Bystander50 5th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 From USN. We could not afford even if we wanted. The AIM54 Phoenix cost US$1m per shot, no way we can throw money like that. Anyway the entire fleet of Tomcats all decommissioned liao. Iran is the only country US sold the F14s to and remain the only one with F14s still active. Whether or not it is still flyable is another story. Part of the reason to retire the F14s is to deny the Iranians the ability to get spares. All the tools and parts for the F14s are destroyed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 I prefer the 70s and the 80s. More interesting planes from different manufacturers. F-15 and F-14 tops the list and the bad guys had badass MIGs and the super mysterious MIG 29s. F-4s vs MIG 21s. Tornadoes, Mirage 2000s, Viggens & Harriers. A-6 and A-7s. Today, it is one plane does everything with multiple block upgrades. The Navy only uses F-18s. It is getting very very boring. It is the cost of inventory in keeping spares that forces them to reduce the fleet's combination and to have common parts on different planes. Moreover, very few capable areospace companies remain if you look back into since ww2. Most either closed down or being bought over. The US will be repeating the mistakes of the Japs in ww2. When the weaknesses of the F18s are found, just like the zeros, they lose this aircraft's capabilities. Cold war also over, no one to compete with the US in terms of superority. Maybe in a few years, China will be able to put pressure on them once again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Whoa! You really do know your stuff!!! Well, China will be the next military power, before you know it!!! =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 From USN. We could not afford even if we wanted. The AIM54 Phoenix cost US$1m per shot, no way we can throw money like that. Anyway the entire fleet of Tomcats all decommissioned liao. The US would never have sold Singapore the long range Phoenix missiles. This would have seriously upset the arms power balance in the region. The US and the Soviets were virtually at an proxy arms race. I would have had no doubt that exotic weapons e.g. the Scud Bs could have made their ways in Indonesian stockpiles had the Americans sold us the Phoenixes. Anyway, we have gotten ourselves the lesser AMRAAMs 100x but caveat is that all of them have to be kept by the US and released only in event of war. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 hairy chest = success in life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear August 17, 2011 Author Share August 17, 2011 We're in talks with the US to sell us F-35 leah.... =) Too early at this stage to say. Unlike many other nations contributing cash as Levels 1 to 3 status with options to buy it, our participation is as Security Cooperative Participants (SCP) aka observer status together with Israel, IMHO we will not be buying due to the steep price tag. From reports the flyaway cost ranges from US$150-200m per plane. That is really a lot of $$$$$$$!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear August 17, 2011 Author Share August 17, 2011 So our AF did have an accident in the S.China sea too? I see. That is a different one where a pilot lost his life as mentioned in the later posts? For a moment, I thought we did have F14s at one point in time. Cool bird, swept wings. Ya was a big fan of Tomcats, especially after the movie TOP GUN starring Tom Cruise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 can our local pilots handle such stress they wont eject bah.... since it is a training accident who want to try and land the plane and after that kena court marshal possiblity of demotion worse come to worse try to steer the plane away from residential area and crash it lor will get honour for dying and prevent ground casualties Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear August 18, 2011 Author Share August 18, 2011 I prefer the 70s and the 80s. More interesting planes from different manufacturers. F-15 and F-14 tops the list and the bad guys had badass MIGs and the super mysterious MIG 29s. F-4s vs MIG 21s. Tornadoes, Mirage 2000s, Viggens & Harriers. A-6 and A-7s. Today, it is one plane does everything with multiple block upgrades. The Navy only uses F-18s. It is getting very very boring. Ah we share the same nostalgic thoughts of these magnificent jets then. My favourite then was actually the big fat Phantom II and especially this cute little spook representing it: F16 was just surfacing then... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Ah we share the same nostalgic thoughts of these magnificent jets then. My favourite then was actually the big fat Phantom II and especially this cute little spook representing it: F16 was just surfacing then... That was one of my favourite too. Especially when they could paint it in different schemes as in Navy got their white ones especially the Jolly Rogers, Army got their camo ones. Nowadays every other plane comes in 1 grey low visibility scheme <- ultra boring. I remember that spook but dun recall which squadron it was. Used to buy Bill Gunston books and they were terrific and detailed. It was quite agonising when they forgot the gun on the F-4 and to find out they were out manuvered by Mig-19s over Vietnam in dogfights was distressing to a 12 year old then. F-104 was another cold war classic. Very much like the BAE Lightning. Just another 0-100km/h machine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 you can trust the israelis with anything. They are the survivors Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear August 18, 2011 Author Share August 18, 2011 That was one of my favourite too. Especially when they could paint it in different schemes as in Navy got their white ones especially the Jolly Rogers, Army got their camo ones. Nowadays every other plane comes in 1 grey low visibility scheme <- ultra boring. I remember that spook but dun recall which squadron it was. Used to buy Bill Gunston books and they were terrific and detailed. It was quite agonising when they forgot the gun on the F-4 and to find out they were out manuvered by Mig-19s over Vietnam in dogfights was distressing to a 12 year old then. F-104 was another cold war classic. Very much like the BAE Lightning. Just another 0-100km/h machine. ya the name star fighter was a misnomer haha it was literally a flying pencil! like the phantom ii tigershark paint scheme especially. it was a fierce plane to look at! it was really a disaster not to put a last-ditch defence gun on the phantom but from this failed provision came the birth of the mighty eagle.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear August 18, 2011 Author Share August 18, 2011 Another of my fav was the sepecat jaguar. to me it was a great looking aircraft & i bought the kit to build it then. cost me a fortunate with all my pocket money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 ya the name star fighter was a misnomer haha it was literally a flying pencil! like the phantom ii tigershark paint scheme especially. it was a fierce plane to look at! it was really a disaster not to put a last-ditch defence gun on the phantom but from this failed provision came the birth of the mighty eagle.. And they sold it to the Israelis, Japanese and Saudis. Finally we get our hands on it. It seemed like RSAF did consider the F-4 at one point and was close to buying some as a stop gap between the F-5Es and F-16s. We used to have a rather pathetic air force. F-5E and A-4, even Hunters and Strikemasters were our main force. Not very inspiring. Something about our Centurion tanks in ROC. I think it was a very clever plan to avert a international hoo-haa. It seems like ROC and SGP probably shared the cost but based them in ROC where the threat was greater but sort of skip around the ownership issue. What are the chances that the tanks are needed in both countries? China make noise, ROC points finger at SGP, tell them it is ours. Our neighbour makes noise, we tell them it is based in ROC and no threat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Another of my fav was the sepecat jaguar. to me it was a great looking aircraft & i bought the kit to build it then. cost me a fortunate with all my pocket money I like that too. Square intakes and angular nose looks everybit business, especially in the desert scheme paint, Omani AF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear August 18, 2011 Author Share August 18, 2011 And they sold it to the Israelis, Japanese and Saudis. Finally we get our hands on it. It seemed like RSAF did consider the F-4 at one point and was close to buying some as a stop gap between the F-5Es and F-16s. We used to have a rather pathetic air force. F-5E and A-4, even Hunters and Strikemasters were our main force. Not very inspiring. Something about our Centurion tanks in ROC. I think it was a very clever plan to avert a international hoo-haa. It seems like ROC and SGP probably shared the cost but based them in ROC where the threat was greater but sort of skip around the ownership issue. What are the chances that the tanks are needed in both countries? China make noise, ROC points finger at SGP, tell them it is ours. Our neighbour makes noise, we tell them it is based in ROC and no threat. Now that you have mentioned abt F5, want to share a little joke which you might have heard. Cannot remember exactly the details but it was something like that. F5s were sold to SEA states then so they think they had a jet fighter, according to a US official then. And also they tried to short change us by forcing down our throat the F16/79 which was powered by Phantom's J79 engine but was rebuffed by our guys. The centurion tanks were a [lipsrsealed] issue then which many knew but could not say then. Not sure if you and me will kena lim kopi when we talked abt it now.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 Now that you have mentioned abt F5, want to share a little joke which you might have heard. Cannot remember exactly the details but it was something like that. F5s were sold to SEA states then so they think they had a jet fighter, according to a US official then. And also they tried to short change us by forcing down our throat the F16/79 which was powered by Phantom's J79 engine but was rebuffed by our guys. The centurion tanks were a [lipsrsealed] issue then which many knew but could not say then. Not sure if you and me will kena lim kopi when we talked abt it now.... F-5E was named Freedom Fighter to keep the commie threat away. They were sold to 3rd world allies of the USA to counter Mig 19 and 21s iirc. They are apparently not too bad in the correct hands but most of the operators were corrupted regimes with pretty incompetent air forces. The informtaion on Centurion tanks are on Wikipedia. But anyway, we've got the Leopards now so I think they will be phased out or already phased out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dahawk Clutched August 18, 2011 Share August 18, 2011 (edited) They tried to sell us the damn tigersharks too! Edited August 18, 2011 by Dahawk ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...