Hondacub777 6th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 +10 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 tkl kena play out big time by tjs. i thot he got chance to gather opp vote. he even spoke in nsp rally, skali come tjs. im sure sdp supporters support him. made worst nicole seah openly support him. she alone will pull in significant num of votes for him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 oso i knoe the wife of tjs she from financial/accountancy sector, was doing well in it. heard she invested and made tonnes of $ for her coy but gave up her career to be a full time mother & wife. also a nice person, so dat alone scores some points for tjs for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Don't be so sure, the spectacle might drop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 yeah why should we stand behind him? He's got the whole frigging SDP behind him and supporters are wearing red t-shirt! Maybe he mistook this as GE 2011 Part 2 or he forgot that he say he is not affliniated to any political party. I for one doesn't want such a scary person as a president! He should just stick to being a politician and run for GE 2016... Which I believe he would if he lose this one. 39% doesn't mean all support SDP for their cause. You think the folks in WP or NSP would surely support him... Agreed with u.TJS to me like a hardcore anti gov like his ex party leader. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 oso i knoe the wife of tjs she from financial/accountancy sector, was doing well in it. heard she invested and made tonnes of $ for her coy but gave up her career to be a full time mother & wife. also a nice person, so dat alone scores some points for tjs for me. Among all the wives, i think TCB, TJS and TT's wife has not a bad career background. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 if the remaining 39.9% ALL voted for TJS, i'm pretty sure TJS will win maybe we should all stand behind TJS instead of TCB this thread has so far taken so many well thought posts.............so many posts here have gone through a thinking cycle before being posted here.................not easy to see so many to come to a common point of view........... until yours appear..............do you think you sld bring your no thought comments to somewhere else????.............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 pple hard core fans, cant be help la. IMO TJS too many anti gov senti, which will not help in country growth even if 100% of cabinet is MIW. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Supported TCB . He more concern on livinghood of people than making $ for govt. MIW know his capability thats y push TT out for president knewing that prata man will have no fight. But looks like TT will win....... T T Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 (edited) Supported TCB . He more concern on livinghood of people than making $ for govt. MIW know his capability thats y push TT out for president knewing that prata man will have no fight. But looks like TT will win....... T T I believe so, TT very high chance to win although the total % votes might not be very high. Edited August 18, 2011 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Whoever become EP, I hope that person will not be like the drunkard & 'horny' one we had years ago. Really lost s'pore face. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 IMHO, TT is not without risks for PAP. We had two Presidents with politician backgrounds: Devan Nair and OTC. Neither Presidency ended happily. Considering his experience and seniority and that he was LKY's preferred for PM over GCT, it is not going to be funny if he ever has any disagreement with any of the cabinet ministers, especially the newbies, since he had so many portfolios before as well as private sector experience. In contrast, the rest of the Presidents who did not have any cabinet or private sector leadership experience, probably will not have any ego issues. And even if they did, they wouldnt think they are qualified to raise a stink. In this aspect, TCB may actually be PAP's preferred candidate. When push comes to shove, TCB is more likely to back off than TT, especially after LKY passes on. Also, something TT said about him helping advise on the economy makes no sense. Economic policy is none of the President's business. How can he be of more use as President than GIC Chairman? Is it because he doesnt get enough respect as GIC Chairman? Would a man of TT's stature tolerate puppet accusations like SR Nathan? I dont know. Maybe he can, but I see risks, from PAP's point of view. TJS doesnt want to win the Presidency. But that doesnt mean he is not winning. He already won the first round with the COE by widening the pool of potential candidates. From now on, he is just building his brandname, just as Sylvia Lim was building her's in the 2006 GE. TKL is obviously sabo-ed by TJS. I guess that is the price to pay for being neither here nor there. If TT and TCB evenly split the 60.1% votes, TKL would have comfortably walked into the Istana. Now, he has to sweat over his deposit. I cant blame him for wanting to withdraw from the race. But let's not forget his contributions over the Minibond saga. Where was TCB during the Minibond saga? Which leads me to TCB. He may have spoken up over certain issues, but what difference did it make? Does TCB represent a split in the PAP grassroots vs elite? I dont know. But if you take a look at the successive PAP MP candidates, how many rose up the ranks via the grassroots? In the more recent years, I can only think of Tin Pei Ling, Ong Ah Heng, Ang Mong Seng. The rest are all successful professionals invited to tea parties and then heli-inserted into grassroot leadership just before the election. I dont think the grassroots are too happy to be passed over time and again, and TCB candidacy is their response. How the 60.1% votes get split will be very interesting. IMHO, none of the candidates are ideal for the post or for PAP, but just as well, I dont think anybody can go wrong voting for any of the candidates, so just vote for whoever with the prettiest face because his photo is going to be everywhere. I am not saying I totally agree with you, but your analysis is one of the best in this forum so far Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 I am not saying I totally agree with you, but your analysis is one of the best in this forum so far Ya and it turn out to be a beauty contest instead if based on his final verdict. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 i beg to differ, on foreign relations in my opinion, the SG president does not need to have good foreign relations, he is more like a meet-and-greet person for foreign visitors, before his visit i bet his Ph.D assistants would have prepared all the intelligent questions and politically correct answers for him, other than that jus look good,smile and thats it. he does not make executive decisions. for internal, for folks like you and me. wads in for us, you see MIW still forms the majority party and WP with that few seats can only do so much. i wish for a man to dig out all the skeletons, all the dirty little secrets, question their every move, keep everyone on their toes. i give you this scenario, say the below were to happen , what do u think will be the immediate action from our 4 candidates 1) IF Satellite ERP testing is a success; implementation will be for all vehicles and drivers are charged $1 per km. 2) IF SGporeans still refuse to give birth, SG population to be projected to 10mil to become no.1 super economy. import more FTs 3) IF HDB loan tenures were to extend to max life span 99 yrs to make it more "affordable" BTO to peg to open market as to encourage fairness between buyers 4) IF the income gap increases, GST to be increase to 15% so to helped the poor and to be "medicine" for the society i leave the imagination of the 4 candidates ' reaction to you. We do not need good foreign relations??? We are only a small island, not foreign relations then what can we depend?? Oil? Gas? plantations? This is Singapore, our other resource are people like us and to attract investors to setup businesses we need to have SOLID foreign relations! That's where our job comes from. I tell you without foreign relations we are AS GOOD AS DEAD! Are you willing to sell you ipod, ipad and iphone to buy Creative products? Are you willing to give up your Fairlady to drive a locally assembled Impreza? Are you willing "support local" and our economy? Even so we are still too small to support our own economy. We are not Japan, Australia or even Malaysia to a certain extent. And for someone to keep check on the Gov, The problem is you must choose the right man to dig out the can of worms, We are choosing a president, not an Auditor or Gurung Guni Man. The last person I want is a president that behaves like Chen Sui Bian. And the 4 point you said are just you assumption that things will head that way. Maybe b4 the GE2011 PAP is still oblivious of the ground sendiments but that this point of time I guess they "woke up their ideas". But still what can a president do? Those 4 point are not relevant now and If you are so strongly against then don't forget it in GE2016. But to choose a president you need to choose a president that represents us, Who will promote Singapore as a whole. Maybe you should watch this show call "Presidential Arts" (was aired on Okto few weeks back) and you see the kind of calibre and all our president have. Heck even Devan Nair is more solid compared to TJS. TJS? I'd say he don't even that 39% of opposition support. The most only 5% as the bulk of the 39% are WP and NSP which policies and ideals are totally different from SDP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenithpool 2nd Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 I think the more candidate challenging, the more advantage to TT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 This only goes to show once you're out of the MIW club your Maths ability suddenly takes a drive aggravated by the increasing thirst for greed $ and power.... Can't fault CB though, he was 'set up' by the other two clowns and the MIW cronies just need basic Maths to forsee the assured outcome! LoL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 We do not need good foreign relations??? We are only a small island, not foreign relations then what can we depend?? Oil? Gas? plantations? This is Singapore, our other resource are people like us and to attract investors to setup businesses we need to have SOLID foreign relations! That's where our job comes from. I tell you without foreign relations we are AS GOOD AS DEAD! Are you willing to sell you ipod, ipad and iphone to buy Creative products? Are you willing to give up your Fairlady to drive a locally assembled Impreza? Are you willing "support local" and our economy? Even so we are still too small to support our own economy. We are not Japan, Australia or even Malaysia to a certain extent. And for someone to keep check on the Gov, The problem is you must choose the right man to dig out the can of worms, We are choosing a president, not an Auditor or Gurung Guni Man. The last person I want is a president that behaves like Chen Sui Bian. And the 4 point you said are just you assumption that things will head that way. Maybe b4 the GE2011 PAP is still oblivious of the ground sendiments but that this point of time I guess they "woke up their ideas". But still what can a president do? Those 4 point are not relevant now and If you are so strongly against then don't forget it in GE2016. But to choose a president you need to choose a president that represents us, Who will promote Singapore as a whole. Maybe you should watch this show call "Presidential Arts" (was aired on Okto few weeks back) and you see the kind of calibre and all our president have. Heck even Devan Nair is more solid compared to TJS. TJS? I'd say he don't even that 39% of opposition support. The most only 5% as the bulk of the 39% are WP and NSP which policies and ideals are totally different from SDP. Save your saliva lah.... I hate ppl talking pointless crap like trying to make a point but the point is a moot point. You ppl who want to take on the Papies can't even be UNITED on a common cause and yet every clown still want to be heard and to make his valid points. The term they use for ppl like these are.....LOSERS in life! LoL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abluey Neutral Newbie August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Saw this article... For your reference... Think we should unite together n choose one... TCB or TJS.. So that their votes will gana split.... http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=7046 To me, Mr. Tan Jee Say more than meets all the criteria that I have mentioned. One of the attributes mentioned above is impartiality. To have this and be manifestly seen to have this, the person must be free from any emotional attachment to the ruling party. Only then can he provide the unfettered checks and balances that the office demands. There is no doubt Tan Jee Say will be the most ideal candidate to provide these checks and balances. He has no affiliation to the PAP and hence there would not any emotional attachment to hamper him in making independent and objective judgments. The second attribute is courage. An elected president needs a certain kind of courage to execute his duties without fear or favour. He also needs to be strong-willed and possess a single-mindedness not to waver in the face of tremendous pressure. These qualities are necessary for the president to rally the country and reassure the citizens in times of extraordinary crisis and to deal with any rogue government should one surface. There is no doubt Mr. Tan Jee Say has plenty of courage. He was the first high-ranking scholar-civil servant to come out and fight a general election on an opposition ticket in May 2011. You need to have plenty of courage to do that. I know Mr. Tan very well. He is a man of principles. He is not an opportunist who will waver and compromise for selfish interest. This is why he did not use his great credentials to offer himself to other political parties except the one that shares his economic ideas. There is no doubt he has abundance of economic knowledge and financial expertise. He has managed funds in the hundreds of million dollars. His grasp of money matters and how money flows comes to him as easy as turning over one ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...