Picanto 3rd Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 yup i believe next GE opposition will get another 5-10 people into parliament that depends on how the WP perform in aljunied grc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 system where 60.1% of ppl's voe = 90% of parliament Same system wherein 54% of voters in aljunied gave all six seats to the oppo and none to miw. In political parlance, it is known as first-past-the-post system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Forgone conclusion. I won't hail him though. Not a must to hail him right? we r not far from Iran politics where Arabs suppress local Persians Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Internet polling represent 70s-80s-90s voice n it is up n coming, the actual result coming from 40s to 60s which is the baby boom era which is declining, Which means the future may not be MIW show, this maybe the last to be link. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 PAP isn't going to care. Even if it was a 1 vote win, they still consider it a victory. Now they truly is one big happy family. It is obvious that without TJS or TKL, TCB would have won and by a huge margin. Another sad day in just 3 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 There are people whom dun vote at all, including the last GE, dun blame them. Some went for long weekend holiday and can't be bothered. Even if they have to, who do you think they will vote? anyone know % of void votes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 anyone know % of void votes? 37k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 one moment 2% to TCB. after first recount still 2% to TCB. after second recount become 0.34% to TT There was only one recount, and it was asked for by TCB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Seriously 37000 pple went down to voting centre to have their vote rejected??? some people dont know who to vote so they leave it empty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Just got off Facebook. Really a lot of people are very tulan. 64% did not vote Tony Tan, i just realised that. What will this translate to? This just means that come 2016, PAP grip on more GRCs will slip. Exactly, for every election, they lose another 5%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Totally agree.....i will feel malu when only 30% of the ppl actiually sarpork me......but well, they thick skin :angry: :angry: same sentiments.. if ppl ask me I will say TT is NOT my president. TT only president to 30+% of singaporeans come to think of it. what if there were 10 candidates? that means if manage to win 10% votes can be EP liao. what a joke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 37k These ppl wrote their own name n put a cross Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 PAP isn't going to care. Even if it was a 1 vote win, they still consider it a victory. Now they truly is one big happy family. It is obvious that without TJS or TKL, TCB would have won and by a huge margin. Another sad day in just 3 months. Now cannot KPKB the 60% voters of the GE2011 liao lor , it is the 40% that screw up their own back side by not voting with a brain lor ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 1) Parties can endorse candidates, just like the unions declared 75% support for TT and SDP endorsed TJS. If the other parties endorsed TJS, his votes would have been much higher... 3) CSJ cannot speak at rallies, even during the previous GE (not the one earlier this year). Nothing to do with TJS. But it is true that TJS joined SDP because of CSJ. Why do you say that WP is PAP lite? 1) I didnt say parties cannot endorse. I said they should not endorse. 2) Since when did CSJ shy away from doing illegal things? Up till this election, CSJ's MO was Gandhi-style martyrdom. But just as Singapore can look the other way while Chia Thye Poh was locked up for 30 years, Singapore can look the other way no matter what happens to CSJ. Somebody managed to convince CSJ his style does not work, and I believe all credit goes to TJS. WP does not have big picture changes in mind. They will stick to PAP's general direction, but they only want changes to some small practical issues. This is why I think they are PAP lite. I think it is human nature to do straight line extrapolations, but the outcome of the next election is far from certain. We have new citizens voting. Young hipsters who somehow think Yam Ah Mee is cool will also be voting. Mostly, the baby boomers will still be alive and well. In fact, the next election may well be "Empire Strikes Back". That said, the baby boomers, after a lifetime of voting "no" to welfare state benefits as the working generation, will start to retire, stop paying income tax and demand tax and spend welfare state benefits for themselves. Will LHL have designs on the reserve to please this generation? What will TT say? That, will be the interesting question. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 sad for TCB and TKL. things would hv been different without TJS, nice display of an opportunist and a spoiler. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 sad for TCB and TKL. things would hv been different without TJS, nice display of an opportunist and a spoiler. TKL also la, when TJS entered the race he should have known his chances were slim liao. he was considering to not go on nomination day also if i remember. but i guess he did not want to let his supporters down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 7269 .... hmmmm ... later i go try small and big ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 some people dont know who to vote so they leave it empty Even on the actual day i was going to vote, i still dont know who to vote?! But ultimately i still didnt waste my vote, and used my vote wisely. Result as expected la, TT confirmed win lo, luckily didnt stay up yesterday morning to catch the annoucement, waste my time only. So can TKL get back his deposit? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...