Stuck in housing limbo despite higher ceiling

Latka

There you go....... now that the income ceiling has been risen, another can of worms have been opened. It boils down to simple economics really.

More people will become eligible to vie for the pie. So addressing these "middle income" families technically resulted in more people playing the musical chairs game. But someone gets left out in the end, nevertheless.

Govt. heeded the people's call and concern, but what most people do not consider is that 4.5mil people on this island, no matter how you play around, it doesn't change the demand and supply rules. Perhaps that is why MBT sticked to the prior rule so rigidly because it simply doesn't change anything. Because, you cannot simply lower the barrer of entry and expect the same policy to work. You gotta tweak it from the ground up. It's either more public housing or lower market prices for resales and privates. But i guess popularist policies wins votes.....so i wonder what will come next.

the rule is in place to give those without a house a head start in application, otherwise they will have to compete with those who already own housing, like in this case. actually what they can do is to sell their house and then buy an ec or hdb from the open market if their main concern is a place to stay. but obviously they rule this out, because they want to cash in on their private property and buy a subsidised new ec.

we say the writer is very self centered, but if we look around, isnt most of the complaints about the gahment just as myopic ? often looking at the negative side of things and not understanding the rationale and trade-offs ? there will never be a policy that can benefit everyone, but they have to look after the more important group and also for the long term overall good, at the expense of some trade-offs.

Edited by Ingenius

yalor, earn 12k, no cash? zhun bo? i think this guy super duper

either really no savings (spend all type) or too heart pain to fork out hard earned savings. Not easy to save $60K in Singapore.

I believe his income just slightly over 8k but below 10k. With 8k want to buy a condo definitely will sadden them. Not to mention with a kid and probably a car. I understand their frustration. Their income I believe doesn't qualify for a 5-roomer as well? Can some property agent clarify this? Imagine 1 month rental about $3000 for a decent flat or condo, that will set aside quite a fair bit of their income. $3000 x 12 x 5 is alot of money. Of course, I believe they want to capitalize on earning some money after selling off their condo, and they can't bear to lose $180,000 on rental alone. That is why the complain. Anyway, a decent condo can sell at least a million. Anyway, those landed convert to HDB also face the same thing, just got to suck it up and just move on with live.

There you go....... now that the income ceiling has been risen, another can of worms have been opened. It boils down to simple economics really.

More people will become eligible to vie for the pie. So addressing these "middle income" families technically resulted in more people playing the musical chairs game. But someone gets left out in the end, nevertheless.

Govt. heeded the people's call and concern, but what most people do not consider is that 4.5mil people on this island, no matter how you play around, it doesn't change the demand and supply rules. Perhaps that is why MBT sticked to the prior rule so rigidly because it simply doesn't change anything. Because, you cannot simply lower the barrer of entry and expect the same policy to work. You gotta tweak it from the ground up. It's either more public housing or lower market prices for resales and privates. But i guess popularist policies wins votes.....so i wonder what will come next.

then how come he built too little public housing?

Bottom line is do not waste your chance of first-time-buying. He must have rushed into buying when he had his first born thinking he needed more space and privacy. Anyhow buy a nearby condo to his parents thinking they can help take care of the baby. Now seeing govt has relax the rules they see it as an opportunity....you know. This is just too bad, he made an unwise choice.

Go and rent lah. This cannot dat cannot.

This is ONE BIG problem about Sinkie....even the ruling party feel that they are demanding and over bearing...

basically I don't pity Sinkie whether they are ..

...low class

middle class...or HIGH class! [laugh][laugh]

Basically they are too choosy lah... what is their objective? If it's to get more room to raise more children, and at the same time cash out on their private property, then they can actually buy a re-sale flat.

Lots of 'jumbo' flats still available for re-sale. Or get the older ones with larger floor area, then build partition to create separate spaces for children. Easy solution, no need renting, and fulfill their objectives.

Why a lot of people don't consider re-sale units, I wonder? Some of them actually quite decent, good location and you can actually check out the surroundings before buying (since it's already built and standing). I've always gone for re-sale since the beginning... never had to queue up for new units.

Edited by Sosaria

It's always like that, if we take care of the middle class, the low class will say we never take care of them, when we take care of the upper class, the middle class will say we never take care of them, I totally understand how this couple feel because like that I could not buy a hdb flat even though I want to and I believe this is the right of every citizen to do so, so wtf if I am a high flyer I cannot stay HDB? it's a whole load of BS, but I not high flyer la in case people here say i CANNON again

".....Where will we stay for 21/2 years? In fact, if one includes the time taken for construction of the EC, we would have to spend at least five years renting a place or living with our parents....."

errrr......did anyone ask this dimwit to move? he can stay put and forget abt being an opportunist. it's entire his choice wat. can't believe some ppl cannot take responsibility for one's own action instead of everything oso gahmen's fault for goodness sake. [hur]

for this couple, they are not caught between the gaps, they are trying to explioted the system.

when i was reading this letter, it really sound like one of our brother (thargor if i didn't remember wrongly) in mcf.

the reason of buying a private condo because cannot afford the sky high cov is the same

either really no savings (spend all type) or too heart pain to fork out hard earned savings. Not easy to save $60K in Singapore.

Yup, aside from spending on their kids (extra classes, etc.), some people still splurge on expensive tastes like electronic gadgets, bags, shoes, etc. And installment for fancy car. Not surprisingly, money not enough.

I wonder why so many people must have iphone, ipad, data plan, etc. [rolleyes] Or wives who love designer shoes and bags?? Just cannot understand the mentality and thank goodness... none in my family have this affliction.

Edited by Sosaria

Last time my dad bought 3 room today flat still can have 4 children, my grand ma also stay with total 7 people.what the fish is his problem?

Edited by Tigerwoods

Lady time my dad bought 3 room today flat still can have 4 children, my grand ma also stay with total 7 people.what the fish is his problem?

Some malay couples can stay in 2 room hdb and have 5 kids on an income of 2k a month, what's his problem!!!

Last time my dad bought 3 room today flat still can have 4 children, my grand ma also stay with total 7 people.what the fish is his problem?

He got 3 maids, 2 girlfriends, 4 mistresses and a handful of illegitimate children all living with him lah. :D

when i was reading this letter, it really sound like one of our brother (thargor if i didn't remember wrongly) in mcf.

the reason of buying a private condo because cannot afford the sky high cov is the same

actually sky high COV only occur in very good location, like near mrt.

most EC location are not near mrt, not in very central location.

COV for resale hdb in not so prime location, not near mrt, are not high as well.

The argument of high cov causing them to buy private is invalid.

demand and supply -> u want good location, of cos need to pay sky high cov lah.