Cold welding DIY

Happily1986

Does anyone have prior experience in the above?

i understand that it works by usong two pieces of a special type of epoxy ( which i think you can buy in DIY stores) which acts as the bonding agent. i read that the bond is so strong you would require a blowtorch to cut it.

i need to do a L joint (or rather rejoin) of two 3% carbon steel. Dimensions of joint is estimated to be 60mm x 10mm x 10mm.

Does anyone have prior experience in the above?

i understand that it works by usong two pieces of a special type of epoxy ( which i think you can buy in DIY stores) which acts as the bonding agent. i read that the bond is so strong you would require a blowtorch to cut it.

i need to do a L joint (or rather rejoin) of two 3% carbon steel. Dimensions of joint is estimated to be 60mm x 10mm x 10mm.

Yes it is very strong like metal. have not tested the strength before. the epoxy is one black and one white colour, like plasticine.

I 've tried various types of epoxy for cold weldings.

Nothing beats the welding torch.

Dont use it for structural or life supporting /dependable joints.

The joins could fail without warning.

On paper they exhibit high compression or lateral strength of up to 2-3 tons.

But in reality they are very weak in torsional strength and cannot handle long term vibrations.

a better way is to wrap nylon treads or cotton nettings around the joins first, before bonding it with the cold weld.

One downside for this method is the lack of asthetic value.

I 've tried various types of epoxy for cold weldings.

Nothing beats the welding torch.

Dont use it for structural or life supporting /dependable joints.

The joins could fail without warning.

On paper they exhibit high compression or lateral strength of up to 2-3 tons.

But in reality they are very weak in torsional strength and cannot handle long term vibrations.

a better way is to wrap nylon treads or cotton nettings around the joins first, before bonding it with the cold weld.

One downside for this method is the lack of asthetic value.

Thanks for your contribution.

Has anyone actually went to a car workshop and paid them coffee money to do some simple welding for you? Wonder what is the informal rate.

I think the rate depends on what car you drive...

Btw, what do you join it for?

I agree 'Nothing beats the welding torch'

Why risk it by DIY-ing?

I think the rate depends on what car you drive...

Btw, what do you join it for?

I agree 'Nothing beats the welding torch'

Why risk it by DIY-ing?

Actually i am not welding things for the car. The car is stock right down to the T. I am looking for welding service for something else, no thanks to half past six welding in the first place.

just wondering has anyone found anyone providing this of of mobile welding service ? i just need to weld a small square metal piece to my hdb metal gate.

Epoxy-Beauty_0%20copy_0.png

just wondering has anyone found anyone providing this of of mobile welding service ? i just need to weld a small square metal piece to my hdb metal gate.

DIY lor :grin:

really that good ??

Epoxy when harden is as hard as cement

Very strong

If you don't mind ugly look, you can use the epoxy to cover around the object and the gate

Very strong

Epoxy when harden is as hard as cement

Very strong

If you don't mind ugly look, you can use the epoxy to cover around the object and the gate

Very strong

Not all epoxy are the same lah.

If looking for strong and hard epoxy, look for steel epoxy. They are very hard and can withstand heat.

There is also plastic epoxy which are cheaper, usually used for quick repairs and with fibre glass.

Not all epoxy are the same lah.

If looking for strong and hard epoxy, look for steel epoxy. They are very hard and can withstand heat.

There is also plastic epoxy which are cheaper, usually used for quick repairs and with fibre glass.

Wah this one I don't know liao

I am sure if you approach those metal welding shops in industrial estates, sure can get help by paying abit of kopi money. One such shop I will try if I were you is Metal world in Bedok Industrial Park E. There are also other shops there that can often see workers doing welding. Good luck.

Can try go to hi-yew laser welding at ubi. It's open by my friend's family. Not trying to promote them, but what I heard from him is that they do entertain small jobs like welding spectacles frame and jeweleries for quite a decent price. Maybe can get a quotation from them.

The guy needs to weld a small metal piece to his metal gate and u guys ask me go visit the shops? [crazy]

Its a metal gate of the house leh. How is the guy going to dismantle it and bring it to a shop to weld? [:|]

:XD:

I am sure if you approach those metal welding shops in industrial estates, sure can get help by paying abit of kopi money. One such shop I will try if I were you is Metal world in Bedok Industrial Park E. There are also other shops there that can often see workers doing welding. Good luck.

wow ...long time no hear from you ...

anyway, i am thinking of fixing a metal plate to my front gate to block access to the wooden door handle and locks from outside the gate.

so not possible for me to bring the gate along with me .... heheheheh...