TKL and TJS not there yet! Sheares is a Great President!!

GTR

Read the link.Late President Benjamin Sheares donated ALL his president pay to charity!!!

TKL going to donate 50%? TJS 500k more than enough??

President Benjamin Sheares already donated all his president pay more than 30 years ago!!

The best thing is he did not tell the whole world. TCB is correct, to announce donating half the pay even before u are elected as president is another way of buying votes. It is a strategy. But using such low class strategy in Presidential election shows how low the quality of the candidates are.

He was chosen by LKY at the prime of his career and he accepted it and being the president, he loss a large chunk of income and yet he still donated ALL his $17,000 salary to charity!! $17,000 in the 70s can easily buy 2 HDB flats.

This is what I call a president that wants to serve the people. The country don't build a major bridge and name it after a person for no reason.

Not some clowns going around Hi5 with people and also not some clown that keep wanting to hold PAP responsible and keep repeating check and balance.

Looks like I got no choice but to cross beside the Palm Tree.

I remembered when he passed away, the national flag was only half mast. Being young then, I did not understand why until my teacher told me the President had passed away. I understand he is a superb gynae and even pioneered a procedure which was named after him (if I recall correctly). Read somewhere that he delivered many many babies born in the 60s and 70s. From my then young (but now old fuzzy) memory, he was a good President.

Another President I miss: Mr Wee Kim Wee.

Yes Mr Wee Kim Wee is also another good president. Very fatherly and kind.

Sad to say the 4 Tans now are all unfit.

We have to choose among the 4 not so fit to see who is 'fit' to be the next president.

I see vote buying as a situation where voters get personal benefit from voting a particular candidate.

During the GE, if you vote for the PAP, you get upgrading. If you don't, then no upgrading for you.

For this Presidential election, voters do not get any personal benefit if the candidate says he will not keep the $4M to himself.

Since there is no personal benefit to voters, there is no "buying" involved. So I don't agree with the candidates who say that donating their Presidential salary away is vote buying.

I remembered when he passed away, the national flag was only half mast. Being young then, I did not understand why until my teacher told me the President had passed away. I understand he is a superb gynae and even pioneered a procedure which was named after him (if I recall correctly). Read somewhere that he delivered many many babies born in the 60s and 70s. From my then young (but now old fuzzy) memory, he was a good President.

Another President I miss: Mr Wee Kim Wee.

U miss late Mr Wee, u can always go Fook Hai at Geylang. His tablet is there.

good excuse to tell the wife why he was seen in geylang..... [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][laugh][laugh]

What's the use of having a President who want to serve the people? We still get a bunch of clowns who are continuously sucking the people's blood dry

Edited by Falcon1668

Who become prez important meh? First time I see sgporeans so concern and comprain so much over presidency election. I think a week after polling day ppl will just forget the whole thing and move on.

Why ppl keep bringing up the fatherly figure thingy? You got no father to look to meh? If no father still got grandfather mah? No? If no grandfather got some old guys here in MCF leh.

Somehow this coming PE still reeks of the after effects of GE. There should at least be a 2 year break between the 2 so that ppl have a more rational and not so emotional attitude when it comes to voting. This coming poll ppl just mix anger, emotion & rubbish together which I feel will turn out bad. Heck, it's already happening.

Err... according to wikipedia, Sheares' pioneering work is in creating an artificial vagina for people born without one, and is still used in sex change operations today. I am not making this up!

BTW, neither Wee Kim Wee nor Benjamin Sheares will be eligible to run if they are still alive today. Think about that.

Somehow this coming PE still reeks of the after effects of GE. There should at least be a 2 year break between the 2 so that ppl have a more rational and not so emotional attitude when it comes to voting. This coming poll ppl just mix anger, emotion & rubbish together which I feel will turn out bad. Heck, it's already happening.

This kind of emotion will not be diluted like 2 year break or something like that. ppl will still be emotional particularly after the fare hike or others that happened recently. showing the history repeating itself after GE.

from my view point, i really dont see why ppl turn to PE so seriously. do they really think that P is so powerful that can do serious checking on ppp? i just think that ppl already made a choice as to who is going to be in charge and control of the politics. they still have a naive thinking that this PE is going to make any changes? seems like history not only repeat itself for ppp, it also repeat itself to general public.

This kind of emotion will not be diluted like 2 year break or something like that. ppl will still be emotional particularly after the fare hike or others that happened recently. showing the history repeating itself after GE.

from my view point, i really dont see why ppl turn to PE so seriously. do they really think that P is so powerful that can do serious checking on ppp? i just think that ppl already made a choice as to who is going to be in charge and control of the politics. they still have a naive thinking that this PE is going to make any changes? seems like history not only repeat itself for ppp, it also repeat itself to general public.

Yes... doubt the Prez can do anything to govt.

Those that thot the prez can or those prez candidates that think they can... It's time to wake up.

Check and balance? LoL