VellfireS 4th Gear September 12, 2011 Author Share September 12, 2011 at the price of $186,000/- for 2,000cc ...... The features they give is good.. Quite high tech actually. And , cheaper RT , better FC.. [thumbsup] But of course , price .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 12, 2011 Share September 12, 2011 I have a question for all... take a good look at the SHARAN.... does it look like a very very BLOATED GOLF... And it looked really ugly.... you want to buy an MPV... means you want space and comfort... IMO would have bought a ALPHARD... OR a ESTIMA.... I might even buy a Citroen GP... just think that SHARAN is just not worth it!!!! sharan will own all the other brands due to its badge only one level with itt is citroen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 12, 2011 Author Share September 12, 2011 If you really need a MPV that can carry so many people in comfort, then VW Transporter is the way to go. Saw one registered as a pte plate always parked at GWC west tower CP . Reckon it's belonging to VW Singapore office. Boss, MSCP cannot go in one.. Its too tall.. [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 12, 2011 Author Share September 12, 2011 sharan will own all the other brands due to its badge only one level with itt is citroen Boss , Ford le? bo class meh? [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear September 12, 2011 Share September 12, 2011 I have a question for all... take a good look at the SHARAN.... does it look like a very very BLOATED GOLF... And it looked really ugly.... you want to buy an MPV... means you want space and comfort... IMO would have bought a ALPHARD... OR a ESTIMA.... I might even buy a Citroen GP... just think that SHARAN is just not worth it!!!! You don't to understand what it means by mid-size. You are like saying if you want bigger size sedan, go for BMW 7 series and Mercedes S350; passat, jaguar xf, peugeot 508, C5 and etc are not worth it. There is a purpose, requirement and demand each type of car. Sharan fit into the mid size MPV segment. Reading on your comment of bloated golf, in your opinion which MPV looks good? BTW, Sharan is about 10+K more than Toyota, but the build & features of Sharan (VW) is a world apart from the Toyota Estima. I guess you have never checked out the Estima. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 12, 2011 Share September 12, 2011 (edited) Boss , Ford le? bo class meh? [rolleyes] ok wat sharan is saw the advert on the straits times nice big family vehicle Edited September 12, 2011 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear September 12, 2011 Share September 12, 2011 Boss , Ford le? bo class meh? [rolleyes] Bro, in Singapore (not applicable to anywhere else), Ford's has no status. Look at how many Ford on the road you will know. The top marque in Singapore are German cars; BMW, Merc, Audi and VW. Of course, VW is the cheapest among the German cars and therefore is getting very porpular. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SeriousGuy 2nd Gear September 12, 2011 Share September 12, 2011 To be honest , Volkswagen cars are not very good looking except for the new Jetta (This is just my opinion) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackseal 1st Gear September 12, 2011 Share September 12, 2011 The VW service centre sucks big time. 1 service centre to handle ALL the cars they have sold. Read from VAGSG that normal servicing will let you wait for about 1 and a half mths before you can send your car in. Yes that's what I heard from VW kakis as well....if u missed your service appointment...good luck to you !!! And their DSG also not that reliable....fast as they claimed....but if u not heng and kena tow truck....then also good luck to you...ever wonder why so many Sciroccos for sale ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 12, 2011 Share September 12, 2011 Yes that's what I heard from VW kakis as well....if u missed your service appointment...good luck to you !!! And their DSG also not that reliable....fast as they claimed....but if u not heng and kena tow truck....then also good luck to you...ever wonder why so many Sciroccos for sale ??? Besides the problem with the DSG-gearbox [especially the dry-clutch 7DSG], and the long service waiting time and the need to book in advance, you also cannot deny that people who drive the Scirocco are lifestyle drivers. They buy and change coupes like they buy and change clothes. After a while of driving such coupes, they get bored with it, and will gladly sell it away for new products. This is the buying and selling trends of a typical coupe buyer. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 12, 2011 Share September 12, 2011 There's no denying the Sharan looks like a larger Touran, which is already too boxy looking for my taste. I'd rather plonk down another $50k to get the Transporter. [Around $230k I guess]. Not only is that using VW's 2.0TDI 180bhp Turbocharged, 7DSG, it's much larger, it looks more purposeful, and the name, Transporter, sounds so much better than Sharan right??? With the Sharan, there's no denying that you're driving around in a small van. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Too bad SEAT AD no more in Singapore. SEAT Alhambra = VW Sharan with better design and lower price. http://www.worldcarfans.com/110041925748/a...ra-mpv-revealed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Too bad SEAT AD no more in Singapore. SEAT Alhambra = VW Sharan with better design and lower price. http://www.worldcarfans.com/110041925748/a...ra-mpv-revealed And the Seat looks better! I read about the Alhambra in TopGear's mag =) But there's no getting away from the big, boxy, mini-Van exterior outlook. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grix17 Clutched September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 3rd row seats got aircon??? Compare with Ford's MPV, which appears to be better? I shall go test drive it this week and report back! Then I can compare with my Galaxy Ecoboost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 I shall go test drive it this week and report back! Then I can compare with my Galaxy Ecoboost. Should be about the same lah. Are you planning of tuning your 204bhp 2.0EcoBoost to the updated 240bhp version, if there were such a thing??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 I shall go test drive it this week and report back! Then I can compare with my Galaxy Ecoboost. Looking fwd to it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grix17 Clutched September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Bro, in Singapore (not applicable to anywhere else), Ford's has no status. Look at how many Ford on the road you will know. The top marque in Singapore are German cars; BMW, Merc, Audi and VW. Of course, VW is the cheapest among the German cars and therefore is getting very porpular. I disagree with your "Ford has no status". It's for people who enjoy great handling cars with good European build and decent fuel economy. It's only the fault of the local dealer that has contributed to such a low number of cars. Look at LTA numbers for 2011 - the sales of Ford is better than Mitsubishi and Land Rover, and just short of Subaru and Suzuki. It has not suffered any shortfall of demand compared to other cars. The COE climate has only made BMW, Merc and Audi popular. As for VW, it's the local direct dealership that has contributed to lower cost and hence more competitive prices. It is a niche brand like Alfa Romeo; or Opel, a popular brand in Germany. You hardly see them on the road. Have they lost their status? Clearly, it is about the popularity and marketing strategies. In the mid-range market, Singaporeans tend to follow the majority despite the fact that there are better alternatives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grix17 Clutched September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Should be about the same lah. Are you planning of tuning your 204bhp 2.0EcoBoost to the updated 240bhp version, if there were such a thing??? I'm curious to compare the interior space/comfort and handling. Power should be about the same - yes. There are tuning chips available up to 240 bhp and 367 Nm. But I am happy for now. More like to change to Eibach springs to firm up cornering since the handling is already good. Chassis is based on Mondeo. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...