Kia Optima

Yusld

You are not comparing apple to apple. One is turbo engine, one is NA. Turbo engine are always high in torque.

For 2.0L NA engine, 198Nm is consider OK. Even the BMW 320i also 200Nm only. That is why all the VW 1.4TSi engine has higher torque becasue all are turbo.

It is a fair comparison for C5 and K5 because they are in the same price range, size and market segment.

Yes, turbo has higher torque, that is why it is used in truck.

Yes, 198 Nm is Ok for 2.0 NA but it is not outstanding. So it is right to say that it is average. No fault but also no medal.

The truth is that despite the marketing hype, this car is actually not outstanding. It is not a bad car and it is definitely not the top tiered car in its category.

I can't comment about BMW 320i because I have not see its chart.

It is a fair comparison for C5 and K5 because they are in the same price range, size and market segment.

Yes, 198 Nm is Ok for 2.0 NA but it is not outstanding. So it is right to say that it is average. No fault but also no medal.

The truth is that despite the marketing hype, this car is actually not outstanding. It is not a bad car and it is definitely not the top tiered car in its category.

Fair as in price, size and also equipment. Engine comparison is one east and west. It depends on what you want in the end. Quite different league as one is Korean, the other is continental.

If not wrong car company only cover one year warranty on turbo bearings...which can cost quite a sum if replaced.

Theres a comparison between C5 and 508 and S60 in Aug Torque if u still manage to find one.

Edited by Tayspiderx

Btw K5 should be ard 130k base on current COE, just that they throw in free servicing instead...so if wait till promo ends than it may revert back and it will be 130k (K5 premium) versus 150k (C5 exclusive) versus 160k (508 allure)

I am refering to the engine comparsion since you are comparing the torque figure for C5 and K5.

I do agreed that in term of price comparsion, they are similar.

That is why the conti car are all moving towards the turbo direction for their new car. Even the new BMW F30 3series taht will be release early next year are using turbo engine. Expect to have 180hp from the 1.6L model.

Actually Hyundai/Kia also have good turbo engine for K5, too bad the local agent did not bring in the model.

Pls lah. Citroen C5 is more of Forte interior size. So small. I can barely fit in the rear seats comfortably.

Exterior design also 3yrs old now- looks the same as the pre-facelift model.

Of course, French design will win almost all competitors at the end of the day, but the unappealing engines, car and prices.....

No wonder Citroen is still pretty rare on the roads.

C5 also cannot match up with the K5 in terms of features leah.

=(

Btw K5 should be ard 130k base on current COE, just that they throw in free servicing instead...so if wait till promo ends than it may revert back and it will be 130k (K5 premium) versus 150k (C5 exclusive) versus 160k (508 allure)

As per yesterday noon (24 Aug), the K5 is $139,999 after insurance and promo rebate.

Pls lah. Citroen C5 is more of Forte interior size. So small. I can barely fit in the rear seats comfortably.

Of course, French design will win almost all competitors at the end of the day, but the unappealing engines, car and prices.....

=(

U r so pro-Kia. I wonder whether you would put your money to it or not.

Technically, K5 is well behind C5. The only face saving point is the modern "chio" exterior which even I fully agreed K5 is a beauty.

how do u get 130k? [confused]

Jialat, I am reading the brochure for K5, I really put off by the Theta II engine. It is just an average engine.

According to the chart, the engine Theta II 2.0 MPI ..

.. at 1.5k RPM 157Nm torque

... at 2k RPM 171Nm torque

... at 2.5k-3k RPM 176 Nm torque

... at 3.5-5k RPM ~198 Nm torque

Max torque = 198 Nm

This car is hard to "cheong" or overtake others, slow crawl only.

For comparison, C5 1.6L turbo, at 1.6k -4k RPM 240 Nm torque, flat.

I don't caer about 0-100kmh because in real life driving I hardly ramp up so fast. I most likely need to pick up fast at traffic junction and to overtake. So torque number around 2k RPM and 3k RPM will be important to me.

get a saab than... 240nm torque at 2.4k rpm flat for the basic model. :D no resell value thou [laugh]

Jialat, I am reading the brochure for K5, I really put off by the Theta II engine. It is just an average engine.

According to the chart, the engine Theta II 2.0 MPI ..

.. at 1.5k RPM 157Nm torque

... at 2k RPM 171Nm torque

... at 2.5k-3k RPM 176 Nm torque

... at 3.5-5k RPM ~198 Nm torque

Max torque = 198 Nm

This car is hard to "cheong" or overtake others, slow crawl only.

For comparison, C5 1.6L turbo, at 1.6k -4k RPM 240 Nm torque, flat.

I don't caer about 0-100kmh because in real life driving I hardly ramp up so fast. I most likely need to pick up fast at traffic junction and to overtake. So torque number around 2k RPM and 3k RPM will be important to me.

WTF this kind of posts sure tio whack......turbo naturally has high torque just like the cheongster sonata taxis

[laugh] bro, this is a free-to-say-what-u-wan, tcss forum rite?...

everyone's entitled to his own views, prejudice, likes, dislikes, style, etc, etc

so bro wizzercool may be just trying to be provocative to find out why people like/buy k5's...

or "he" may well be a salesperson for that make of cars!

[:p]

[laugh] bro, this is a free-to-say-what-u-wan, tcss forum rite?...

everyone's entitled to his own views, prejudice, likes, dislikes, style, etc, etc

so bro wizzercool may be just trying to be provocative to find out why people like/buy k5's...

or "he" may well be a salesperson for that make of cars!

[:p]

I am car owner who is looking for a new car (replacement) and definitely not a car salesperson. I read all these good thing about K5 but after I checked it out, it is all marketing hype. It is good that people get the truth about K5 rather than keeping getting those bias 'review' on how good K5 is.

I always respect arguments that are based on facts and real life scenarios.

WTF to you too.

The problem you have is that you never read full content/thread and do not understand the argument.

A car is not just about one component (example engine or look). It is the entire package bundled into the price tag.

Most of us will look at the price and then the package. So it doesn't matter whether turbo is better than NA or not. It is what we will get for paying the amount $$. If you pay the same $$ for K5 and C5, assuming all other thing being equal, isn't it better to have small cc engine and turbo performance that superior to NA equivalent? The fact is that both K5 and C5 price is now hovering at $140K.

=(

Based on your comparison, I really doubt if u had ever been inside the C5. I am someone who really put my money on the C5. My height is 1.74m and tip the scale at more than 100kg and I find the rear seats comfortable. The wheelbase is more than 2.8m almost 20cm more than the forte. How can their interior size be the same!!!!

Features wise, the K5 has the panoramic roof and the air vent seats. However, the C5 has the massage seats, wireless music streaming and their hyperactive III suspension. Their price are also on par.

List price (before negotiation and promo discount)

K5 140k (after insurance rebate)

C5 144k + free servicing

508 (Allure) 159k + free servicing

For these pricings, I will pick the C5 cos its only 4k more than a korean make which had always been preceived as a budget car. Secondly, the 508 although beautiful does not justify the 15k premium over the C5.

Features wise, all three are more than adequate and better than the jap makes.