Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 I suspect the concept of the working-supporting-elderly is more appropriate for welfare states like UK, Australia, etc because they pay very high income taxes so that they can get welfare benefits when they retire. Ours is the CPF system whereby you take care of yourself when you are old or have retired with this fund with nil or very neglible assistance from our dear gahment. Stretching a bit will be just children taking care of their elderly folks yes? Any experts in this field to comment? lol you are kidding me right? CPF is a excellent system but how many retirees really have enough left when they retire after housing etc? very very few. Most still rely on their kids to supplement. those without kids have to rely on gov ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 CPF is a excellent system but how many retirees really have enough left when they retire after housing etc? no s--t Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 well if all the old people would just hurry up and die already we wouldnt need to import anyone so its your Po Po's fault we need FTs People are living longer so we need to have more young. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 let the p@p import and convert them to citizenship, it is ok. why u all so worry? soon or later those new citizens will taste what, we, native citizens have tasted - life in SG is tough (excluding the rich). then they will follow our footsteps, that is not to have children... then the p@p will repeat the same process over and over again. im curious how is life here tough? housing is more affordable than comparable countries (as is evident by the fact we have highest home ownership in the world) Compare to comparable cities. In HK you would be living in a very expensive cupboard, In Japan your would have maybe 2 rooms and a bathroom max. Forget anything as nice as a 3 room HDB. In london a shoe box. We have an excellant schooling system, we have low crime, low unemployment, great weather, nice greenery Just what the hell is tough about living in singapore??? You want to talk about working hours? Forget it. In japan a typical day is min 10hrs and most young do 12. and they are far far worse off that young in singapore tough? your just spoilt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 how can u expect them to openly admit it is their oversight cum mis-judgement? their eyes and ears are not use for seeing and hearing one u know? what oversight? they knew over 10 years ago that we needed to increase the population. They introduced baby incentives when we didnt have the new jobs They imported staff when we did We had a number of recessions in between. They are not going to import FTS untill we have the JOBs for them to do ...obviously! in the last few years we have seen the boost in jobs that they predicted - so now is the time to import Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 May I know what is the intention of the gahmen to have more babies, Low fertility rate are falling due to their failure to understand Singaporean mentality or taking us for granted, by bringing in FT to fight us for career, job and employment. They have plan for housing till 2021, Ura always plan 10 years ahead of time to cater for the master plan, concept plan and review both plans every 5 yrs. SO I must admit the Gahmen tink-tank has failed or abolished, failing to master the future of Sp. Since Sinkies cannot produce, they will load FT into Sp, bringing talent here, by means for human shipment, hence the main issues / concerns of most Sp. The old and sick are the worse hit, hospital only provides for the needy with cash option, or you died a poor death, U worked all your life but have to depends on oversea hospital to care for U, Is it the real Sp story. I think not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 This is another lobang in their "mass importing FTs to support elderly" theory.. We're not a nanny state like some western countries. Taxes paid by working age people do not go to support the elderly, at least not directly. So, this argument is totally irrelevant. incorrect. You said it yourself "Taxes paid by working age people do not go to support the elderly, at least not directly." indirect money is as good as direct money. Look this isnt some pr stunt made up by the gov to justofy FTs Google it. You will find the "Taxes paid by working age people do not go to support the elderly" is a global reality in every country of the world - simple economics, which i am beginning to realise isnt taught very well in our schools.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 tough? your just spoilt since u so clever can u help explain these charts? http://www.ubs.com/1/e/about/news.html?newsId=194278 Why price levels / wage levels / domestic purchasing levels so much gap? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 May I know what is the intention of the gahmen to have more babies, Low fertility rate are falling due to their failure to understand Singaporean mentality or taking us for granted, by bringing in FT to fight us for career, job and employment. rubbish. Its nonsense to blame dropping childbirth rates on FTs! jezz do you blame FTs when your sh-t stinks too?? Child birthrates are declining in many developed countries - its not specific to us. And its not just aboit how many kids you have - its about the % of working people to the % of non working. As our old people are living longer we need to increase the number of young (workers) They have plan for housing till 2021, Ura always plan 10 years ahead of time to cater for the master plan, concept plan and review both plans every 5 yrs. SO I must admit the Gahmen tink-tank has failed or abolished, failing to master the future of Sp. i see no evidence of that The old and sick are the worse hit, hospital only provides for the needy with cash option, or you died a poor death, U worked all your life but have to depends on oversea hospital to care for U, Is it the real Sp story. no you have it the wrong way around. Without sufficent ratio of workers to non workers the non workers will suffer because the economy will suffer. the old people in subsidised homes NEED us to increase through whatever means necessary our % of workers. by breading or by import. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 working people pay tax and create wealth that the gov can use to look after the elderly that have been abandoned by their children working people support the economy and part of that is used for old people subsidies Since when this gahman is so kind to look after the elderly in Singapore? I thou they keep telling us that this is not a welfare state? If what you said is true, then why the hell we still have so many fund raising projects, student selling flags begging people to donate, to raise money for the charities. I think the P@P has appointed the wrong person to be the Minister in charge of MCYS. You should be the one so that more elderly people would be looked after. The P@P has missed yet another talent likes you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 (edited) since u so clever can u help explain these charts? http://www.ubs.com/1/e/about/news.html?newsId=194278 Why price levels / wage levels / domestic purchasing levels so much gap? singapore is one of the most expensive places in the world to live. its also one of the ones with the best standard of living so what is your point? Just because a place is expensive doesnt make it a bad place. Look 90% the moaners in this forum live in a really nice big apartment and can afford to drive a (in comparison to other countries) ridiculously expensive car. Compare that to people in japan, in london, in HK. Singapore is expensive - but if all you want is cheap cheap cheap - go live in Jakarta and tell me how much you enjoy that! Moan so much because they dont realise how good they have it - they never stick their head outside the dot Edited September 8, 2011 by Badder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 (edited) Since when this gahman is so kind to look after the elderly in Singapore? I thou they keep telling us that this is not a welfare state? If what you said is true, then why the hell we still have so many fund raising projects, student selling flags begging people to donate, to raise money for the charities. I think the P@P has appointed the wrong person to be the Minister in charge of MCYS. You should be the one so that more elderly people would be looked after. The P@P has missed yet another talent likes you. oh good grief... Heres a clue; What would happen if they told you there was subsidies? All the cheap skate singaporeans wouldnt be looking after their oldies - they would expect the gov to. The fact is the gov spends heaps on subsidised schemes for the elderly and non working - its just not made a big noise about as doing so encourgages people not to use their own money and not to contribute to charities ect. Case in point, why do people donate to NKF? why not one of the cancer charities? cancer kills more. The fact is people are happy to donate so why would gov discourage them to? but dont get caught up in this The fact is simple.... every country every economy needs a balance of % working to % non working. If too many non working then we need to get more working through child birth or through imports. Edited September 8, 2011 by Badder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acerchan2002 Clutched September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 Go home bath also no energy..How to play when go home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 (edited) singapore is one of the most expensive places in the world to live. its also one of the ones with the best standard of living so what is your point? Just because a place is expensive doesnt make it a bad place. Look 90% the moaners in this forum live in a really nice big apartment and drive a car. Compare that to people in japan, in london, in HK. Singapore is expensive - but if all you want is cheap cheap cheap - go live in Jakarta and tell me how much you enjoy that! Moan so much because they dont realise how good they have it - they never stick their head outside the dot so all u can do is call ppl moaners. Look 90% the moaners in this forum live in a really nice big apartment and drive a car. 90%? where's your evidence? Edited September 8, 2011 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 8, 2011 Author Share September 8, 2011 Just because a place is expensive doesnt make it a bad place. BRAVO. I hereby recommend what you said here as the Statement of the Year Award 2011. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 BRAVO. I hereby recommend what you said here as the Statement of the Year Award 2011. peepur is elite can tok like that one. dunno y waste time surfing MCF. he shd go HWZ preach to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 peepur is elite can tok like that one. dunno y waste time surfing MCF. he shd go HWZ preach to them. Shall we stop replying to his posts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie September 8, 2011 Share September 8, 2011 enjoy: http://www.impactlab.net/2010/08/03/2010-w...rdizes-elderly/ "There are two major trends in world population today, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...