Never knew there could be such a problem wif e dip stick...

Ken4555

sharing this info... especially for drivers who change their own oil...

Last oil change... N today's oil change... I poured in my usual measured amount (measured with measuring cylinders)... But oil was a lot above H mark... Even after starting engine n measuring with dip stick immediately.

So today I seriously thought I didn't do a good job in draining my old oil... Maybe car was not on proper level ground... So when I checked my oil again a few hours after my oil change, I was prepared to drain some oil out...

But when I pull out my my dip stick... Knn the yellow handle came off and the metal dip stick fell into the hole... WTF... maybe too many times measure oil level until handle came loose... hahaha... thank god i had a screw driver with a magnetic extendable tip (i bought many years back from a cute mei mei walking ard selling it at Maxwell market)...

got my metal part of the dip stick out and fixed it back to the handle and measured my oil level and it was normal... wahhh.. heng sia... lucky i didnt drain any oil out... if not confirm oil pressure light sure come out and god knows what damage i might cause... hahaha...

just sharing....

post-59875-1314557249_thumb.jpg

Edited by Ken4555

If such a thing happened to me, could I borrow ur stick? The one with the magnetic extendable tip.

Edited by Mits_jc

If such a thing happened to me, could I borrow ur stick? The one with the magnetic extendable tip.

sure.... $2 unlimited use for a minute.... [laugh]

3 Cheers to KEN for sharing his experience.

You are very generous in sharing your adventures and encounters. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

I am sure every body will start to check their dip stick condition.

Must be those what neo... type magnet. Very strong and good.

if the neo magnet extendable thingy is much cheaper then those super over pried filter magnets, then can buy a few of the thingy and put on my oil filter.. haha

actually i got about 8 very strong coin shaped magnets on my oil filter now (got it from some where free... its so strong when 2 stick together i cant remove them with one hand even two hands a little challenge)... watever it does and if its only in my mind, at least i feel good about it... haha [laugh]

ken4555 today so free to change engine oil?

i did some other car work... and the guy foul up and had to redo again... so since had extra time... oil was due to change in about 4-5days... might as well lor... ^_^

3 Cheers to KEN for sharing his experience.

You are very generous in sharing your adventures and encounters. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

I am sure every body will start to check their dip stick condition.

haha... [laugh] you are most welcome...

but i'm sure many of my adventures n encounters piss some ppl off... [:p]

hv a great week!

by the way you hv one of the most unique Avatar pics in MCF... [grin] maybe your signature can provide more info like BHP... top speed... mileage on a full charge... or just simply what in the world do you call it... haha [laugh]

if the neo magnet extendable thingy is much cheaper then those super over pried filter magnets, then can buy a few of the thingy and put on my oil filter.. haha

actually i got about 8 very strong coin shaped magnets on my oil filter now (got it from some where free... its so strong when 2 stick together i cant remove them with one hand even two hands a little challenge)... watever it does and if its only in my mind, at least i feel good about it... haha [laugh]

Neodymium very very expensive leh.. LOL

oh... then shall stick to cheap magnets maybe occasional simota magnetic oil filters... ^_^