Sabbie Clutched September 3, 2011 Author Share September 3, 2011 i know quite a few friends who works in the medical field for many years liao. they all told me, for sales women to do very very well in this field, they have to be very hiao and know how to appeal to the doctors. else wont have business. on the other hand, if know how to play by the favour, can do very well. last night at boilers, a health care friend again told me the same thing. agree ? Yup but this girl is plump I sure hope she is not reading this but she really know how to por lanpa and earn a lot of comm, so being in the right industry helps dun even need real ability or degree ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 i read before a saying that, to be happy, one has to live two levels below his\her means. if you can...buy some assets before you buy some liabilities but before you buy your assets...make sure you get ur necessities first. so my order will be 1) buy ur necessities 2) buy ur assets 3) buy ur liabilities Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched September 3, 2011 Author Share September 3, 2011 I think Singapore's standard of living is definitely getting much more expensive however one can still live within their means and still have enough to eat and save. For example if you are only earning 3k gross a month, take home would be 2.4k. As long as you lead a simple life, there would be sufficient to eat and left over for savings. but if you were to spend on luxuries like branded goods, drive a car or dine at posh restaurants, definitely that wouldn't be enough...so i think moral of story is not how much you can earn but how much lesser you can spend. I really think that the media is the cause for seeding all this wrong perceptions into the society...all the branded bags, nice cars, dining at posh restaurants... Honestly there is probably only a small percentage of population that can maintain this kind of high-end lifestyle. Many is "hao kan, bu hao chi" Yes you are absolutely right but this thread is not about living simply not everyone can be like Raymond and be contented staying in a small hdb and drive a small car, I believe we should set higher standards for ourselves and earn more money to give ourselves a higher standard of living so the question is how to earn more money so we can be like throttle driving big car and stay in landed property Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 since this is a car forum..and surely u have a car..and u're a financial planner..why not u be a chauffeur, delivery man or taxi driver? those jobs need no skill set..and i'm not jesting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched September 3, 2011 Author Share September 3, 2011 since this is a car forum..and surely u have a car..and u're a financial planner..why not u be a chauffeur, delivery man or taxi driver? those jobs need no skill set..and i'm not jesting This is a great idea but how do I convert my car to a taxi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 i read before a saying that, to be happy, one has to live two levels below his\her means. Basements are expensive to build... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 This is a great idea but how do I convert my car to a taxi? Get some paint and a magnetic taxi sign. You need some meter of sorts. You can get decals for TAXI on both sides. Put on a white shirt, and drive like Shxt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 I think you have 2 realistic options. Option 1) Marry a richer women! Try Jill. She doesn't mind dating a less successful man. Option 2) This one requires a little bit of imagination. Get yourself to Geylang and get a job in a duck shop servicing males. This is where you need a bit of imagination to succed, just imagine the males are chio bus. Good luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched September 3, 2011 Author Share September 3, 2011 Get some paint and a magnetic taxi sign. You need some meter of sorts. You can get decals for TAXI on both sides. Put on a white shirt, and drive like Shxt. Haha, seriously is it possible to convert a normal car into a cab? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched September 3, 2011 Author Share September 3, 2011 I think you have 2 realistic options. Option 1) Marry a richer women! Try Jill. She doesn't mind dating a less successful man. Option 2) This one requires a little bit of imagination. Get yourself to Geylang and get a job in a duck shop servicing males. This is where you need a bit of imagination to succed, just imagine the males are chio bus. Good luck I want Jill but she don't want me as for option 2 I not handsome how to be duck? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 I want Jill but she don't want me as for option 2 I not handsome how to be duck? Thats ok, just bend over so they don't have to see your face. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched September 3, 2011 Author Share September 3, 2011 Thats ok, just bend over so they don't have to see your face. Think I rather find Jill and be 小白脸 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 I think Singapore's standard of living is definitely getting much more expensive however one can still live within their means and still have enough to eat and save. For example if you are only earning 3k gross a month, take home would be 2.4k. As long as you lead a simple life, there would be sufficient to eat and left over for savings. but if you were to spend on luxuries like branded goods, drive a car or dine at posh restaurants, definitely that wouldn't be enough...so i think moral of story is not how much you can earn but how much lesser you can spend. I really think that the media is the cause for seeding all this wrong perceptions into the society...all the branded bags, nice cars, dining at posh restaurants... Honestly there is probably only a small percentage of population that can maintain this kind of high-end lifestyle. Many is "hao kan, bu hao chi" Yup, now tide is still high so everyone looks ok. when the tide is low, you see who is not wearing his trunks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanong11 Clutched September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 Why not make more callings and find more innovative ways to get clients and deals? Invest a bit of money, organize coporate financial talks, tell HR got goodies bag, propably you might generate some interests among the staffs. Organize with a few of your peers to handle such events. But if your skills and abilities is those half past six type, then better find other jobs that suit you. Don't anyhow plan for people and cause them Financial stress. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 Yes you are absolutely right but this thread is not about living simply not everyone can be like Raymond and be contented staying in a small hdb and drive a small car, I believe we should set higher standards for ourselves and earn more money to give ourselves a higher standard of living so the question is how to earn more money so we can be like throttle driving big car and stay in landed property Earning more money can also means spending less, when you spend less you have more cashflow for buying assets. These assets will eventually lead to giving you higher income, higher income doesn't necessary needs to be earned income, can be investment income also. So it is still related to the thread... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 (edited) Yup, now tide is still high so everyone looks ok. when the tide is low, you see who is not wearing his trunks but its hard to practice this in our society, everyone wants to look good and impress....peer pressure, social media pressure, family pressure. I once had a friend told he that during every chinese new year during family reunion, family members would compare how well each others is doing, some would show off by changing car very often, others would buy new houses and he said he didn't like this typical chinese culture (showing off). Edited September 3, 2011 by YellowFlash Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged September 3, 2011 Share September 3, 2011 This is a great idea but how do I convert my car to a taxi? u're not trolling right? a simple google search will yield u answers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...