your tires can't save you. I have frenz brag to me about swearing the use of Michelin, Good year or Bridgestone tires....at the end, rainy days also skid and buang on to road shoulder or other car. Haiz.....the driver plays a bigger part la.

Experience in driving during heavy downpour to prevent/reduce accident:

1) Speed less,

2) drive slower during heavy down pour,

3) change to a lower gear if you can (driving manual) during heavy rain,

4) change your tyres regularly (every 2yrs), visual check tyres every month

5) slow down before a turn,

6) keep in lane,

7) avoid puddles if possible,

8) keep a save distance >2sec rule,

9) check rear and side mirror to always update on the road environment around you

10) invest on better windscreen wiper to improve visibility,

11) open headlights during heavy rain,

12) Use a combination of engine brake and foot brake to slow down (for manuals)

yeah. agreed with some mcfers had mentioned.

i had saw quite a number of car owners modding exhaust pipe, installed TC, blink-blink and stuffs but end up buying lousy tyres?

like i had always mentioned, tyres and brakes are the most important things in your ride.

it's not about how fast your car can go, it's not about how nice your car looks.

it's about how fast your car can stop and how good the traction and grip of your car.

as for TS's topic, durable and best grip tyres are usually much higher price than most UHP tyres.

be prepared to spend that amount of money else either choose grippy but less durable tyres or durable but less grippy tyres.

any feedback for dunlop dz101? Am considering it between this and kumho ku31, as i will have considerable savings compared to t1r and re001 and i don't intend to drive so hard on my stock glx.

Comments appreciated! :)

If you are the type of person who run your tyres until botak, then it's about time you change your mindset of usability of tyres before they go botak.

There's a difference between the top end and normal tyres, especially if you are using a powerful car.

The ability to maintain a consistent temp makes driving more predictable for the top end tyres. For normal range of tyres, the variation of temp is likely to be greater than that of the top end tyres, and hence the grip and handling may vary as you drive for longer distance.

Unfortunately, some pple don't know their tyres well enough and push them beyond the law of physics. For me, I never use more than 80% of the tyre's capability as some slack is needed especially in emergency.

hi bro you got a point..

anyway,

was on my Falken 912 wear rating of 380. run until almost 70k km. few times a month on NSH..

but more careful since it's running botak. things like not tailgating.. etc..

get to know your car.. don't exceed the limits.

now changed to s001 from --->tyres. liked the thicker sidewalls compared to csc3.

bussiness minded ba.. tell me change battery since its 2 yrs lah.. but still at 80% capacity leh. oh well. lol

maybe busy or what. one thing i cannot stand is I found out on my 3rd day is that left side tyres pump 34psi.. right side pump 36 psi. Normal air some more.

jitao lost mood. and 2 of my cute tyre valves changed to normal metal valves.

not flaming.. just sharing my experience.. maybe if some bros get your new tyres.. check pressure too.

btw, my DOM for all 4 tyres are different. oldest 4410.. latest 0311..

actually, the durability and good gripping all depends on the types of road you frequently travel...on singapore roads, most tyres are good enuff...

i'm on PS3, and after few times up and down KL, can see the tyres started to wear liao...also depends on your brakes (brake pads wearing off)....and travelling speed

for those frequently travel long distance to the north, a better reputed tyre is always recommended...other than that, any normal tyres good enuff...if travel within road speed limit...

the other thing is comfort and noise....same, depends on what kind of roads, but generally quiet tyres are not as gripping esp on wet roads...

michelin PS3, BS GR90, CSCseries are good tyres for all purposes..though they're more costly than others

hi bro,

is ps3 threadwear 320? hoot up down KL.. wear liao ah?

lol.. my s001 280... ps3 bo stock when i need to change tyres..

Threadwear cannot compare across brands !

That's the reason why csc tyres are light , ie very soft sidewall construction vs that of bs tyres , which is also stronger than michelin as well

hi bro,

That's the reason why csc tyres are light , ie very soft sidewall construction vs that of bs tyres , which is also stronger than michelin as well

alrighty bro..

thanks.

but the bs s001 really looks more robust than csc3... i like the rim protector too... lol

So Bridgestone tyres the strongest among the three brands, especially the sidewalls? Even no run-flat version, can use as run-flat then? Think i should really go for GR90 then [:p]

Cannot used as run flat tyres.!My friend's RE050A hit a nail,run until no air,later the tyre split open,nearly loss control.

Non runflat is all the way Non runflat

even a strongest sideway non runflat still will be deflated after lost of air .

run with flat tyre for prolong distance or at high speed all tyre will split.

hi bro,

if i remember correctly threadwear rating is only within the brand itself, not between brands. For example, Bridgestone 200 may last longer than say a Michelin 300, and Michelin 100 may last longer than goodyear 800, but Michelin 700 definitely will last 7 times longer than Michelin 100 [:p]

Tyre wear depends on how you drive.

For sporty cars with better handling and fast cornering, the tyres wear out faster.

If you drive moderately and take corners slowly, the tyres wear out more slowly.

Another factor is inflation pressure.

Near ideal pressure will keep minimise tyre wear, wearing out more evenly.

Edited by Grix17

Take a look here, most overseas countries offer warranty on thread life, some also warranty on road hazard (1 or 2 years) with new tire exchange or free patching:

http://www.michelinman.com/tire-selector/n...hydroedge-tires

thats really cool but i have yet to come across any tire shops here in sg who provide new exchanges~

patching services can be negotiated with most shops though~ thanks.

Agreed with you, my wife car on RE001 me on k415 and threadwear are 220 & 400, her RE001 can click 70K mine 38K due liao... [:(]

Both are non sportcar and driving manner almost same.

Edited by Jerryl