Mecontle 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story...615-275206.html 4 injured by speeding taxi which crashed into a bus stop in a straight road! manslaughter , terrorist, suicide collision , satan worshipper , xyz@$& ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story...615-275206.html 4 injured by speeding taxi which crashed into a bus stop in a straight road! this case is recent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 this case is recent? according to the news article..its today's morning Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 according to the news article..its today's morning ok looks bad drive safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 (edited) Most taxi drivers here are arrogant and reckless on the road. Never like their driving attitudes. Because of this I refuse to take taxis and try and take bus or MRT. Couple of months ago had a brush with one of them at a petrol station. This SOB tried to squeeze between my car and another car on the other side and brushed against my front bumper causing some scratches - not serious but nevertheless unnecessary. The cab driver came out and acted as though he was very clever and pretend to take some pictures. I refused to talk with him and took down his details. I tried to claim against his insurance and can you imagine what his insurance said "Do what you want, our insured reported he was not at fault". Think all of us should make a point to call the taxi company whenever we encounter any reckless maneuvres of their driver - make sure they get so many complaints and teach them how to drive safely, otherwise they always feel they are king of the road. Really cannot tahan these SOBs actually i find that there are too many taxi drivers on the road looking at this thread alone there are so many complaints on taxi drivers anyway whether one likes it or not taxi drivers will speed overtake and cut...so jus leave it and drive carefully and taking taxi is not exactly that cheap either Edited September 13, 2011 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Private car drivers are not saint also leh. Try driving a taxi for 12 hours a day for a week then you know how it feel. We do not want accident to happen but when private car see us they also chut more pattern then us. You guys never drive a taxi you all dun know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Like e saying goes "a few bad apples" spoils e whole basket. It certainly applies to all vehicular drivers but bad taxi drivers stand out regularly becos they tend to spend longer hours on e roads den most. Hv encountered very nice + courteous ones who waved thanks or nt dive in or fly across 3 lanes to catch a fare....to these, kudos for driving safely so that we can all reach home intact and our rides also well. I hv also encountered those who are determined to do harm firstly to themselves and other users......these I wld advise to make very sure they know e consequences shd a serious/fatal accident occurs.....life is no joking matter. Safe ride to all.....we all hv loved ones, so let's b more mindful whilst on e roads. Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Private car drivers are not saint also leh. Try driving a taxi for 12 hours a day for a week then you know how it feel. We do not want accident to happen but when private car see us they also chut more pattern then us. You guys never drive a taxi you all dun know. Brudder, its not the type of vehicle one drives but the driver's attitude. But agree wif u, whenever I doing freelance taxi driving, notice that pte cars oso tend to bully taxis by horning or do something silly to boost their egos. Or maybe they were molested by taxi drivers during their younger days which explains their behaviour? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acerchan2002 Clutched September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 You very high class huh? Which part of you high class? hand body leg or LP? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtay 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 yah...it's not the vehicle, it's the driver. See this driver I encountered this morning (black verna). First video - he cut abruptly into my lane without signalling, forcing me to brake suddenly. Next video you'll see that he cut into another lane in a similar fashion, forcing a bike and a taxi to brake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Yesterday at around 11.40pm along CTE towards Jurong just before entering into the 1st tunnel before Bukit Timah. Traffic was light and I was travelling at 80+km/h on the 3rd lane, on the 4th lane there was another car slightly infront of me then this fuxking Comfort taxi driver which is on the 2nd lane which is almost level with the other car. Suddenly without any signalling the taxi slowly veer to its left and into my lane and by this time my front bumper was almsot near its rear door so I just blast my horn hoping that it will back out and at the same time I remenber my head was swinging from left to right and trying to manuvoure my car between the taxi and the car to my left and all this while my tumb was still at the horn. But this fuxker never back out and continue eating into my lane and by this time we are side by side and I can see its side mirror is so so close, then I notice my left lane is clear so I just steer into the left lane. ( To the bro who were driving beside me, so Sorry and Thank You, you must have slow down to avoid collision and exited before the tunnel as I didnt notice your car much as my main concentration was on the taxi and my best impression on you is during the time I was almost sandwich by you and the taxi.) After that I cut back infornt of the taxi and this time I just have to do it, wind down my window and show him my solid finger and from my rear view mirror I can see no reaction from the taxi guy. so this time I filter right and slow down to side by side and lower down my passenger window and blast my horn again, wtf the fellow just drive on stone face and expressionless and btw there is 2 more men on board and they are equally expressionless after this whole episode. This morning will be making a call to the taxi company to complain and tell them my suspicion that their driver might be drunk. Based on your tread, I believe we all hope you got the taxi number and report to the Authority as well. You help make the roads safer for us all. Many thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Hi everyone, just now a yellow sonata taxi probably just drop off someone from idle at side & tried to change lane as his lane was blocked. i was behind a mpv & cannot see the taxi early, so was too late to give way so i gave horn to give my intension. To my horror the taxi keep cutting into my lane as if he had nothing to lose out & i almost had to brake in front of the divider to avoid side collision. i was unhappy so i drove slower wanting to see who is the driver. After that the driver was fuzzy driving between lane and behaved like he wanted to stay in front of my car at the next red light as if he is looking for another chance to cause another accident by jam braking in front of me. Ok tell me if thats the attitude of taxi drivers here imagine what will happen if ur son or daughter with a new driver license were to fall victim to that? A collision is no joke whether light or fatal. BTW i tried to take the pic of the taxi at red light its something like SHB 38xxJ but if need be i can run a debluring to enhance the lettering. Safe driving to all. No mention you saw taxi dropped off passenger, or just assumption/imagination No mention if you were tail-gating the MPV No mention which lane you were driving No mention if your offside trafficator on blinking away No mention if there were too much imagination in tread I believe unlikely we can offer much useful comment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Light blue taxi will terminate their driver if they kanna accident 2 times. Because they have a long waiting list of taxi drivers. So be it their fault or third party fault they will be ask to go if kanna 2 accidents. So what they win the case? In the end is the company win not the driver. All taxi company same lah. Suck money from us when got problem push us go and die. After all these years, you are the first taxi driver who understand this? The rest told me they very happy with it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Most taxi drivers here are arrogant and reckless on the road. Never like their driving attitudes. Because of this I refuse to take taxis and try and take bus or MRT. Couple of months ago had a brush with one of them at a petrol station. This SOB tried to squeeze between my car and another car on the other side and brushed against my front bumper causing some scratches - not serious but nevertheless unnecessary. The cab driver came out and acted as though he was very clever and pretend to take some pictures. I refused to talk with him and took down his details. I tried to claim against his insurance and can you imagine what his insurance said "Do what you want, our insured reported he was not at fault". Think all of us should make a point to call the taxi company whenever we encounter any reckless maneuvres of their driver - make sure they get so many complaints and teach them how to drive safely, otherwise they always feel they are king of the road. Really cannot tahan these SOBs I heard one after another Insurers for the light blue ones went bust with their traffic accident claims. So what will the Insurers do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Private car drivers are not saint also leh. Try driving a taxi for 12 hours a day for a week then you know how it feel. We do not want accident to happen but when private car see us they also chut more pattern then us. You guys never drive a taxi you all dun know. I believe I know most taxi drivers lack adequate good sleep to drive more safely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 yah...it's not the vehicle, it's the driver. See this driver I encountered this morning (black verna). First video - he cut abruptly into my lane without signalling, forcing me to brake suddenly. Next video you'll see that he cut into another lane in a similar fashion, forcing a bike and a taxi to brake. Video showed driving in zig-zag manner. I believe we hope you sent such video to the Authority. You help make the roads safer for all of us. Many thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear September 13, 2011 Share September 13, 2011 Looks like bus stop shelter need to install bigger bollards to provide more safe guard for bus commuters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear September 14, 2011 Share September 14, 2011 Looks like bus stop shelter need to install bigger bollards to provide more safe guard for bus commuters. Maybe build some thing like the bomb shelter at home and double up as a "bomb shelter" during war. IMO .....How much can we do ? How big and strong can the bollards be ? It is about the driver and not the preventive measures. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...