IU not working. So ERP will not detect the car?

Donut

On 8/28/2011 at 10:33 AM, Donut said:

I just realized my IU not working today.

So tomorrow when I drive thru ERP, will it able to detect my car?

Will I get fined?

IU totally not working. Totally dead. Cannot read cashcard. ERP carpark cannot read IU also

I need to go to viacom to change? How much will it cost?

With another step more, you'll be able to make countless entries through ERP gantries till you get caught - go change ur number plates. The cameras will snap your butt, but will not be able to trace the veh owner.

The best way still is to scrap off the black and white strips on the road. The cameras use that to detect a car passing through when the threshold is changed.

On 8/28/2011 at 11:45 AM, Donut said:

I think my IU got spoilt after I enter the ERP carpark. Coz I can enter this car park when I drive thru the entrance and the barrier lift up for ms to drive thru.

Then I cannot exit coz the ERP exit cannot read my IU and my IU became totally dead. When I tried to insert my card into IU, before driving out of the lot, it is totally dead.

Could also be the cables powering the IU came loose, esp if it's not done properly during installation.

On 8/29/2011 at 10:59 PM, Rustyz said:

The gantry is fitted with lots of cammera, LTA very smart one.

From what i know, they use 2 methods to detect the offender.

1st is by the serial numbrr of your IU. So even if you escape with a fake number plate, LTA has the serial no in their database to get you. See your logcard. The black and white strips under the gantry is used to detect a passing vehicle. I believe they set a certain image threshold so that they won't capture useless data like bicycle or trishaw passing through.

So in TS's case, IU totally down with no communications to the gantry, the serial number cannot be transmitted. All he needs is a fake number plate and the camera will foolishly snap it. Till LTA mobilises their resources to search islandwide for this fake number plate, he can enjoy the free trips.

On 8/28/2011 at 11:30 AM, Kueijie said:

if CP IU detector is not able to detect, then would there be chances that the ERP gantry detector also unable to detect? Afterall, i believe, the IU need to be able to be "sensed" before the "gantry" sense that there is a car, right (logical speaking)? So if ERP cant "sense" ur car, then would there be even a fine? Worst come worst, how abt charging ur ERP charges to credit card? It's a FOC service by the bank, and u save ur $ to get it change, yet u would no longer be fined

they are so sophisticated that they are able to pinpoint the reason for non deduction, eg. the cashcard not enough $, no cash card inserted, IU spoil, etc.

I was once fined, reason, cash card spoil..... and i didnt even know the card spoil....

our iu actually comes with a heavy duty spare battery. in normal usage patterns, it should outlast the coe lifespan.

and if u guess correctly, its there in case the very obvious power cable fails or illegal tempering, the iu still is able to transmit an register a violation

so the banker always wins

I managed to go to viacom to change the stupid thing.

Got to queue up. Waste 40 mins. Lucky it's free, since it's less than 5 yrs. My question is why only 5 yrs? They forced this system to us and we got to pay?

They can purposely made all IUs to fail after 5 years, and we are suckers to have to pay for new ones.

They didn't have the new bracket for me, so the new IU (slim type) is fixed to the old bracket. I can go back to change to new bracket later.

Anyway I got a notice from viacom and I can send this notice to LTA if they send a summon to me later.

I even see new cars going to viacom to change the IU.....

Having a spoilt IU is troublesome, coz of ERP carparks. U got to press intercom and ask for help. Lol

Get the damn thing fix and move on... else kena candid camera.... go viacom check, go LTA appeal for the farking ERP charge + Admin..... for such small amount why waste so much farking time.....

like that time me cash card spoil, drive through ERP, beeeeep.... nbCB siao liao... then letter come.... fren ask me go appeal, cause if cash card faulty, LTA will waive the fine..... BUT, need to go viacom to check and verify, after that go LTA to submit the leeport..... what the fark for.... just pay.... S$1 + $8 admin (discount) if you settle online, else is S$10...... farking $8 dont pay, go waste 1 whole day at viacom and LTA..... [shakehead][hur]

Ok, I got the LTA letter Liao. But it's not a fine. Just a letter to tell me that my IU is faulty, and ask me to go to inspection.

No big deal.....

On 8/30/2011 at 1:18 AM, Cruise said:

All IU comes with 5 years warranty. Changing it at LTA centre takes 10 min. I did it before.

Really, the IU should have a lifetime warranty. We didn't choose to install..., it was mandated on us. And nobody does anything to it,it just sits there inour car, so if it fails, it's a product or build defect.

Changing takes 10 mins. The waiting takes hour-and-a-half, maybe? Plus time to go/return LTA centre?

Went to STA at Ayer Rajah. Only one poor guy working thru lunch, dealing with a queue of more than 15 cars! I gave up waiting... went to STA at Sin Ming instead.., still waited but not so long.

If the ERP sensor detects a cashcard, u get a "please check" letter. So we waste time to verify at Check Centre that neither IU or Cashcash is faulty.

If the ERP sensor doesn't detect a cashcard, the LTA assumes u didn't insert a cashcard properly or at all... u get a high-mighty letter to "compound your fine".

It never seem like the ERP sensor may be faulty??? Or the LTA just take the "we are authority" way and passes the onus of proof onto motorists?

I'd gone through one ERP gantry OK, and then had an error at the next. Different cars, different IUs, different Cashcards, different times. CTE and Havelock.

Penalty $10 extra each time if you don't have proof and "appeal". How many will actually appeal? How much innocent money has the LTA collected?

If i sound like i'm peeved... yea, i was. they were relocating the gantries on the CTE during that time. No problem now that they seem to have finished the job.

Dunno about Havelock...

On 9/18/2011 at 1:47 PM, Donut said:

Ok, I got the LTA letter Liao. But it's not a fine. Just a letter to tell me that my IU is faulty, and ask me to go to inspection.

No big deal.....

So IU faulty the ERP gantry can detect? But cashcard problem le? [:/]

Edited by 13177

On 9/18/2011 at 1:47 PM, Donut said:

No big deal.....

ah at least they got common sense not to assume you are cheating. and also proves that camera working very well!

Hi Guys,

Wanted to check if any of you guys have actually done a replacement of IU?

A bit suay, my IU has no power since Friday night. My place here uses the Gantry parking or EPS system.

Do we need to inform LTA and HDB? Or anyone else?

I hope no need to pay, cos recently done my vehicle inspection at Vicom, and i think they never inspect IU unit.

Edited by Acertey

really crap, ask me pay 150+ for them to further chop me... :angry:

no idea what type of analogy is that?