13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 aiya, means a school which parents cannot boast to everyone lor. Agreed, if the school which parents cannot "show off" to everyone, then it is a neghbourhood school. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 I went to NB school, my girl in NB school now, I drive Merc & stay in condo... all thanks to my teachers in NB school. but if u hv gone to 'branded' school, maybe today u drive Bentley & stay in GCBA. how liddat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboQ Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Author Share August 17, 2011 I went to NB school, my girl in NB school now, I drive Merc & stay in condo... all thanks to my teachers in NB school. Maybe you are odd one out? Or maybe during your time all school same? In school are there many pai Kia? Like Li nan xing or tian yi bang like dat one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboQ Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Author Share August 17, 2011 I dont believe Someone driving merc will send her daughter to neighbourhood school!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contin Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 (edited) Maybe you are odd one out? Or maybe during your time all school same? In school are there many pai Kia? Like Li nan xing or tian yi bang like dat one? Every few days we will see police coming to school looking for pai kia, watch them being caned on stage by discipline master, very kelian... Yeah my NB school was like that. But the teachers were very responsible, went all out to help us pass exams... Edited August 17, 2011 by Contin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 (edited) Basically the perception of neighborhood school is when the school is of less popular, even if the school is popular only in the particular zone or estate. When a school is very popular and highly sought after by parents from all over the island, it will be deem as special and prestige, even if the school is located in normal neighborhood estate. Example like Nanyang, Tao Nan, Ai Tong, Catholic, ACS(i). Bro acs(i) is sec school..... You mean acps and acjs.. Girls primary schools like rgps, scgs and mgs very popular too, if mother is not old girl, chances of getting in are very slim.... Edited August 17, 2011 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contin Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 but if u hv gone to 'branded' school, maybe today u drive Bentley & stay in GCBA. how liddat? Aiya, that depends what will make you contend lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Agreed, if the school which parents cannot "show off" to everyone, then it is a neghbourhood school. i tink those who 'show off' but later the child results CMI, realli dunno where to hide face and child will prob suffer from low-self esteem becoz parents want 'face'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Maybe you are odd one out? Or maybe during your time all school same? In school are there many pai Kia? Like Li nan xing or tian yi bang like dat one? Terence cao, mediacock chow ah beng, also from acs what... Opposition siao lang chee soon juan also acs boy, chen show mao also, chiam see tong also... Acs boys more rebellious than RI boys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 i tink those who 'show off' but later the child results CMI, realli dunno where to hide face and child will prob suffer from low-self esteem becoz parents want 'face'. I guess many parents believe if their kids are in those good school, the results of their child also good cause of the elite environment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 aiya, means a school which parents cannot boast to everyone lor. Should say Parents dun need to do volunteer; children also can go in one lar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboQ Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Author Share August 17, 2011 Every few days we will see police coming to school looking for pai kia, watch them being caned on stage by discipline master, very kelian... Yeah my NB school was like that. But the teachers were very responsible, went all out to help us pass exams... Are you not influenced by these people? Or you hang out with smarter kids? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboQ Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Author Share August 17, 2011 So do you chin Chye when it comes to school selection for your kids? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 I guess many parents believe if their kids are in those good school, the results of their child also good cause of the elite environment. to a certain extent i would agree but if parents cannot commit the time & resources to coaching the child, i think it's doing the kid injustice as it'll be a struggle and detrimental to the kid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 I guess many parents believe if their kids are in those good school, the results of their child also good cause of the elite environment. More often true than not. Maybe we should not think of it as "elite" environment, but rather a more academic and civilised environment with kids of good decent backgrounds. Good schools, because of the schools' culture, also breed a more competitive attitude in the kids, the kids automatically want to excel in whatever, be it sports, chess or academics. I have noticed that kids from neighbourhood schools don't really desire to excel, they prefer to relak one corner and have a very relaxed attitude to life. For them, mediocrity is good enough. While this may enable the kid to have a "happy" childhood and less stressful teenaged years, reality will set in once he/she reaches university age and working life. Then he/she will wonder why he/she is lagging behind some of their peers from stellar academic backgrounds and different attitudes to life and career and consequently suffer lower salaries, glass ceiling in promotion, have to drive cheap korean car, stay in HDB, etc etc. Then he/she will blame the govt, blame singapore, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboQ Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Author Share August 17, 2011 More often true than not. Maybe we should not think of it as "elite" environment, but rather a more academic and civilised environment with kids of good decent backgrounds. Good schools, because of the schools' culture, also breed a more competitive attitude in the kids, the kids automatically want to excel in whatever, be it sports, chess or academics. I have noticed that kids from neighbourhood schools don't really desire to excel, they prefer to relak one corner and have a very relaxed attitude to life. For them, mediocrity is good enough. While this may enable the kid to have a "happy" childhood and less stressful teenaged years, reality will set in once he/she reaches university age and working life. Then he/she will wonder why he/she is lagging behind some of their peers from stellar academic backgrounds and different attitudes to life and career and consequently suffer lower salaries, glass ceiling in promotion, have to drive cheap korean car, stay in HDB, etc etc. Then he/she will blame the govt, blame singapore, etc. I agree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Should say Parents dun need to do volunteer; children also can go in one lar. try telling it to these parents: http://edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/new...We_got_in_.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contin Neutral Newbie August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 So do you chin Chye when it comes to school selection for your kids? Compare notes with other parents will learn which NB school are more popular. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...