Picanto 3rd Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Though TT won, he did not win by a significant majority. Moreover his nomination telecasts cannot be used without hearing all the boo-ings in the background. ST cannot publish a "landslide" victory for him. Probably had TKL withdrew, TCB might stand a chance. Now he not only had to admit defeat, he lost his election deposit as well. Reminds me of the 3 corner fight during GE. His last minute attempt of smearing TJS to get sympathy votes didn't work too well. TJS's "confrontational" approach may actually see him get more votes instead. This is after LTK's analogy of slapping the driver. His 25% win does signify a change in the political landscape. It's hardly possible to see a political nobody to rise up within 4 months getting this % in a 4 way fight. TJS results show that the opposition got hope in the next GE. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gukubird Neutral Newbie August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 I think thru this poll, it is clear that the general population of Singaporean are not comfortable of change. No matter how much they curse and swear, they still choose the one that will have the least change. Think it will be the same thing for next GE unless something really bad happen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Totally agree.....i will feel malu when only 30% of the ppl actiually sarpork me......but well, they thick skin :angry: :angry: the win = mandate liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 firstly, NSP very clearly did not endorse TJS. Nicole had to be very clear about that. Secondly, the secretary general of SDP is a very "strong" Chee Soon Juan. I doubt TJS will become the leader. I believe Nicole and rest of the other party supported TJS under their own personal capacities. Besides, they are not elected politicians at the moment, so can't really say they represent their party's views. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Out of 2 million voters, more than 1.3 million did not vote for him and yet he became the President. What kind of system is this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Out of 2 million voters, more than 1.3 million did not vote for him and yet he became the President. What kind of system is this? system where 60.1% of ppl's voe = 90% of parliament Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 Damm it...finished my prata walked to the 4D booth at 8:40am....placed a 100big and 100 small on the 7629. ALL Sold Out. So I said...ok...1big 1 small.....keyed into the computer...ALL SOLD OUT. I now pray this number don't come out tonight. Singaporeans are fast man.....should have buy first then eat my prata. Obviously, u r not Singaporean enough... u should know what is their favourite pass time right?, yes, Q.. I believe those buy up the number are those Q at the 4d outlet even before shop open, u r not kiasu enough... hehehe. ....;-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 TJS results show that the opposition got hope in the next GE. yup i believe next GE opposition will get another 5-10 people into parliament Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 I believe Nicole and rest of the other party supported TJS under their own personal capacities. Besides, they are not elected politicians at the moment, so can't really say they represent their party's views. "Nicole and rest of the other party supported TJS" should add up to much more than the 25% that TJS got... but no... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 "Nicole and rest of the other party supported TJS" should add up to much more than the 25% that TJS got... but no... the usual case of too many chefs using the same pot to cook. Well TJS & TT got wat they wanted, TCB & TKL were the ultimate losers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coralife Neutral Newbie August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 No changes at all. The poor getting poorer, the rich become richest. The only changes is the picture in the wall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 http://yeejj.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/anal...-pe2011-result/ Very good analysis... [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 (edited) TJS will be back in 2016. but for which party and which election remains to be seen.. My guess... TJS (+ loyal AYG) will jump ship to nsp in 2016. He would have considered wresting sdp from csj (just like wat csj did to cst), but considering csj's thirst to be the centre of attention as well as majority of the sdp cec being csj affiliates, it is unlikely to happen without mega ugly scenes. Nsp's leadership (the scholar couple) is new and relatively weak. The old leader discredited himself in the nsp election strategy for ge2011 and had to step aside for the scholar couple. Now further weakens his position by supporting tkl who lost deposit. So nsp is ripe for the picking. Plus got the added bonus of the star power of nicole seah. So this is the more likely scenario. Edited August 28, 2011 by Walkingtree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 sho mooody Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 firstly, NSP very clearly did not endorse TJS. Nicole had to be very clear about that. Secondly, the secretary general of SDP is a very "strong" Chee Soon Juan. I doubt TJS will become the leader. 1) Political parties should not endorse candidates. 2) NSP could have done much better in the last GE if they had a smarter leader. Few would think Goh Meng Seng is smarter than TJS. 3) TJS managed to get CSJ to keep quiet in the last GE. That shows he has influence over CSJ. CSJ will be their spiritual leader. We all know he and his family are unelectable. If the opposition can work together, then there will not be so many opposition parties. This is also why I believe PAP can stay in power even if they lose half the seats in parliament, because the opposition can never work together to form a government. Like I always say, WP is PAP lite. They have a role to play, in legitimising the idea of opposition running town councils, for example, but dont count on them for serious change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 (edited) Seriously 37000 pple went down to voting centre to have their vote rejected??? There are people whom dun vote at all, including the last GE, dun blame them. Some went for long weekend holiday and can't be bothered. Even if they have to, who do you think they will vote? Edited August 28, 2011 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 1) Political parties should not endorse candidates. 2) NSP could have done much better in the last GE if they had a smarter leader. Few would think Goh Meng Seng is smarter than TJS. 3) TJS managed to get CSJ to keep quiet in the last GE. That shows he has influence over CSJ. CSJ will be their spiritual leader. We all know he and his family are unelectable. If the opposition can work together, then there will not be so many opposition parties. This is also why I believe PAP can stay in power even if they lose half the seats in parliament, because the opposition can never work together to form a government. Like I always say, WP is PAP lite. They have a role to play, in legitimising the idea of opposition running town councils, for example, but dont count on them for serious change. i believe WP will win more seats next GE. The support for p@p is dropping & even if 3 cornered fight, it will b v close so WP stands great chance to take over p@p, & theyll end up majority & p@p as opposition LOL... 20-30yrs time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear August 28, 2011 Share August 28, 2011 1) Political parties should not endorse candidates. 2) NSP could have done much better in the last GE if they had a smarter leader. Few would think Goh Meng Seng is smarter than TJS. 3) TJS managed to get CSJ to keep quiet in the last GE. That shows he has influence over CSJ. CSJ will be their spiritual leader. We all know he and his family are unelectable. If the opposition can work together, then there will not be so many opposition parties. This is also why I believe PAP can stay in power even if they lose half the seats in parliament, because the opposition can never work together to form a government. Like I always say, WP is PAP lite. They have a role to play, in legitimising the idea of opposition running town councils, for example, but dont count on them for serious change. 1) Parties can endorse candidates, just like the unions declared 75% support for TT and SDP endorsed TJS. If the other parties endorsed TJS, his votes would have been much higher... 3) CSJ cannot speak at rallies, even during the previous GE (not the one earlier this year). Nothing to do with TJS. But it is true that TJS joined SDP because of CSJ. Why do you say that WP is PAP lite? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...