Calvin79 2nd Gear August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 parked my car back in office after lunch... realised there was smoke coming out from the hood... after opening it, there was no smoke liao... but can smell a "Chao Ta" type of smell. Anyone can advice me what causes this? no contact with water, the smoke is white... call up mech, he says probably water temp... must be careful... wat precaution should i take now? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 did u see any signs of leakage? coolant? engine oil? steering oil? .....did the smoke have an oily smell? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chngee Clutched August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 Check the radiator tank is the coolant empty? It is likely the thermostat jam and cause the radiator water spill out from the cap. Mine happens before and check by mechanic say nothing wrong after running the engine for 4-5 hrs. After change the coolant hose, thermostat now ok. Saw the old thermostat after change there are some crystalized deposits in it and this is likely jam the thing not able to function when temp hit limit. So the circulation only lop sided. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 Maybe some dead rat or lizard been cooked?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 does it smell of curry?.....just kidding.. If you don't see the coolant level going down then likely is not leakage of coolant....any other funny mechanical noise from compressor or alternator and etc? Could be something that your car scopped up when traveling....I had an incident where my undercarriage caught a big plastic bag and it stick to my engine area and it burnt... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear August 16, 2011 Author Share August 16, 2011 Thanks Guys for the feedback... later i will go and do a check again. no lights lighted up, hence unlikely mechanical failure. just did my 40k servicing one month back... changed belt and some hose... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixat 1st Gear August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 Check power steering fluid also. My fren kena leaking hose which dripped on full lock only and smoked when the fluid hit the extractor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear August 16, 2011 Author Share August 16, 2011 thanks... actually he did tell me mine was leaking abit... just that he said should manage till next servicing... the smell is like something is burning... so was pretty worried when i saw smoke coming out from the hood... too bad when i opened it, the smoke stopped. so could not see where exactly it came from... hope can survive this couple of days before i go to the ws on sat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 Radiator should not have smell right? Smoke from rubber burning is worrying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear August 16, 2011 Author Share August 16, 2011 if the same thing doesnt happen again should i still go for a check? because ws normally will just briefly check through and say ok one.... reason oso because i cant point out exactly where the fault lies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jefkking Clutched August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 (edited) check radiator:- - your reservoir spare tank water level and symthom of leakage - your radiator cap for any spilled symthom (water or coolant colour marks) - must ensure your radiator is cool before open up the radiator cap to check if water at top of radiators vents. - check base on radiator for leakage - check radiator hoses (Inlet and outlet hoses for leakage and condition of hoses) when engien was cool. If water was empty in your spare reservoir tank & no sign of water in your radiator or there's symthom of leakage, try not to start your car anymore as your engine will be over-heated soon upon engine running and you'll see smoke again and never open the readiator cap or pour-in water into the spare radiator tank or radiator as your engine block internal water passage ways (2) will crack due to expand and contract. Worse case, your engine block maybe jam and seizure of pistons and repair cost from few hundreds to over a thousand. Best to send to workshop for radiator pressure test. check engine oil:- - check engine oil level when the engine is cool down (more acurate) - check engine sump for symthom of engine leakage Best send to workshop for under carriage check. Edited August 16, 2011 by Jefkking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djdp Clutched August 16, 2011 Share August 16, 2011 Dun wori Subaru smoking is common. Mine dunno Puff how many time Liao. Even now also sometime smoke But no time to repair yet. Possible causes: 1 drive shaft dust cover broken 2 power steering pump oil leaking 3 valve cover leaking Since Urs is 40k nia, think shd b dust cover Broken, grease 'splash' all over kana Exhaust hence smoke come out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear August 16, 2011 Author Share August 16, 2011 Thanks bro... It seem to be the case... Anyway to be safe shall go down to Ws Tml morning to let them have a look. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear August 16, 2011 Author Share August 16, 2011 Thanks bro... Gg Ws Tml morning to let them check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear August 17, 2011 Author Share August 17, 2011 Morning Bros, Back from the ws... left the car there as the car was dam jerky this morning when i drove to the ws... the mech says likely is gear oil leaking. hence need to change the hoses... he says will change all the old ones... quoted around 100 plus for it... reasonable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 17, 2011 Share August 17, 2011 Visual check with a powerful LED light will identify the point of leakage. Why change all tubes if there is no confirmed leakage? For peace of mind I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear August 19, 2011 Author Share August 19, 2011 yup bro, for safety wise, i guess its best not to compromise... although it would even be better if its cheaper... anyway i told the ws i hope the next time i see him will be servicing time... he said though not all leaking but signs of wear & tear... guess they needed to earn... and he topped up 3 litres of Gear oil for me as the leaking was quite bad... but got the ride back and so far for past 2 days drive been pretty smooth... the day i was gg to ws, the car was jerking like mad during change of gears... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 19, 2011 Share August 19, 2011 Happened to me once, white smoke came out while driving. Open bonnet can smell burnt smell and drove slowly to workshop. Mechanic diagnose as aircon compressor spolit. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...