Speeding offense, when to appeal?

Sky61

To TS,

The letter might arrive a few months later, informing you of your court date. You can then appeal. Can try through MP. Normally that will lessen fine and spare you court date, but demerit points will still remain at 18 points. That one cannot avoid.

well the TP inform me that the letter would come in around 2 wks time, so i guess i have to wait till i get the letter before i appeal for leniency.

Refer to this : http://derrickleow.com/trafficviolations.aspx

Seem like there's no other "penalty"(like a fine) to it if u "fight" for it. If fine, u appeal, if lost at most double fine. BUT if more serious "penalty" (like jail or 18 demerit point), if lose, sure also kanna jia lat jia lat... i think better plead guilty and ask for light punishment. Dun "fight" against the law, u r just at their mercy

my appeal is not to appeal against the verdict of the court, but to appeal to TP before the court case thats all. i'm well aware to plead guilty to avoid prolong agony.

just sharing...

there is nothing wrong in trying to appeal... i appeal for any offense i kanna from parking to speeding... if sucessful i save some $$$ if not then i pay up and move on...

i think what the ppl here are trying to say is if you fight in court with a lawyer... then will kanna even higher fine thats for sure... cause waste courts time all mah...

pls appeal asap... best if you can get some time off to drop by Traffic Police at TP... by the way from what i heard from a TP you can forget about waving the demerit points... fine discount yes... but thats from an appeal... once you get to the court level no hope liao...

good luck all the best

so do i appeal now or wait for letter to come first then appeal to TP?

when chiong must see teksi's driving style. if they chiong, it is safe to chiong [sly] if you see them not chionging, then must:

:ph34r: :ph34r:

(忍=endure)

that stretch of the road was on airport boulevard, the long stretch linking to the PIE, i thought that its the start of the Eway,didn't expect the speed limit to be at 70km/h. anyway thats no excuse for my actions. i didn't notice any taxis slowing down. anyway regarding our overseas reservist training, if the court date clashes with the overseas training, i have to apply to my unit to defer from the trip right??

Err..

Just a thought, don't say in your appeal letter that you were trying to pass another car - to need to reach 120+ to pass another car sounds too much like racing and you might get whacked jialat jialat.

Maybe if you drive a Lexus you can say that the sound insulation was too good and you didn't notice your speed?

Anyway, if want to appeal, suggest that you do it in person at Ubi. Apologise until like anything and promise to do better next time.

Last time (long long time ago) I very lucky, got caught at 51 over (not in Singapore) which was also court appearance, but the kind officer only wrote ticket for 49 over (which was not court).

Court appearance, anything can happen, so license maybe up lorry already - will depend on judge.

The one I quoted is for 12 points, still got 18 and 24 categories which will be more serious. Purpose of posting that is to highlight no need to commit 24 points offense then will get suspension

:blink: oh...

btw, as long as u dont get 24 points in 1 shot, license wont get suspended.

Depends also on how many points one still possesses at that point in time la.

that stretch of the road was on airport boulevard, the long stretch linking to the PIE, i thought that its the start of the Eway,didn't expect the speed limit to be at 70km/h. anyway thats no excuse for my actions. i didn't notice any taxis slowing down. anyway regarding our overseas reservist training, if the court date clashes with the overseas training, i have to apply to my unit to defer from the trip right??

Expressways also got stipulated 70km/h speed; limit hor!

eg. Along ECP - just before/after Benjamin Shears Bridge (near Fort Road).

Edited by Branteo

so do i appeal now or wait for letter to come first then appeal to TP?

i seriously dont know but if i were you i'd appeal asap... and see what they say...

Earliest 2 weeks. I got mine about 3 months later.

So if you get your letter informing your court date, go and appeal. You won't know how much is the fine until you attend court, and bring along 3 to 5k cash just in case.

Appealing might excuse you for the court hearing. But like I say, the demerit points are inevitable.

Try your MP. Hope for the best and prepare for the worst. Lucky you not over 60kmh. If not vehicle might get impounded.

Edit, after appealing, fine was 300, 18 points in my case. For your reference.

Edited by Stanong11

Earliest 2 weeks. I got mine about 3 months later.

So if you get your letter informing your court date, go and appeal. You won't know how much is the fine until you attend court, and bring along 3 to 5k cash just in case.

Appealing might excuse you for the court hearing. But like I say, the demerit points are inevitable.

Try your MP. Hope for the best and prepare for the worst. Lucky you not over 60kmh. If not vehicle might get impounded.

Edit, after appealing, fine was 300, 18 points in my case. For your reference.

In all seriousness - why try the MP?

What can the MP do in this sort of case?

Assuming the MP helps, isn't it some kind of corruption?

I can see if it was a genuinely unusual or special case (eg accelerator stuck, rushing kid to hospital) that the law didn't deal with - but this is not the case here (per the OPs own admission)

If you're in the wrong, then admit it and move on... unless you have a strong reason to plead not guilty (with evidence of course) usually it is best not to complicate such a case as they also usually open-shut.

However what you can do is plead for leniency and/or mitigation on behalf of your good prior record. They may reduce the penalty but there will be a penalty nonetheless.

You can don't do it if you disagree. No one forcing you anyway.

Of course can do or don't do, is up to you.

But isn't it a question that deserves thinking about?

So go to MP, ask them to appeal on your behalf...is it "proper" that MP name carry weight with TP? Is it the way things should be? Is it open to abuse? So what - next time, if go volunteer with RC can get recommendation easier?

It is a very serious question - and not one that, in my opinion, an MP should be getting involved in. It simply raises too many questions.