Water heater problem (sometimes ok sometimes not ok)

Hondavvvtec

Need some experts'help. This water heater (w/o water tank type) which my parents are using is not working fine. Sometimes hot, sometimes totally gone case, cold water only. to make it work, sometimes i have to on and off the tap several times, then can have hot water. Recently even worse, must on off on avg 20-30 times then can work. Dont know whats wrong with it

If it's not the storage water tank type, then it must be the instant heating type.

Did you notice if the ON light or click sound when tap is turn on?

When you get only cold water, and no ON light or click sound, the flow switch at the inlet line may not be working.

When you turn on tap, it senses water flow, and flow switch triggers heating element. The same on the reverse.

It cost more on repairs and labour cost, especially the instant type which is between $100-$200.

I bought my replacements from shops at Sungei Road, and install myself.

Wondering is there a lifespan on water heater? If the water heater is still in working condition but have used for more than 10 years plus, need to change? [:/]

yes, the red light that indicates the heater should be on is no working anymore, still got water so when i turn on the tap, the heater will have a soft "tuck"sound, so the sympton is as what most of you guys mention. So, i just need to buy flow switch?

If it's not the storage water tank type, then it must be the instant heating type.

Did you notice if the ON light or click sound when tap is turn on?

When you get only cold water, and no ON light or click sound, the flow switch at the inlet line may not be working.

When you turn on tap, it senses water flow, and flow switch triggers heating element. The same on the reverse.

It cost more on repairs and labour cost, especially the instant type which is between $100-$200.

I bought my replacements from shops at Sungei Road, and install myself.

Bro, which shop along sungei road?

hi bro, no particular shop preferred.there are several shops along main road, ask around to compare prices.

ok i've asked; too bad they sell only. asked me go back agent; how i know what agent when even google oso cannot get the details...

Bro, which shop along sungei road?

Show me or what is the brand of the heater? May hv few type kept around my office. Please replace heater if u can afford.

Will replace but just seeing have spare part cos heater element still working fine. Don't mind u can refer to instant water heater thread. Tks bro.

Missed ur middle sentence. U mean u have the regulator assembly?

I'm not trying to scrimp, jus find it wasteful to discard it when the main component is still in good working order. What was defective was just a simple assembly. In fact, if gasket n thimble can be replaced alone, the heater can work as normal already.

I simply cannot believe I have to discard everything when just 2 plastic / synthetic components failed, just like I have to scrap a car when the cooling system failed.

Bo pian Buy new one lor [:(]

sometime hot sometime cold very hard to endure :wacko:

Yes that true.

Very hard to endure.

My wife is like that.

Sometime hot sometime cold.