Volkswagen Sharan..

VellfireS

4 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

I badge whore as some will say but who cares... :D :D

sELBEig.jpg

First impressions of P7, very quiet (as compared to my previous set of GY Efficientgrip ROF, even when new) and comfortable (as well cushioned as the 17" tyre). [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

P7 is my fav too. Happy that my stock car comes with stock p7. Its a comfort tyre and grip quite well too. This p7 is my 4th one lol

5 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

I badge whore as some will say but who cares... :D :D

sELBEig.jpg

First impressions of P7, very quiet (as compared to my previous set of GY Efficientgrip ROF, even when new) and comfortable (as well cushioned as the 17" tyre). [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Nice set of rims you have! Are they new as the condition looks really good!

10 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

P7 is my fav too. Happy that my stock car comes with stock p7. Its a comfort tyre and grip quite well too. This p7 is my 4th one lol

My first set of P7. I have been using mostly Goodyear in the past (3 set at least) as I find them (Efficientgrip & Asymmetric) offering good balance between dry/wet performance, noise, wear and cost. 

But this P7 (brand new, 2020 stock) impressed me even more. Let see how's it long term performance (grip, noise and wear). Read that it wear quite fast. GY generally can last me 65 - 75K km (with ~30% thread left).

This was my previous GY Efficientgrip after 70K Km. The rear has even more thread left (easily 50%).

h3Elt5h.jpg

9 hours ago, Wolfverine said:

Nice set of rims you have! Are they new as the condition looks really good!

The rims are from a new G30. Picture paints a thousand words... inner side of the rim.

RSo79wW.jpg

VvGbB9r.jpg

3 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

My first set of P7. I have been using mostly Goodyear in the past (3 set at least) as I find them (Efficientgrip & Asymmetric) offering good balance between dry/wet performance, noise, wear and cost. 

But this P7 (brand new, 2020 stock) impressed me even more. Let see how's it long term performance (grip, noise and wear). Read that it wear quite fast. GY generally can last me 65 - 75K km (with ~30% thread left).

This was my previous GY Efficientgrip after 70K Km. The rear has even more thread left (easily 50%).

h3Elt5h.jpg

The rims are from a new G30. Picture paints a thousand words... inner side of the rim.

RSo79wW.jpg

VvGbB9r.jpg

wah g30 rims..., jin rich boss👍

cb and offset correct?

😅

6 hours ago, Enye said:

wah g30 rims..., jin rich boss👍

cb and offset correct?

😅

I said already mah, I badge whore, cannot afford G30, so can only go for the next viable option. BTW, this set of rim is even cheaper than the 18" Sharan rim I am looking for, so I not rich hor... :D

Offset is ET30, while offset for Sharan's original 17" and 18" rim are ET39 and ET35 respectively. So just nice. [nod]

14 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

I said already mah, I badge whore, cannot afford G30, so can only go for the next viable option. BTW, this set of rim is even cheaper than the 18" Sharan rim I am looking for, so I not rich hor... :D

Offset is ET30, while offset for Sharan's original 17" and 18" rim are ET39 and ET35 respectively. So just nice. [nod]

wah... i chose a less atas rim than yours but match the original offset

😅

1 hour ago, Enye said:

wah... i chose a less atas rim than yours but match the original offset

😅

Show picture of your rim leh, don't be shy :D

Actually I like rims with smaller offset (<ET30) for look and handling. My new set flush nicely with the fender and look better than the original set with ET39 rim. 

wYurLjx.jpg

DRQwf3A.jpg

1 hour ago, Carbon82 said:

Show picture of your rim leh, don't be shy :D

Actually I like rims with smaller offset (<ET30) for look and handling. My new set flush nicely with the fender and look better than the original set with ET39 rim. 

wYurLjx.jpg

DRQwf3A.jpg

boss.., the p7s you bought are self sealing type, run flats or normal tyres?

On 1/2/2021 at 1:33 PM, Enye said:

boss.., the p7s you bought are self sealing type, run flats or normal tyres?

My P7 is Run Flat Tyre.

Date code: 0520

6 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

My P7 is Run Flat Tyre.

wah sian ... still so difficult to find those self sealing tyres whether 17” or 18”

😅

8 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

My P7 is Run Flat Tyre.

U buy the bmw rim comes with run flat tyre? Otherwise no ppl want to get rft as its more noisy

20 hours ago, Enye said:

wah sian ... still so difficult to find those self sealing tyres whether 17” or 18”

😅

u can do antipuncture coating

I did mine at kyc tyres, it is similar to contiseal that came with the stock tyres

23 hours ago, Enye said:

😅

Yah and I don't think local dealer brought in self sealing tyre at all. I too prefer self sealing for lighter weight and lower road noise (especially when the tyre aged).

21 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

U buy the bmw rim comes with run flat tyre? Otherwise no ppl want to get rft as its more noisy

Nope, I bought the rim and a new set of tyre. The original G30 set come with 245/45R18 tyres which are >3% larger than my stock set. I will take the whole set if it was 235/45R18... 

OOjKKp1.jpg

Although the side wall look rigid (as compared to my previous set of GY Efficientgrip ROF), the handling and comfort level is quite well balanced. Don't quite feel like RFT.

3 hours ago, wlalala said:

I did mine at kyc tyres, it is similar to contiseal that came with the stock tyres

First time I get to know that can do after market antipuncture coating. I only know of liquid sealant which was at one time very popular with JDM model which come without spare tyre, but super messy to clean up when changing tyre... 

Roughly how much per tyre for the coating and how long it can last? If the cost is not too high, I will consider that since I will have much more choice of tyre (brand and model). Thanks. 

8 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Yah and I don't think local dealer brought in self sealing tyre at all. I too prefer self sealing for lighter weight and lower road noise (especially when the tyre aged).

Nope, I bought the rim and a new set of tyre. The original G30 set come with 245/45R18 tyres which are >3% larger than my stock set. I will take the whole set if it was 235/45R18... 

OOjKKp1.jpg

Although the side wall look rigid (as compared to my previous set of GY Efficientgrip ROF), the handling and comfort level is quite well balanced. Don't quite feel like RFT.

First time I get to know that can do after market antipuncture coating. I only know of liquid sealant which was at one time very popular with JDM model which come without spare tyre, but super messy to clean up when changing tyre... 

Roughly how much per tyre for the coating and how long it can last? If the cost is not too high, I will consider that since I will have much more choice of tyre (brand and model). Thanks. 

I see, it looks nice but for conti i always worry in cleaning with many spokes rim lol. Unless got water jet and rim cleaner spray. 

that liquid sealant hear say u use that the tyre will be gone, need get new tyre ald

4 hours ago, wlalala said:

i am aware of this service by kyc but i think it’s too expensive 

for me it’s either the oem self sealing tyres or go with normal tyres and save the $ for a tow truck if a puncture happens 

😅

12 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

iirc for 17inch it is something like $80 per tyre - so not exactly cheap. But for cars with no spare tyre then it's either rft or this, unless u are fine with getting stranded. We did it cos my sis friend co-owns the shop so we support also lah.

it can last basically the entire life of the tyre just need to diligently go back for rotation and balancing - not sure if this is still the case but they provide free rotation and balancing for their customers

Looking for a 7-seater and comparing between Sharan and Alhambra both 2l now. Seems both cars come from the VW group and basically same EA888 engine, same 6 speed DSG wet clutch and same platform. 

Since both are priced quite similarly (Sharan is more ex), Sharan comes with sunroof while Alhambra needs to top-up and slightly different external styling, what are the differences between the two? I ask both SA before and they can't even tell me.

Any expert able to share your knowledge? If SEAT unreliable than VW make? Which servicing is cheaper? Sharan 1st oil change is 15k but Alhambra is 5k? Same engine for different servicing mileage?

Lastly, I know it is possible to reflash ecu for Sharan on stock engine and possible to do so for Alhambra?

6 hours ago, Unknown79 said:

Looking for a 7-seater and comparing between Sharan and Alhambra both 2l now. Seems both cars come from the VW group and basically same EA888 engine, same 6 speed DSG wet clutch and same platform. 

Since both are priced quite similarly (Sharan is more ex), Sharan comes with sunroof while Alhambra needs to top-up and slightly different external styling, what are the differences between the two? I ask both SA before and they can't even tell me.

Any expert able to share your knowledge? If SEAT unreliable than VW make? Which servicing is cheaper? Sharan 1st oil change is 15k but Alhambra is 5k? Same engine for different servicing mileage?

Lastly, I know it is possible to reflash ecu for Sharan on stock engine and possible to do so for Alhambra?

Both are the same under the slightly different skin (i.e. outlook). You have to do an apple-to-apple comparison to confirm which one is cheaper (same spec and features). The last time I was looking at the Alhambra (about 4.5 years ago), it appears cheaper until I add up the differences (i.e. sunroof, HID headlight, child seats on the 2nd row, net package, etc. etc.) If you are ok with the differences (especially if you don't need the extra features found on the Sharan), than the Alhambra is for you. I will leave the OMV part out of the equation so as not to complicate your decision.

As for servicing cost and intervals, I believe both will come up to around the same range (you have already mentioned that 1st servicing for Alhambra is 5,000Km vs 15,000Km for Sharan, got it?). And since both uses the same engine (tuned to the exact same horsepower) and gearbox (with the same gear ratio), anything you can do with Sharan is 100% doable too on the Alhambra.

Oh yah, some will say the branding and AD affect the resale (due mainly to warranty concern), I will say heck it, buy lower sell lower, net net will still be the same. There are many workshop which can service any car under the VAG group and there is nothing unique about Seat so to speak.