New 2nd Generation Mercedes B Class

Davidklt

Which B class did you rented? T245 (previous gen) or W246 (current gen)?

T245 has its signal stalk at 8 o'clock ... W246 is now same as every car at 9 o'clock. The 8 o'clock stalk is now cruise control.

T245 the position of the stalks are totally reversed.

Coming from a jap car, i can understand you have difficulty hitting the signal stalk with your left hand since you are used to it on the right hand side. Assuming your rented car is RHD... if LHD, it should be more natural to have the stalk on the left hand.

Merc steering weight is variable according to speed. At high speed it should be pretty heavy. If any jap cars with heavier steering, i reckon you should be driving either a Subaru, a Toyota or a Mazda.

All things considered, you probably should be looking at Lexus or Infiniti if you are so used to jap cars. You will feel right at home.

i actually do not know which gen it is. but it is a very new and well maintained car. think signal lever is at 8 o'clock. LHD.

i don't have difficulty switching the signal lever from right side (currently latio) to the left side. never once did i hit the wrong lever by mistake. it's just that i keep hitting the high beam when i signal. it was damn irritating. got horned a few times cos the driver in front thought i was highbeaming him when i signal left to overtake. paiseh leh.

the steering is indeed slightly heavier at higher speeds but i feel it is still a bit light at > 120km/hr. the steering weight gets even lighter during city driving. it is quite well known that latio's steering weight is very light even when compared to other jap makes. so i was a bit surprised by the light B class steering weight. but nevertheless, the B class' steering is precise. maybe i need another few days to get used to it.

if infiniti goes below $150k, maybe can consider. :grin: money no enough lah. :TT_TT:

That is a totally different car.

Forester is a powerful SUV. B class is a luxury mini MPV.

Forester got a good engine, but interior materials used are more for durability, may not be liked for some.

B class got an interior I will say most will like amid designs and materials used, and the driving style more suitable for refinement. It does not have much raw power, yet allows you to go for higher speed without you noticing it.

And yes, the FL version of the B class do drives better than before. Though not announced, they must have done something to the 7DCT gearbox to have a more responsive drive.

agree with you the interior of B class very nice. and it is a comfortable drive. did not really feel tired even driving hours on it w/o rest.

i actually do not know which gen it is. but it is a very new and well maintained car. think signal lever is at 8 o'clock. LHD.

i don't have difficulty switching the signal lever from right side (currently latio) to the left side. never once did i hit the wrong lever by mistake. it's just that i keep hitting the high beam when i signal. it was damn irritating. got horned a few times cos the driver in front thought i was highbeaming him when i signal left to overtake. paiseh leh.

the steering is indeed slightly heavier at higher speeds but i feel it is still a bit light at > 120km/hr. the steering weight gets even lighter during city driving. it is quite well known that latio's steering weight is very light even when compared to other jap makes. so i was a bit surprised by the light B class steering weight. but nevertheless, the B class' steering is precise. maybe i need another few days to get used to it.

if infiniti goes below $150k, maybe can consider. :grin: money no enough lah. :TT_TT:

agree with you the interior of B class very nice. and it is a comfortable drive. did not really feel tired even driving hours on it w/o rest.

i believe you rented a T245 B class, not the current W246, which has its indicator stalk at 9 o'clock on the left side of steering wheel.

Latio - ah, the steering is definitely heavier than the T246... which is similar to my wife's previous W168. The newer W246 B class steering will be similar or heavier than your latio.

That is a totally different car.

Forester is a powerful SUV. B class is a luxury mini MPV.

Forester got a good engine, but interior materials used are more for durability, may not be liked for some.

B class got an interior I will say most will like amid designs and materials used, and the driving style more suitable for refinement. It does not have much raw power, yet allows you to go for higher speed without you noticing it.

And yes, the FL version of the B class do drives better than before. Though not announced, they must have done something to the 7DCT gearbox to have a more responsive drive.

Forester is not an SUV. It's actually an MPV.

I'm trying to make a point that every car is different, so you can't just say "why pay more for a similar car?"

To you they may be similar, but to others they aren't. To me the BMW has a better engine and transmission, and has far superior tech features; if you are a gadget person then the BMW might appeal more to you.

The Merc looks nicer though.

The BMW 2 Series Active Tourer was built to compete head on with the B Class.

Dimensions, and design are very similar

Features are actually similar too.

However, i was told by my friend whom tested the 2 series that some features are Add ONs on their Basic model. (I could be wrong)

The B180 actually has the exact same hardware as the B200, only detuned to 121bhp (Cat A COE)

Whereas the Base model of the BMW 2 Series uses the 3 piston engine from MINI and pushes out an impressive 134bhp, which brings it into CAT B of our COE system, hence a higher total price.

The basic model of the B class comes with:

ABS

Electronic Stability Control

Auto headlights

Front & Rear proximity sensors

Driver & Front passenger electric seat adjustments with memory settings

Audio steering controls with Cruise control

Colour display unit that has blue tooth capability

Rain sensing wipers

Autodim rear view mirror

Tinting all round, including the driver side mirror

Interior lighting (FL model comes with multi selectable colours)

Lane departure warning

Front collision prevention warning (FL has active braking)

Brake HOLD function

Parktronic (Auto Steering, parking assistance)

Run flat tyres (noisy)

Add ONs

Reverse camera (Local add on to the display unit)

GPS(Local add on to the display unit)

I am planning to get B180 or BMW218, any comments on these. BM seem to have more features but B180 feel very shiok leh.

With the price, i can get a VW passat too....but hear many complaint on DSG and low resale value.

I am planning to get B180 or BMW218, any comments on these. BM seem to have more features but B180 feel very shiok leh.

With the price, i can get a VW passat too....but hear many complaint on DSG and low resale value.

on the contrary

get the passat

for the same price u are getting the bottom rung of bmw/merc and trust me the resale value is in the dumps, nobody wants them

passat u are the top tier model in sg and u get all the bells and whistles and passats hold their resale value very well as compare to the rest of conti large sedans like mondeo/c5/508..etc

DSG MU is only a problem for the 7 Dry clutch and predominantly occurs more on the lower end range cars like roc/jetta/1.4 golfs, passats failure rate is relatively lower, and being their top end model overall reliability much better

just look at the amount of old passats close to 9 yrs still running on the road

if u are going to look at "perceived / hearsay" "reliability of bmw and hope that their small cars as reliable as their big cars, which a 7 series fares no way better but even worse than a jetta...and that cramped rear...i think u are better off Bus Walk Mrt

drive passat girl look at u like hero, u pull up in a b or 2, really worse than zero

Edited by Furrynadz

on the contrary

get the passat

for the same price u are getting the bottom rung of bmw/merc and trust me the resale value is in the dumps, nobody wants them

passat u are the top tier model in sg and u get all the bells and whistles and passats hold their resale value very well as compare to the rest of conti large sedans like mondeo/c5/508..etc

DSG MU is only a problem for the 7 Dry clutch and predominantly occurs more on the lower end range cars like roc/jetta/1.4 golfs, passats failure rate is relatively lower, and being their top end model overall reliability much better

just look at the amount of old passats close to 9 yrs still running on the road

if u are going to look at "perceived / hearsay" "reliability of bmw and hope that their small cars as reliable as their big cars, which a 7 series fares no way better but even worse than a jetta...and that cramped rear...i think u are better off Bus Walk Mrt

drive passat girl look at u like hero, u pull up in a b or 2, really worse than zero

M and B logo very tempting esp when u hv not owned one b4. I was tempted.

Look beyond the badge. Compare features and specs. Hv a cooling period. Assess what u really need.

I've given up M and B entry models.

Edited by SafeCar

My family member is driving the B180 pre FL model. I would say this car has good FC and powerful when you need to over take or cut lanes. The interior is nice too esp the aircon vent very sporty.

Hi gentlemen, just got my b180 today, very exciting day. But I did notice that after driving home, I smelt a burnt smell and the hood seems extra hot. It still feels much hotter than my son's Kia after resting the car for one hour. Anybody has a similar experience or is this normal for this vehicle? I don't see any temperature warning lights at all. Thanks

No worries,new car is like this....Conti cars runs hotter than Jap/Kor cars.

I see, thanks for the advice gentlemen. My son was very worried and asked me to visit the workshop to check. I guess we worried for nothing,. Cheers

Any advice please....I am looking at B180 from CnC  vs VW Passat.  When in the showroom, respective sales person would talk about how great theirs and how bad the others.  This really confused me and the reason i'm comparing B180 vs Passat is because the price are quite close, nvm about the MPV or sedan.  However, some questions did catch my attentions and like some owners for advice. 

Questions got me thinking by respective sales ppl..

1. You sure you want VW, their car have problems

2. VW should compare with E class, ABC class cant even match up, and VW is cheaper than them.

3. B class is over priced and make in south Africa, A and B are just owning the brand, if you want Merc, go E lah

4. B need indent lah, Passat ex-stock for you.

5. You can compare VW with us, only BM can match up.

6. You see we have so many VW on the road, we are best selling, you wont regret.

Oh gosh...thanks!!!